We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Sunday Carvery"”
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dartmoor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great carvery enjoyed by all the family. Good choice of meats & veg. The desserts were average. Service good, but a little overpowering with the waitress stood watching us all the time. Overall a pleasing experience & would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 520 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Dartmoor Lodge on the 15th and 16th of May. We had a beautiful twin room. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good. Evening meals also very good and well presented. Staff very helpful, efficient and friendly. We would love to visit again. Perhaps in the Autumn for the colour. Dog friendly

We would recommend Dartmoor lodge

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having a small dog can make it difficult to get away. A great price kgb deal at the Dartmoor Lodge Hotel was chosen, as their website stated they were dog friendly. Arrived an hour and half early on a very busy carvery Sunday. Would of been happy to have gone off for a walk and call back, but Jade on reception insisted that as one room was ready we could dump our cases and settle in early. The carvery later was excellent. Eating at 5.30 all the veg was fresh and the meat portions were good. That evening,in the bar, the staff kept the dog happy with treats. We had two rooms booked and both were good. One had a four poster and free standing bath. Breakfast was everything you could need and very fresh with soft fried eggs to my taste ! The evening meal was good and we were offered all menus, including bar meals and the lunch menu. They even offered to do larger portions of the starters, as main meals, if we wanted. They really were most helpful and friendly. Ashburton has some pleasant walks with Dartmoor's Tors a short drive away. A nice stay with lovely staff. Thanks from Pipkin too !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catmadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here last year for a couple of days and to attend a Valentines murder mystery night. We loved it so booked again this year. Possibly a touch of rose tinted glasses?
Arrived at hotel late afternoon, shown to our room by a very efficient receptionist (a smile would have been nice though). An average sized room, clean with good tea and coffee facilities. A very small TV on the wall - laptop size - needed to be bigger to watch telly in bed.
As it was a lovely sunny afternoon we sat outside with a nice cold pint of local cider. The barman was brilliant, very friendly, very helpful, evening coming from behind the bar to open the doors for me as my hands were full - a credit to the hotel - lovely chap.
We had the carvery for evening meal and it was fantastic! Excellent quality, really tasty. When we visited last time we stuck with the main A la Carte menu which was very good, but we had enviously eyed the carvery so decided to give it a go - not disappointed.
For breakfast the next day I checked the info pack which stated on weekends breakfast was served from 8-10am so we turned up at half past 9. We were the last to arrive and the place was almost deserted. After a short while the waitress showed up and asked if we wanted a full breakfast. We did, so then she walked away, before asking how we wanted our eggs. I wanted poached, got fried - not a big concern. Breakfast was disappointing.Sausages were tough, and the rest just a bit greasy and/or tasteless. We recalled that last year it had been very good indeed, quite memorable in fact. Also felt that they wanted us to hurry up as they started cleaning up around us - found out why when we returned to our room. The piece of card that was attached to the room key stated different breakfast times - 8-9.30. So decided to get there early the following day.
We ate at the Rugglestone Inn that evening ( see my review - FANTASTIC!!)
So, next day we turned up at 9am - this time it was a buffet breakfast. Definitely not a patch on the carvery buffet! Greasy and bland.
Overall a nice place to stop - evening meals are excellent, breakfast a let down. Very good staff, clean rooms, nice location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights had a double room. Was disappointed that we had no drawers or shelves to use for our smalls. Although we did have plenty of hanging space. Plenty of tea/coffe/hot chocolate etc in the room It was a bit more than I would normally have paid for a bed/breakfast.
Evening meal was excellent and they have a good wine list.

Room Tip: We had a room in the annexe which was quiet. and managed to park the car close to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just stumbled on this place by accident when driving to Plymouth on business in January. Stopped off for something to eat and got a very pleasant surprise. The service was good polite and friendly, the decor and decoration was very nice and the atmosphere was pretty good with quite a few hotel guests eating in. The food was excellent I had the scallops starter and Steak (medium rare) for mains, both were cooked to perfection and delicious. If I pass by again I will certainly pop in for something to eat, definitely recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank surfingjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We came here on Easter Sunday for lunch.The food was lovely,we had the carvery,choice of meats and vegetables was excellent.Desserts were really good super tasty.
Service very efficient and friendly, they were very busy we were booked for the early sitting but at no time did we feel rushed to finish.
highly recommened.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineaa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
9.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,425 reviews
12.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
7.2 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
9.4 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing