We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Top notch" accommodation !!!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas
Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Bedroom 1: Spacious and stylish. Super-king bed.
En-suite to Bedroom 1 has walk-in shower, bath, and separate WC
Bedroom 2: King-sized bed and views to garden and countryside
En-suite bathroom to Bedroom 2: shower over bath.
Ground floor Bedroom 3 suitable for wheelchair users. Views over patio and countryside.
Wet-room for Bedroom 3. Fully wheelchair accessible.
Well-equipped utility room with washing machine, tumble drier, and drying racks
Large patio with gas barbecue. views of countryside and pond
View of The Tithe Barn from the orchard and pond area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Top notch" accommodation !!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The location was excellent for exploring this area of Dartmoor, and just a short walk into Ashburton.
The barn was large, very comfortable and very well equipped, in fact the best holiday rental we have ever stayed in, thank you Stuart and Jane, we should love to return sometime in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Tithe Barn. We really appreciate your positive comments and hope that you will be able to return in the near future.
Jane and Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed August 31, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Tithe Barn.
Greeted warmly by Stuart and Jane and welcomed with cakes and fizz.
The Tithe barn has been beautifully designed and adds to your holiday staying in such amazing accommodation, the games extension part of the barn was a added bonus for teenagers in the evening pool,table tennis,cross trainer...
Great spot to explore Dartmoor walks from the accommodation or easy to drive too stunning locations. Coastal resorts also easy to drive too making it fun for all age groups.
Would highly recommend ....sad to leave would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2018
Thanks for your review...we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit...
Jane and Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julietown...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect accommodation, as expected from the website. Clean, well equipped and very comfortable”
Reviewed August 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The Tithe Barn is in a fabulous location, great for a family break. Peaceful with beautiful scenery. The accommodation is exceptional, plenty of room for a family of six adults and a baby.
We enjoyed lots of extraordinary walks on The National Park which is on the doorstep, plenty of pubs and tea rooms to suit all requirements.
Stuart and Jane are wonderful hosts with lots of advise and recommendations. We particularly enjoyed eating at The Old Library where they really looked after us.
The weather could have been kinder to us but we found lots to do so it wasn't a problem.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2018
Thanks for your helpful review, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here despite some inclement weather.
I will pass on your positive comments the Jo and Amie who run The Old Library. This is great place to enjoy a very tasty meal prepared by passionate chefs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobywinkw...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in s beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My family and I thought this property was first class! Every room has been stylishly designed. It is in a perfect spot to explore Devon. I would recommend it to anyone and to families with young children. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2018
Many thanks for your review. Although Dartmoor is not an obvious first choice for a family holiday, it does offer a great variety of activities for children of all ages, whatever the weather; and the South Devon beaches are only a short drive away when needed.
We hope to see you all again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith H
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful accessible cottage - highly recommended”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We've just spent a wonderful week at Tithe Barn. We booked it specifically as our eldest daughter is in a wheelchair and we found the ground floor accommodation with ensuite wet room was perfect for her requirements. The quality of accommodation overall is 5 star and we really felt spoilt. Upon arrival we were greeted with freshly baked scones, jam and cream and a bottle of prosecco chilling in the fridge! The owners Stuart and Jane are very proud of their cottage and rightfully so. Everything you could possibly wish for they have thought of and more. The games room (pool table and table tennis), games and puzzles, and the outdoor space make it a perfect choice for families. It's a great base for exploring Devon - just wish we could have spent more time here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are sure that your comments about the suitability for wheelchair users will be very helpful to others when searching for suitable luxury accommodation.
We hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fc2880
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The pictures of the Tithe barn don't really do it justice – it is much nicer, very airy and spacious, definitely a luxury 5-star cottage. The owners are extremely helpful and the barn comes supplied with all necessities and even some delicious freshly baked scones on arrival! It is a short walk into Ashburton, which is a very nice town with plenty of small independent shops to browse around. (Ella's bakery, is a definite must!)
Ashburton is a great starting point for trips into Dartmoor or the seaside.
What a perfect place to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
Thanks for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Tithe Barn, and that you used the excellent local independent shops.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMD452
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed July 14, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our second stay at the Tithe Barn. This is an exceptional place to stay, with the standard first class. I can say this with confidence having stayed in self-catering accommodation in Devon for 30 years. Stuart and Jane have been superb hosts and very helpful. Everything is catered for. Lovely location for travelling, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2018
Thanks for your very positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Many of our guests have also commentedj on the convenience of the location...close to Ashburton that has such a wide range of shops and facilities...and only a short drive to South Devon beaches or any part of Dartmoor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing