We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gages Mill(Ashburton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Rising Sun(Ashburton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
338
136
55
21
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
136
55
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryporkexcellent carverygenerous portionsbuffet breakfaststeak and ale pieplenty of parkingstaff were lovelyfunction roomfood was amazingpotatoeslovely mealwell worth a visitcouldn't do enoughsalmonwedding venueevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 573 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took all the rooms in the hotel for a bridge week-end, as we did this time last year. Everything was excellent for the price paid; food, staff, accomodation, cleanliness and helpfulness. Althought the hotel was busy with other diners they allowed us to eat early each evening and provided us with tailored menus so we could maximise our bridge playing. We had the carvery on Friday and Sunday and it was great - beef that wasn't grey as well as gammon, pork and turkey! Starters and puddings were very good, the smoked salmon and asparagus and rasperberry cheescake in particular. Breakfasts provide something for everyone and everything is very freshly cooked on the buffet (batches of 3 or 4 fried eggs, not tray fulls which go all hard).

Room Tip: Depending on which you prefer rooms 319 and 321 have fourposters and have either bath or shower respectively.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that I have not responded before. Your comments have been gratefully received. We know that you have booked again for this year and look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After 3 months travelling (boat cruising etc) (from Australia) wanted a visit to Dartmoor. From the start the staff (and owners) so friendly. One visit to the dining room and we ended up easting -in house - all three nights. Oh - that steak and stout pie - the best ever! Room plain but large, bright and clean. Restaurant deffinately 3 -4 star. Great bar, regular locals. This was supposed to be my last trip to Europe - but I will deffinately be back. Contratulations the the owners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carramar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Dartmoor Lodge as I was at the conference centre at Buckfast Abbey for three days. The accommodation was nothing exceptional but it was clean and adequate. The food was fairly simple but extremely well cooked and presented and there was something on the menu for everyone.
What made the stay stand out from other hotels was the staff. They were friendly, helpful, informative, attentive. They got it just right. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Onefatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

After spending five days in a caravan on a local farm, we decided to extend our stay in Devon and booked into The Dartmoor Lodge.

The location is spot on and has easy access to the A38 which allows you to get on the road quickly and explore.

We booked a family room which was clean, a good size and perfect for our stay. We have stayed in family rooms in other hotels and they have been inadequate. The room we were allocated at The Dartmoor was by far the best family room we have stayed in (compared with other similar starred hotels).

The breakfast was fresh and tasty.

The staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

We had dinner at the restaurant one night and although the menu was small, the selection was fine for this sized hotel. The scallops were divine and all the family enjoyed their main courses.

There was no problem when we asked to check out a little later than 10am.

Overall, a lovely hotel in a perfect Devon location. Although some of the decor was a little dated, it made the place feel very homely! We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

A credit to the family and staff that run the place!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have seen some negative reviews about this hotel and maybe they were justified at the time? I can only say that everything we encountered, rooms, food, beer and wine plus the staff could not be faulted. In fact our experience was so good that I can't wait to return. The hotel is perfectly placed to explore one of the nicest regions in the country.

Room Tip: We had rooms 315/16, very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safetyman636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews