We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, pleasant hotel.”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, pleasant hotel.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A group of us stayed there for one night whilst visiting the area for a family party. There were 10 of us in total, and the hotel kindly arranged for us to have all our rooms close together. On Saturday evening, even though they were busy, they happily accommodated all of us for dinner even though we hadn't booked, and even found a small separate room for us to eat in as the restaurant was full. The food was very good - generous portions and freshly cooked. The bar has a number of local real ales on draught and they are all very drinkable. Breakfast the following morning was excellent, and again they had arranged a large table so that all of us could sit together.

The rooms are comfortable with everything that you need to make your stay a pleasant one.

I cannot praise the staff too highly. They are all without exception friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I will definitely stay there again if I ever find myself down in that part of Devon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acquisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    110
    45
    19
    19
See reviews for
136
188
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Brent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

we regularly meet up with a friend how stays here every 10 - 12 weeks and her experience is always good. they also serve the best carvery in the restaurant on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday. We always have a carvery on Wednesday when our friend is staying there.

Room Tip: all rooms are good ask advise when booking to get the best room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are from Melbourne Australia. The staff were lovely. The meals were good & they didn't mind changes to the menu. The coffee was horrible, think their machine needed servicing. The room was fairly big but the shower was small. The room had a musty smell which was a bit off putting. Their roast lunches & dinners were very nice.

Room Tip: Maybe upstairs as the ground floor one was musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Last night we used the Dartmoor Lodge as the venue for my mother-in-law's surprise 60th birthday meal and we can't thank the staff there enough. We were able to use one of their private suites and were allowed to bring in our own decorations. The food was, as always, delicious, with all 23 people at the party agreeing. In addition, the waiting and bar staff couldn't have been more courteous or attentive. We had a perfect evening.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEM1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England`
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent one night at this hotel on Thursday 24 April and had a lovely time, fantastic service. I can't commend the hotel enough on their staff, polite, very welcoming and very, very hospitable. We arrived late after a long drive and ask reception desk on checking in if we could get a coffee at the bar, we couldn't but they very kindly made us coffee which was wonderful and very much appreciated. We were lucky enough to stay in two rooms (above the reception area I think) which had obviously recently been refurbished to a high standard. The ensuite facilities were very good, for a change the shower cubicle was large with plenty of room, not sure if the shower room had been completely renovated like the main room but it was spotlessly clean and all the grout etc was new, absolutely no complaints at . The breakfast was very good and the wait staff were very friendly and obliging. I've stayed in a number of hotels around Totnes area over the years and to be honest I think that this hotel is now my new favourite. The views from the hotel are lovely and its lovely and quiet would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid Totnes central for the noise and lack of parking. Will be back there for my next visit to Devon for sure!!

Room Tip: My tip would be to ask for room 321 or 322 (newly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennings01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

DESPITE BEING VERY BUSY THEY WERE ABLE TO GIVE US A TABLE AT SHORT NOTICE CHEF AND ALL THE STAFF WERE VERY ATTENTIVE FOOD WAS HOT AND MOST
ENJOYABLE IN ALL A PERFECT LUNCH AND WILL COMING BACK AGAIN

Despite being very busy they were able to offer us a table straight away The Chef and all the staff were very attentive The food was hot and most enjoyable In all a perfect lunch and will certainly be coming back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

What can I say, this hotel and staff are amazing. We held our wedding here last week and I haven't got a bad word to say. From the very first meeting with diane and trevor the owners to the day of our wedding we were treated with the upmost respect. All the staff are so friendly and done everything in there power to make our day special. The rooms are stunning, comfy beds brilliant showers and facility's. The fold from the carvery to our wedding breakfast was unbelievable. Everybody worked so hard all weekend. I would reccomend to anyone to hold there wedding here it was the most amazing day we have ever had and made even more lovely by the amazing organisation from diane and by the smiley helpful staff. If you arent looking for a wedding venue it is an amazing place to sit relax and have a meal and drink mayb even stay the night in a beautiful setting. I will definitely be going back :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
12.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Property: The Dartmoor Lodge
Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing