We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faith in pubs restored”

The Culm Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Culmstock
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A wonderfully eclectic, funky country pub specialising in wholesome locally sourced food and superb crafted beers.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faith in pubs restored”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A very good pint of properly kept and served bitter straight from the firkin started a memorable lunch of whole lemon sole served with purple potatoes and cooked to perfection, a whole plaice with citrus butter,delicious, and a Thai curry, no need to go to Bangkok when you can get this in Devon.An amazingly delicious Portuguese almond tart with cream from the strawberries others were enjoying, and excellent coffee. Characterful pub with knowledgeable friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    49
    15
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire. UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay, thank you”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived in the heat wave having driven the length of the country to be greeted with a beer for my beer loving husband and a pint of pimms for me...very welcome! Rooms were perfect, very clean, very simple and exactly what we were hoping for - actually they exceeded our expectations.
We had booked a table for dinner but since the weather was unbelievable we sat in the garden and ate there. Dinner was excellent, we shared starters and all had fish dishes for our mains, lovely wine and then to bed. Wondered if we would sleep well with a pub underneath our rooms but we certainly did.
Breakfast was delicious too with homemade sausage and homemade black pudding (our absolute favourite).
The whole experience was excellent, we loved the place, the dogs, the cat and of course, Richard. We would be delighted to visit again if we were ever in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lunch by the Culm”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have been here dozens of times and it never fails to satisfy! Great location, great atmosphere and ambiance, excellent cider and Beer and a fabulous menu and home cooked food and very special menu. We had Sunday lunch yesterday that was beautiful, the very helpful waitress and chef opened the kitchen after they had shut, after what was clearly a very busy and hot day, thank you very much! Village Cricket was on today so everyone was off to the Cricket ground apart from 20 to 30 people swimming and paddling in the weir of the Culm, locations and lunchtimes do not get much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billyboots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Dogs, cats, beer, wine, bar games, great landlord, family team serving and working the kitchen. A real country pub. But wait there is more! The food is out of this world. Try the cracked crab, unbelievably good and HUGE. On a sunny sat eve you just cannot get better

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fartravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A true country pub! Called in for a lunch time ploughmans which I thought was lovely. Very dog friendly so if you don't like dogs this won't be the place for you! Plenty of outside sitting on a sunny day

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 07Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culm Valley Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Culm Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing