We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue for a wedding any time of the year”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Kendal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a wedding any time of the year”
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We have just spent 2 really happy days and nights at Holne Chase attending a friends wedding there. It was a perfect setting with stunning gardens and riverside walks. The food and service was excellent throughout our stay and I think the staff that looked after us on the 27th & 28th October deserve much praise.

The character and location of Holne Chase make up for the understated decor.

I understand the hotel is in the process of changing hands and therefore a difficult time for the staff and it perhaps explains some of the earlier reviews.

All in all probablly one of the nicest weddings I've been to and can only imagine a wedding at Holme Chase at any time of the year would be stunning.

  • Liked — The setting and walking through the grounds to the river.
  • Disliked — Some areas could do with a little wow factor adding
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

We had a wonderful time. The surrounding are beautiful. Great place. Would love to go there again...

  • Liked — Surroundings
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WestbourneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Isn't it funny how two people can have such different experiences of one hotel. We too stayed here in April with our dog and absolutely loved the place. We were in a Stable suite rather than the main hotel so maybe that accounts for some of the differences. We found the staff very helpful and attentive- they came and sorted out the TV when I couldn't work out how to turn it on, lent us books and maps and rusttled- up dog bowls when we realised we'd left ours at home. I thought the large bottles of shower gel, and bath bubbles were a nice ecological touch- much better than having loads of tiny bottles of unbranded toiletries. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and found the food extremely good- the only downside was that it was just us and one other couple so it was a bit like a Pinter play ! The hotel is a bit faded (although clean), but we took the view that if it was 'magazine perfect' dogs wouldn't be allowed to step inside the place. Finally, there can be few more perfect places to have lunch or an evening drink than on the terrace overlooking the lawns. We definitely will be back !!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HankEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

If you are looking for beautiful surroundings and a comfortable relaxed stay then this hits the spot. Very dog friendly and our pooch loved it especially the local river walk straight out of the hotel grounds. Staff helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our evening meal and nice bottle of wine. Comfortable and clean room. Particularly enjoyed not having to drive anywhere once we had arrived. Would definately go again.

  • Liked — dog frienly and very relaxed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Welsh_Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights in early June. The suite we booked was comfortable, clean and ideal for our stay with 2 dogs.
The dogs loved it -70 acres of woodland to run around in with virtually nobody else there.WARNING there are lots of TICKS in the woods so treat your dog with repellant as soon as you get there.
Very good food in restaurant , but somewhat overpriced--3 course meal is £35 dinner.Excellent location for Dartmoor and South Hams.
Great hotel if you are a dog person ,maybe one to avoid if not.
Very attentative staff, we only gave our name once.The manager Patrick is first class.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank devonvisitor_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

At a rather late stage in December, we discovered Holne Chase Hotel from a "dog friendly hotel" web search and, thank goodness, although knowing absolutely nothing about the hotel beforehand, we (me, wife and Josh, our then 16 week old puppy) decided to book for 6 nights over the New Year period.

Other reviews have waxed lyrical about the hotel's location and wonderful country house ambience and we can do nothing more than to wholeheartedly agree.

That said, whatever the physical presence of an establishment, the key to a successful visit is the food and the staff, First the staff. When I made my telephone booking I spoke to both the owner - a very focussed and helpful Sebastian - and to Fi, his most excellent manager. They were friendly, efficient and as they both sounded suitably nuts with it, I felt confident that we were going to fit right in and have a good time.

And so it proved. we were welcomed with a glass of fine sherry - which went down a treat after being subjected to the rigours of the A303 for 2.5 hours on December 27th when all the world seemed to be on the move. We were first shown to our Stable Suite (as properly described in other reviews) but, as we felt that it was not suitable for so young a puppy, with neither fuss nor difficulty, we were moved into a more suitable room in the main hotel. While the room was at the rear of the building, it was well appointed and worked for us when we went down to breakfast or dinner leaving the puppy within easy reach! The housekeeping staff worked tirelessly throughout our stay and our room was returned to pristine nick day after day. The front of house staff were a joy; they had obviously been going full bore for Christmas but you wouldn't ever have known it; they remained friendly and hepful throughout and we could not find a single cause for criticism.

As December 31st also happens to be our wedding anniversary, we were a tad anxious that the evening would perhaps not meet our hopeful expectations - but - there you go - wrong again! We had canapes and a warm-up glass of fizz in the bar with Fi before going in to a superb dinner. I started with some of the best scallops I have ever eaten (and that's a lot!) followed by a champagne sorbet and pan-fried turbot which, though notoriously difficult to get right, was spot on; not to have a pudding would have been rude, so a black cherry and mascarpone confection followed the fish. My wife had an excellent parsnip and apple soup, sorbet and yummy Gressingham duck - but no pudding (too full!), Accompaniments were imaginative and well cooked. A pretty decent Gevrey Chambertin eased it all down, after which we retired to the bar to coffee, petit fours and liqueurs. A talented local 3-piece band had been laid on for our entertainment (and very good they were, delighting the company with jazz standards we all knew and were terrific to dance to). A slight criticims voiced by wife was that the band ought to been allowed to get going before 10pm as some serenading during dinner would have been wonderful; that said, the champagne flowed and a very good time was had by all!

Then came the piece de resistance - the firework display at midnight; although the weather during the daylight hours had been dire (as it was pretty well all the time we were there!) evening saw the rain stop and the wind ease, so, at the witching hour, everyone piled out of the building to witness what was, in our experience at least, a most wonderful fireworks display. When the bangs and whizzes had finally stopped, several of the canine guests (including our own) came down and joined the well-sated revellers in the bar; at around 02:30 we finally called it a day and went to bed, more than delighted that we had landed on our feet (or paws, in Josh's case) in choosing Holne Chase for our important day.

The food in general was terrific, and the chef did us proud day after day. Running out of black pudding might upset some but it was but a trifling oversight. Our main meals were always first class and value for money and the light lunch bar menu is to be commendeded, especially for one of the best club sandwiches and chips that has ever gone down my throat!

This was a very relaxed break - other than for the understandable anxieties we felt because of bringing the puppy to so excellent a place - but, thank goodenss, he let us down not at all! The location is outstanding, the management and staff were terrific, the marketing of the hotel is first class and we wish Sebastian and his team nothing but continuing success in making Holne Chase Hotel, in our opinion, not just an upper decile 3 star hotel well worthy of it 2 AA rosettes, but an amazing 'find' for us, being as it is within easy range of our Wiltshire home and a worthy competitor to our our long-favoured Scottish retreat in Tarbert, Loch Fyne where would normally have gone for Hogmanay.

If they'll have us, we'll be back, in (with luck) more clement weather, but even if it's pouring, somehow the sun will always be shining on this amazing place!!

Any review of this nature has to be made on a level playing field basis; Holne Chase is not and does not pretend to be more than it is; sure, it could use some refurbishment here and there but, in its market and class it is outstanding. It does not offer pampering (save for the dogs). If you have a dog (and even if you don't) , enjoy great food and appreciate lovely surroundings in an hotel run by nice people - just go and find out for yourself.


Chill@arlingtongroup.bm

  • Liked — Quality accomodations and fantastically dog friendly - even with a puppy!
  • Disliked — Not fair to criticse as we wanted to change after we arrived
  • Tips/Secrets — Be aware not just of the hotel but also its sister self catering at Holwell Farm which is located around 4 miles away right on Dartmoor which has to be one fo the top "great outdoors" toursit places in the UK.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colvenwilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hams
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

A group of us visited this hotel for Christmas lunch.
The location of the hotel is truly stunning and the christmas ambiance created by the country house interior style and christmas decorations was lovely.
However.... the food was very disappointing- £67 a head, ok one expects to pay a premium for lunch out on christmas day, but this was beyond a joke,
No welcoming class of mulled wine, or similar. Indeed, we had to approach the staff to advise them of our arrival.
A Three course menu, which included a cheese platter as part of the pudding menu and no petits fours with the coffee, and definitely not a complimentary liqueor!
We were all given a regulation three sprouts, yellow in colour and of the texture of bullets. Three must have a symbolic significance to the kitchen staff, as we were also served with three roast potatoes and three yellow and extremely tough, beans.! The turkey was presented in the form of turkey Wellington- soggy pastry and dry ,tough, turkey.

Starters- soup, smoked trout ,or pork pie.
Pudding? xmas pudding or sticky toffee and date pudding.
This meal was not cooked, it was assembled.
Luckily, we are all good friends, so at least the company was good, but what a rip off and yes, I am also writing to the owners in the New Year.
We paid the bill in full so as not to totally spoil the day and also to avoid any future possible accusations that we were simply trying to avoid payment.

Whoever devised and priced that menu should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.

  • Liked — the grounds and the location
  • Disliked — the food
  • Tips/Secrets — eat out! to b and b only!
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulSouthHams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
1.8 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,237 reviews
11.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
6.5 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holne Chase Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holne Chase Holiday Cottages

Property: Holne Chase Holiday Cottages
Address: Holne Chase Holne Chase, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel closed permanently in 2009 and is now under different owners. Available for long or short term let, Holne Chase holiday cottages are nestled within the Dartmoor national park are ideal to take you away from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holne Chase Ashburton
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing