We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dartmoor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
330
129
50
21
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
129
50
21
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryporkexcellent carverybuffet breakfastgenerous portionsplenty of parkingstaff were lovelyfood was amazingfunction roompotatoeslovely mealwedding venuesalmoncouldn't do enoughevening mealexcellent qualityfrom start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 552 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

visited hotel yesterday (easter sunday) for dinner with family, the food was so good and the staff very friendly, i was so impressed with the place, my family commented on how they had a lovely time and couldnt say enough good things about the food, well worth a visit you will not be disapointed, will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kernowandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's friendly staff. They really cant do enough for you & that's a real plus point. The hotel itself is a little dated but homely, cosy & warm. We had a four posted room - upgraded at no extra cost. On the down side it's not the biggest room, isn't well lit & has a dated bathroom but on the plus side it looks freshly painted, has tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer & a comfy bed with extra duvet. We didnt eat there but the food smelled delicious & it was constantly busy. Ideally placed if you're visiting Dartmoor Country Park/Holne House, it's only a mile or so away & a cheap taxi ride. All in all a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very popular hotel and restaurant with locals and business people. We arrived for a 2 day stay on a very busy Sunday afternoon. The hotel was buzzing, everyone being well looked after and guests leaving with nice goodbyes from the staff, having eaten from a very extensive carvery. Our welcome was warm and inviting.
We very much enjoyed the food during our stay, generous portions, hot, well cooked and nicely presented. The service was very attentive and staff were very helpful and quick to meet our needs.
The room was comfortable and warm. It was spacious, albeit some more draws and a slightly larger TV screen would have improved it. The decore was rather tired in our room and throughout the hotel. This did not detract too much from our stay.

The price therefore was a slightly expensive when considering the overall condition of the furniture and decor throughout the hotel.

The over riding quality of this hotel was the staff ethos. They were all very friendly, courteous, professional and very diligent.

A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights and there were no complaints. The room was spacious and clean, looked like it was freshly decorated. It was the staff that made it such a pleasurable stay. They even recommended somewhere to watch the rugby :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynChedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My sister had her wedding here, the day was planned to a T by the staff and nothing was too much trouble...
The food both for the wedding and our breakfast was exceptional...and the rooms were spacious clean and tidy
We were all looked after so well.
The staff were friendly and smiling the whole day.

Would defiantly recommend looking at this for a wedding venue or just a nice lunch we will certainly be returning for Sunday lunch soon

Can't thank the dartmoor lodge enough for such a special day

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews