We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great find”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Cottage

Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Devon is Heaven
Complimentary use of our tennis court, rackets &balls - the court is set within the hillside...
Dartmoor stone circles - only a short drive from Lurcombe. Plenty to do - ideal for Moor & Coast
Scruff, one of our lovely dogs. The dogs love accompanying you on your walks around the farm....
Haytor - 3 miles from Lurcombe - so much to do. Town, Country, Moor and Coast all so accessible...
Situated only a few miles from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect place to explore the moor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Charles A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A beautiful, peaceful spot. An ideal place to escape to! We were made most welcome and the cottage was all we could have wished for - spotlessly clean and tastefully appointed. Looking back we wish we had booked for a longer break!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
HOORAH!!! We are so pleased! Thank you for staying with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2017
We are so happy you had a pleasant stay! Thank you for choosing us for your trip and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kindest Regards, Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! It means a lot to us.
Wishing you a great rest of the summer!
Sarah, Nick, Holly and Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you Dave - we are thrilled you had a lovely escape. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon, kind regards, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wanda0145...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Outstanding apartment, friendly hosts, beautiful weather, great views. This is the perfect base for exploring Dartmoor. We can't recommend it highly enough. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Hello both! Thank you so much. That's so lovely to hear! We will very much look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the very best to you!
Sarah, Nick, Holly & Scruff x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIDHAARTH...
1 review
“MR”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantasticactress place , great accomofation and golden Hosts. This was our best holidays in a long time. Easily accessible place within Dartmoor and most of the sandy beaches within 20 min drive. Nick and Sarah are great hosts and holly and scruff are fabulous farm/ walk guides. The view from the cottage is beautiful, calm and rejuvenating. We would definitely stay in The Mill (if available) whenever we visit Devon.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Hi Both!
Thank you for your lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Hope all well - sending our very best wishes from Dartmoor, Sarah, Nick and family x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloemorr...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at The Mill for a special weekend away as part of a wedding gift and it is the perfect romantic getaway. The stay was just what we wanted and more - the owners were very friendly and had time to chat and make sure that we were enjoying our stay as we were coming and going. The cottage is beautifully decorated and feels modern but fits in with the country setting. The bottle of wine was a nice little gesture and other supplies including tea, coffee, milk and eggs is very convenient.
We had a great time out and about as there is lots to do in the area - the purpose of our visit was to go to Bovey castle which was a special treat.

We would definitely recommend Lurcombe Luxury cottages and would like to visit again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you very much for your review! So pleased you were able to relax and celebrate your marriage here at Lurcombe. We look forward to welcoming you back and send our warmest wishes and regards from Dartmoor, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing