We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

stayed one night at the dartmoor lodge for a wedding party .Room was very nice with a four posterbed .Lighting in the room was not that good coulding see that well to put make up on and to do my hair .Drinks are a bit pricey .Brekfast in the morning was good but a bit slow filling up the servery other than that it was good.I would stay here agaig it is easy to get to as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dawnbromell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 512 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We called in at the Dartmoor Lodge to see if they could accommodate us for Sunday Carvery. The attentive staff found us a table and we were seated within 5 Minutes of arriving....excellent! as we hadn't even booked. £9.50 bought us each a cavery lunch...choice of four meats and endless vegetables. The food was top notch and thoroughly enjoyed by us both.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonLuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very helpful staff, especially at breakfast, which was well produced. First time staying here, so normally staying at large chain premier type hotels we found that the rooms ( we stayed on the ground floor in the annexe, owing to both being disabled) were rather jaded, with a very 1970s appearance and feel - we gather updating is planned. Staff in the main were good and friendly.
TLC is definitely needed to give a more deserved attention to detail feel.Certainly needed were wide disabled parking bays ( we only found one narrowish one tucked in a corner )- perhaps not many disabled people book here. Luckily we were using my wife's baby Fiat so the problem was minimised!. Location was perfect for our trip to Hannah's at Seal Haine for an evening concert.

Room Tip: One suitable for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just got back after a 2 day stay for my friends wedding. It was absolutely fab. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. The service was great and all the staff couldnt do enough for you. Breakfast finished a bit early, but was ok this time due to having to get ready for the wedding. The wedding arrangements were perfect and it was such a special day. Would definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livvyg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stopped by for a late Breakfast on a recommendation. We arrived at about 10.45 am and asked if Breakfast was still being served, we were told that it was. We both ordered the same, Tea first to be followed by Eggs, Bacon and Sausages. After quite a long wait it arrived and we asked for Pickle and Sauce, we waited again and after asking for a second time the pickle was brought another ask for the sauce and it eventually arrived. The food was of a reasonable standard, but then Bacon and Eggs should not be too difficult. We remarked that the sauces were a long time coming as was toast, first without butter, we had to ask for it and also ask for marmalade. We again remarked that service was slow and were then told that Breakfast finished at 9.30 am, why we were not told that to begin with we do not know. The board outside the hotel said that it was open to non-residents and that food was served all day. We would have asked what we could have if tild that Breakfast ended at 9.30 am. Will be giving this one a miss next time.

Room Tip: We did not stay only had a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abogail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Have stayed at the Dartmoor Lodge in Asburton several times over the last few years, and can honestly say since Diane and Trevor took over our stays have been excellent. The hotel has been steadily upgraded since their arrival and is by far the best in the area. Rooms are very comfortable, food excellent and very good value. Staff are very friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I have visited The Dartmoor Lodge on many occasions and honestly can't fault a single thing! We went most recently for a family birthday and it was throughly enjoyed so much we returned two weeks later for another get to together. The food is faultless; full of flavour, fresh and you will never leave hungry with the wide variety the menu has to offer. Partnered with a great bar selection, cosy welcoming atmosphere, beautiful surroundings and the amazing staff, why would you want to go anywhere else?

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,392 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,129 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
521 reviews
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,084 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing