We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Property in all respects.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The Tithe Barn, Ashburton.. Luxury Five Star, Gold Award Cottage in Dartmoor National Park
Large and bright open-plan lounge and dining areas
Well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops.
Bedroom 1: Spacious and stylish. Super-king bed.
En-suite to Bedroom 1 has walk-in shower, bath, and separate WC
Bedroom 2: King-sized bed and views to garden and countryside
En-suite bathroom to Bedroom 2: shower over bath.
Ground floor Bedroom 3 suitable for wheelchair users. Views over patio and countryside.
Wet-room for Bedroom 3. Fully wheelchair accessible.
Well-equipped utility room with washing machine, tumble drier, and drying racks
Large patio with gas barbecue. views of countryside and pond
View of The Tithe Barn from the orchard and pond area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abbeytrip...
Chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property in all respects.”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The property is excellent in every regard. The hosts Stuart and Jane welcome you warmly and the welcome pack tides you over for your first night.
Thoughtfully there is lots of information available to you including eating places and walks nearby on the Moors.
The property is furnished extremely well and all the bedrooms are ensuite.
It’s a good size and we had everything we needed for the week we were there.
The town is a 15 minute maximum walk away and good dogs are welcome in the town and by the hosts.
Location is second to none. We found it extremely quiet.
As a bonus there is a Games room which provides table tennis, pool and a keep fit bike.
A truly wonderful rental with thoughtful hosts.
We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Thanks for your positive review which is much appreciated. Do come again soon...you and your very well behaved dogs will be very welcome!
Stuart and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore75...
1 review
“Great thatched house with every modern convenience”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We took our two dogs with us for a half term break - great welcome, great facilities and very clean and comfortable.

Would definitely go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay. You certainly made the best of your short break, and found nice places to walk the dogs, as well as taking them with you to the Rock Inn at Haytor. Almost all pubs around here allow well-behaved dogs like yours into their restaurants.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best holiday home in the world”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My wife is half Swiss. She loves order, space, and cleanliness. The English half of her loves style, design, and architecture. I just like a great kitchen, huge shower, sun-bathed sitting room and loads of space for the kids to play. Both of us like to walk to shops, cafes and the best bakery in the World (Ella's in Ashburton, and it really is). We also enjoy having friendly hosts who go out of their way to make our stay comfortable - dropping off extra toys and books for our daughters, putting up a beautiful Christmas tree, leaving us a plate of home-baked mince pies and dropping off some fruit from their trees so we could bake a good crumble. All in all, this is probably the best place in the world to stay at, which is why this is our second visit, and will not be the last. No hosts are better, no house cleaner, no welcome warmer, no space more enjoyable to live in for a week. Oh, and Devon's great, which is where the cottage is located. Trouble is, the cottage is so wonderful its hard to tempt yourself outdoors...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2018
Your review is much appreciated, and we are delighted that you all had such a positive experience of staying at The Tithe Barn. Jane and I are both a little obsessive when it comes to quality standards and conformance, and we have changeover staff who are similarly driven! We don't want any guest to experience anything which distracts them from a relaxing and memorable holiday in beautiful Dartmoor and amazing Devon.
Many thanks for taking the time to complete this review!
Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm, comfy, wonderful!”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A return visit to the Tithe Barn to see in the New Year. We were very grateful for the warmth and the lovely thick walls and thatch, as Storm Eleanor did her worst outside! The only thing that is maybe lacking from the barn is a dvd player - might be a useful addition, especially when the weather is too inclement to want to venture out. Apart from that, amazing home from home, with everything else you could possibly need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Many thanks for your second and very encouraging review! Actually, the coattage's DVD player was removed when we connected to Netflix, as most visitors were getting confused with too many remote controls in operation! On future visits you can ask for the DVD option, and I will reconnect it, as I will for any other guest requiring it! Don't forget to bring the discs...we have a few but they may not be your taste...
Looking forward to seeing you all again before 2018 is over.
Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAS32
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, homely and very clean cottage”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed in the property over Christmas. The owners had kindly put up Christmas decorations and we loved the cottage. It was impeccably clean and well appointed. It was quite pricey for the Christmas period but I would definitely stay again. The only minor criticism is that it’s quite hard to find on a dark winter’s evening and so an outside light illuminating the name sign would be useful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2018
Thanks for your positive and helpful review. We will investigate how we could improve visibility and signage for guests arriving in the dark.
We hope that you will be able to return some day, ideally when Dartmoor is less grey and cold!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pruc2017
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The house is in a lovely location. It's only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants of Ashburton and yet you feel as if you're in the middle of the country. The house has been beautifully converted. It's comfortable, light and airy, with large spacious rooms and a gorgeous outlook. It's also the best-equipped self-catering accommodation we've ever stayed in.
My husband has limited mobility and he really appreciated the easy ramped access through the front door, the wide doorways and the completely level ground floor; and also the very spacious living room and bedroom which made it easy for him to get around with a walking frame. There was also lots of space on the patio for him to move around. The shower in the wet room was excellent and Stuart provided us with a shower stool and toilet frame. For outings it was easy to bring the car up to the front gate which avoided any need to get across the stony drive with a wheelchair or walking frame.
Altogether we loved it and would happily book another holiday here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
It was a pleasure to welcome you as guests at The Tithe Barn! We are delighted that you found it so suitable for wheelchair and limited mobility use, both inside and in the patio area. We do hope to see you again here soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stone and thatch ... with a modern twist”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A short stroll from the centre of a small but bustling town centre brings you to the delightfully quiet Headborough Farm and the Tithebarn. The rebuilt barn is stunning, spacious and hides a modern interior which marries perfectly with the original stonework. Ashburton is ideally placed for easy access to Dartmoor and South Hams, and, for its size, has more than its fair share of food shops and antique centres. There is even a heated outdoor swimming pool which opens at 7.00 a.m. on two days per week. It's a great start to the day, but do note - the signs are for pedestrians, not cars; park in the town centre and walk.
On a warm, sunny afternoon the patio at the Tithebarn is perfect for a long lunch and the bi-fold doors make it very easy to keep everyone fed and watered.
We had Mabel the dog with us and could take her into an adjoining field which is big enough for serious playtime, if you like that sort of thing.
Stuart and Jane are considerate hosts who put a lot of effort into the place and we enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived ... and if it's raining, there's always the games room

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
We are glad that you enjoyed Ashburton and all that it offers. The town's outdoor heated swimming pool is run by volunteers and is open all week...with grassy areas and a cafe it is a great place to chill out, and many of our guests are discovering what a nice place it is.
Thanks for your very positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing