We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(Ashburton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Ashburton Court(Ashburton)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gages Mill(Ashburton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
338
136
55
21
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
136
55
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryporkexcellent carverygenerous portionsbuffet breakfaststeak and ale pieplenty of parkingstaff were lovelyfunction roomfood was amazingpotatoeslovely mealwell worth a visitcouldn't do enoughsalmonwedding venueevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 573 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and myself along with 2 friends went to the Chinese New Year meal on 7th February. The waitress's were very good and helpful , unfortunately the same couldn't be said of the meal or the manager ! The starters were the best part of the meal although 2 of them were stone cold. The main courses were awful , tasted nothing of Chinese food and were either thick and gooey or watery ( it was a buffet main course ) The vegetable rice tasted like packet savoury rice and the pudding was a pineapple fritter which was fine along with some kind of sloppy white custard type thing with a very strong flavouring of almond with tinned mandarin oranges on the top. What really annoyed me was when I mentioned in a polite way to the waitress that the meal wasn't good she was very nice about it and told the manager who then came to the table and started to talk down to me in a very loud voice insisting I have more food which he said was fresh out of the kitchen but looked exactly as bad as the rest ! I told him I didn't want any more and he was really quite offensive and can only be described as being very like Basil Fawlty .He didn't even offer to give any discount on the bill. Dreadful, I will never go there again and certainly won't recommend it to anyone, quite the opposite !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked in February to stay one night , and were so disappointed with the very brief experience.

The staff were rude - reception staff informed us that unless we ate Chinese food we would not be able to eat any other menu unless we ate at 6.45pm, as it was 'easier for the chef.' and when we were shown the room were asked what time we would be back as ' 11pm is late enough!' staff were unwelcoming, brusque and unprofessional.

We felt the hotel was not somewhere we wanted to stay as the room and indeed the hotel and location was not as we were expecting from the website impression.

The room is definitely overpriced - the windows rotten in places, and the hotel tired.
The staff attitude was the final straw and we had to leave.
We had to then find another place to stay which was so disappointing and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

I attach a copy of the email sent to you responding to your email complaint, and assume that you are in receipt of your full refund. There are many pictures on various websites and we do not agree that the pictures are misleading. With regard to the hotel being tired, with the exception of the bar chairs, which were new four years ago and are well worn, and due for replacement we also do not agree that the hotel is looking tired, we have spend 1000's on the hotel over the last five years despite being in a recession. We are not a company owned hotel with a companies endless pit of money, but we do invest every penny back into the business.

We were disappointed to receive you email, and are very sorry to learn that you were not happy with our hotel.
It is not at all like any of our staff to be unwelcoming or rude. Liz has advised us that it was her intention to explain that as we had a Chinese Evening on the 7th, the chef would have appreciated other diners to eat prior to its start, however, it should have also been explained that should this not be convenient then we would have accommodated your wishes.

With regard to the 11p.m comment, we ask our guests who are located in the main hotel whether they intend to return late, as we need to show alternative access to your room, as we lock the hotel between 11p.m - midnight, and entry would need to be gained at the other side of the hotel, this is the point Liz was trying to make, although obviously this was not made clear to you.

We are surprised that you did not like your room, as this is a popular room and is requested by many of our returning guests. We will investigate the window, as we have not been made aware of any maintenance issue, although given the recent weather, the exterior has taken a beating lately!
We can assure you that your impression of the hotel is not the norm and are sorry that you did not feel welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Big thank you.. very well looked after.. carvery FANTASTIC!! go on wed and fri eve..
Room clean.. Thank you for cleaning my room every day (big job)

Was here last week for a working visit. however will return with the wife and dog for a holiday stay over
x

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliveJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is the first year we have been. I must say they do put on a good do. The food was plain but well done (carvery). There as also a good choice of cold dishes eg. salmon. There were lots of little touches such as hats, party poppers, chocs. and an endless opportunity to keep eating cheese and biscuits. The staff were excellent and plenty of them too. There was even an excellent Firework display at midnight. Well done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We visited this hotel for lunch as a mid-point to meet up with friends. We received a lovely welcome and sat by a drawing fire with a cup of coffee whilst we waited for them to arrive. The food was good and the desserts excellent. The quantity and quality for the price is to be recommended. Will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PennSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews