We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really special place to celebrate your wedding”
Review of Holne Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holne Park House
Ranked #4 of 13 Ashburton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are looking for a truly beautiful venue which has the rare combination of being very elegant but which in no way feels formal or stiff then this is your place. Gemma helped to make my good friends wedding dreams come true without any fuss at all and with her team of lovely staff made everyone feel like they were in a home from home. It is one of the few places where literally all of your wedding guests can stay the night as it has a wide range of rooms.dormitaries and also camping and campervan pitches which means no one has to be left out of the party. Pure magic...look no further

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollymonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Holne Park House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Do you want a wedding in beautiful surroundings in the depths of the country? Then you must consider Holne Park House near Ashburton, Devon.
My son was married here recently and we had the most wonderful time over the weekend. Gemma organised everything beautifully, a true professional who was calm and reassuring and supported us through all the planning; nothing was too much trouble.
All our family & friends were hugely complimentary about the whole weekend and how much fun they had had.
I can't recommend Holne Park House enough as a venue for a wedding especially having Gemma as the organiser and her team of friendly, efficient and fun loving staff. Just brilliant -Thank You
Bill T

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I got married at Holne Park mid april, we stayed there for the three days surrounding the wedding and had the happiest time of my life.

The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and charming. I got great pleasure telling some of the guests that their "massive" rooms were some of the smalles there... mainly as I got to stay in the biggest room.

The breakfast buffet was delicious, the staff were friendly, helpful, accommodating and I really felt that they went further than they needed to make our stay and wedding so fantastic.

Tthe house and grounds is beautiful, and the large number of rooms in the house meant there was plenty of space for everyone.

And the Inkwell (with it's 4 enourmous sofas, warming fire, glass room and corner bar) has got to be one of my favourite rooms on the planet.

The Cafe and adventure playground on site gave our guests some where to eat and play before and after the event, and there is ample parking for everyone.

I can't wait to go back there and visit again. I will be recommending the venue to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant... they really are.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_W_1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We held our wedding at Holne park house recently. We hired the house for the full weekend and cannot put into words just how well we were looked after and how happy we were with the day. In the run up to the wedding the events team were first class, particularly Gemma who made sure everything we needed was catered for. She made us feel so relaxed as if nothing was too much trouble and made it possible for us to actually enjoy planning our wedding with her, a total gem! We chose the Ram roast and were delighted with the quality of the food, particularly as we had been awkward and asked for it to be served as a roast dinner with mint sauce, gravy ect rather than with a simple bun and salad.
The accommodation was reasonable and a very high quality, the bedrooms in the main house are beautifully decorated and the dorm rooms were clean and comfortable. The Coach house provides extra reasonable twin rooms. All our guests enjoyed their accomodation and were delighted to be able to stay on the grounds and enjoy a delicious breakfast with us each morning.
The House and grounds provided ample space for the celebrations, with a variety of areas to suit our diverse group of guests, we even found time to sneak off to the adventure playgrounds and the grand piano was well used! The Ballroom was a great room for dancing and we were able to carry on the party well after the dj stopped thanks to the relaxed but professional attitudes of the staff.
I highly recommend Holne Park House as a wedding venue and Gemma as your wedding organiser, if you are looking for a dedicated and personal service in a spacious and beautiful setting, look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I attended my friends wedding at Holne Park House last weekend and we were blown away by the venue. The house offers a variety of accommodation - the dormitories were amazing fun and incredibly good value especially as a sumptuous breakfast was thrown in! The staff worked tirelessly to cater for our every need and let us celebrate into the early hours. Very accommodated and highly professional - this place comes highly recommended !!

Room Tip: The dorms are perfect low cost option for groups - and camping in the summer would be great fun for...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This has to be the best venue i've been to for a wedding. The house is beautiful and the grounds amazing. Rooms and dorms give great value for money. The staff couldn't do more to help you. They were friendly, fun and very efficient. The house is surrounded with an adventure park that looked amazing. The staff allowed me and my friends to do anything we wanted to make the wedding special and it was. The wedding co-ordinator has been on call to the wedding party for bookings and helpful information all year leading up to this weekend which was excellent. Breakfast was gorgeous and included in the price. This place was great and possibly the best place i've stayed in for a while.
Thank you Holne Park for an unforgettable weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott-DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckyriverdart, Owner at Holne Park House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear the wedding day was a success and that you enjoyed the food and accommodation we have to offer. I will pass your kind words on to the team.

Mark Simpson
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We got married at Holne Park House last weekend and made a weekend of it. The venue is amazing and I can't praise the staff enough. Our event was perfectly organised by Gemma in the run up to the day and the front of house manager Toby and his team were absolutely brilliant throughout the whole weekend, Toby seemed to be doing everything all at once they all worked extremely hard. We were a large party and filled the accommodation, breakfast was served each morning and everyone commented on how lovely it was. We opted for an afternoon tea party on our wedding day and the room was laid out beautifully by Toby and his team with our vintage china. We ended the weekend with a barbecue on Easter Sunday which was just what everyone needed, beautiful food. This venue offers so much flexibility, the setting is really stunning and we are over the moon that we chose to get married there. Wish we could do it all again! Kay & Craig.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
1.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
501 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Gages Mill
Gages Mill
#3 of 13 in Ashburton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#2 of 13 in Ashburton
118 reviews
3.3 mi away
ANRAN @Tidwell Farm
ANRAN @Tidwell Farm
#1 of 13 in Ashburton
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agaric B&B at Tudor House
Agaric B&B at Tudor House
#7 of 13 in Ashburton
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holne Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holne Park House

Address: Holne Park, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburton
Price Range: $128 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holne Park House is one of the most romantic, stylish and unique wedding venues in Devon. Nestled on the southern slopes of Dartmoor National Park, set within the 90 acres of grounds and gardens of the River Dart Country Park, the House is an idyllic venue for your Devon wedding. All five reception rooms are licensed for civil wedding ceremonies. For larger parties or those wishing to make the most of the stunning surroundings, the large level-lawn area to the front of the house has an outside pavilion that is licensed for civil ceremonies. The attractive tea garden can be illuminated and is frequently used for hog roasts in the evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holne Park House Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing