We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Coffee House
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
20
4
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastashburton cookery schoolwelcoming hostsfull english breakfastjuliataxicomplimentedbedroomaccommodationnoise
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just returned from our annual pilgrimage to Ashburton. Julia and Clive were, as always, very welcoming and settled us into our chosen room for our nine night stay with them. We do feel that the review about the furniture sticking etc is wholly unjustified. This is a well priced bed and breakfast establishment. It is comfortable and homely. If you want a perfect bedroom with perfect seats and furniture, stay at home! This is holiday accommodation, not the Ritz! We love the location of the place, opposite the church. We love the bells ringing, as we don't have that luxury where we live in our city. The stairs are steep and winding, but this is an old building! For goodness sake! Julia and Clive are always cheerful, and nothing is ever too much trouble. We have just munched our way through 9 cooked breakfasts and can find no fault with any of the food or the orange juice. We have booked again for next year, and there are many like us who go back time and time again. We don't expect a five star hotel, but this bed and breakfast gets a firm 5 from us!

Room Tip: If you like to hear the church bells, have a room facing the church.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCustomer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Old Coffee House in October and found Julia to be welcoming, friendly and most responsive to our needs (Clive had broken his leg so they were one man down). Although we felt the B & B was good value for the money (£50 per night for a double room for 2 with breakfast), we did struggle with sleeping for the first couple of nights due to the bedding not being what we were used to. Feeling a bit like the main character in the Princess and The Pea story I approached Julia to ask if they had any alternative pillows and bed linen to those provided and she said they didn't, BUT she would be prepared to buy some if I could provide a list. I wrote down the minimum of items so not to be too demanding but was overjoyed upon returning to the room that night to find virtually everything had been upgraded. After that we couldn't wait to get back to the room - it was, for us, so much more comfortable and we even had a couple of lie-ins. What an amazing response to a tricky situation - worth 5 stars from us for that alone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

If only they'd spend a bit more on this place it could be so much better.
The bedroom was quite large and the bed comfortable but the furniture was that cheap pine stuff you get at discount furniture stores- and I don't mean Ikea. Drawers stick and wardrobe doors don't fit properly. There were two wicker chairs with no cushions- not comfortable. The towels were thin and there was no bath sheet -only a skimpy bath towel. There was no hair conditioner and no hair drier. The room had twin beds and as I was on my own only one of the beds was made up. I can see why this was done but what if I'd wanted to sleep in the other bed? It somehow made the room unwelcoming.
The breakfast followed the same theme. Orange juice tasted like orange squash. Sausages could have been prosecuted under the Trade Descriptions Act. Don't think a pig had been near them.
One other point, the stairs leading to the rooms are very narrow and twisting. Certainly not suitable for everyone.

It's such a pity as the owners were pleasant and the house itself was quite attractive. I would possibly stay again because of the location and it was clean and functional.
It's right in the centre of Ashburton so convenient for the delights of the town such as they are.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madwitch2, Owner at The Old Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

We were surprised by some of the comments in this review. We checked the wardrobe doors and could see no sign of them not fitting, nor did any of the drawers stick when we tested them ourselves. None of our other guests have ever commented on this, especially our long term guests that frequently stay in this particular room. There has also always been cushions on the wicker chairs.

We do provide complimentary shower gel and shampoo. However as we are a B&B and do not pretend to be otherwise, are reasonably priced and wish to remain so, we do have to take costs into consideration. We acknowledge the lack of hair dryer and will be happy to rectify this forthwith. The stairs are narrow but this is a very old building!

It is a great shame that nothing was said to us at the time, especially regarding the breakfast/wardrobe/drawers, as we take all our guests' feedback very seriously and it is our aim to make our visitors as welcome and comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Clive and Julia are friendly, helpful and can't do enough to please their guests. We were let down by another establishment in Ashburton and at short notice, Clive and Julia offered us a room until the blues festival weekend, when all their rooms were taken. Instead of turning us away, they offered to adapt their single room so that we could stay for the whole week, what wonderful customer service! All the rooms are light and airy, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We loved staying there and have booked again for next year. The breakfasts are wonderful and extra toast and tea are offered every day without you having to ask for it. What a shame all bed and breakfast proprietors are not so nice!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCustomer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Have stayed at this b & b several times, and have always thoroughly enjoyed my visits. The accommodation is lovely, overlooking the church next door. The food is excellent, and the location in Ashburton is very convenient for going anywhere within the town. The main car park is a very short distance away, with fees townies can only dream of, as well as a small TIC nearby.
The hosts are delightful and very helpful, and this is an excellent base to explore both the town and surrounding areas in Devon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BMHillhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews