We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Devon is Heaven
Complimentary use of our tennis court, rackets &balls - the court is set within the hillside...
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Dartmoor stone circles - only a short drive from Lurcombe. Plenty to do - ideal for Moor & Coast
Scruff, one of our lovely dogs. The dogs love accompanying you on your walks around the farm....
Haytor - 3 miles from Lurcombe - so much to do. Town, Country, Moor and Coast all so accessible...
Situated only a few miles from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect place to explore the moor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
chloemorr...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at The Mill for a special weekend away as part of a wedding gift and it is the perfect romantic getaway. The stay was just what we wanted and more - the owners were very friendly and had time to chat and make sure that we were enjoying our stay as we were coming and going. The cottage is beautifully decorated and feels modern but fits in with the country setting. The bottle of wine was a nice little gesture and other supplies including tea, coffee, milk and eggs is very convenient.
We had a great time out and about as there is lots to do in the area - the purpose of our visit was to go to Bovey castle which was a special treat.

We would definitely recommend Lurcombe Luxury cottages and would like to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you very much for your review! So pleased you were able to relax and celebrate your marriage here at Lurcombe. We look forward to welcoming you back and send our warmest wishes and regards from Dartmoor, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martine M
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Peace at last”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay at the cottage, and were welcomed by scruff and Sarah. Just wish we had more time there. The cottage was very well equipped and I hadn't needed to worry about forgetting the shower gel. We managed to get a short stroll around the ponds (one of the carp popped up to say hello). We hope to come back again, when hopefully the weather will be better and leon can see if he can catch any fishes. Thank you very much Sarah and Nick

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! We hope you had a beautiful wedding day - and we're sorry we didn't get to wave you off on the morning of your departure. Hope you had the most fantastic day. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Sarah & Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraAnne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very peaceful and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Mill, the views of the countryside were fantastic. The cottage was made to feel very comfortable which was exactly what we needed after a 5 hour drive. The dogs were such lovely company, they took us on a tour and were often seen outside our front door. We will definitely be visiting again!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Thank you so much SaraAnne - the dogs are certainly wonderful guides....and know the farm better than Nick and I. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Lurcombe soon. Kind regards, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in beautiful location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Mill. Very homely and welcoming. Great location to explore both Dartmoor and the Devon coastline.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thanks Laura - great you were both able to relax and enjoy your time here at Lurcombe. Look forward to welcoming you back soon, thanks, Sarah and Nick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UKEASYRID...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attention to details – Best cottage ever!”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife and I stayed in Sara and Nick’s cottage for a long weekend. We really enjoyed our stay and the place is far better than the way it has been advertised. These guys have done an amazing job with the place and everything about the place is attention to details. They have thought of everything for your stay and the location itself is just perfect. If you are looking to get away from the hectic life and enjoy your time, this is the place then. Please don’t be put off by how close the main road (A Road) is to you, because you won’t notice it at all!! Once you are there, you feel you are 100s miles away from the main road. Not to forget to mention, do make sure you go out for a walk with Scruff as she is the most friendliest dog you have ever seen. Don’t worry she will guide you through the path – just follow her. Unfortunately we didn’t get to see Holly – but I am sure she will be as nice as Scruff.
Sarah and Nick, thank you again for your place and for certain we will come back very soon – with more numbers on board this time, of course. Lots of love.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and we are really pleased you had such a lovely stay. Wishing you all the very best and our kindest regards from Dartmoor. Sarah and Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TertiaH
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is our second stay with Nick and Sarah.
Once again this beautiful and relaxed setting provided us with the ability to unwind and enjoy the stunning surroundings.
The Mill is providing everything you need and so much more like the fresh eggs and milk awaiting you on arrival.
Our dog was also welcomed which is a big plus point for us.
We will definitely return to this amazing place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Hi Tertia
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had another wonderful trip and that you managed to unwind from the world! Wishing you all the very best from Dartmoor and again, thank you for taking the time to write. We do appreciate it. Sarah and Nick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Thank you Charis for your review. We appreciate that you take the time to write and are happy that your experience was a really positive one! Sending kind regards from Dartmoor, Sarah and Nick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing