We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an enjoyable, relaxing and enlightening stay I spent at Bowhayes Farm”
Review of Bowhayes Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bowhayes Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Culmstock B&B and Inns
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an enjoyable, relaxing and enlightening stay I spent at Bowhayes Farm”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What an enjoyable, relaxing and enlightening stay I spent at Bowhayes Farm. The room I had was massive with beautiful oak beams enhancing the cosy decor. I had a lovely comfortable double bed all to myself and slept like a log during my four nights stay. The view from my window was marvellous looking over the farm and onto the breath-taking landscape. My bathroom was bright clean and modern but with a distinct rustic appearance. The under floor heating made all the difference especially after getting out of the bath to dry myself in the warm.
There was also a lovely relaxing lounge for the guests to meet or spend the evenings in front of a warm stove and TV. This rest room with its snug armchairs was a perfect place for me to read and relax. Sitting in the lounge was great as I hate being confined to one room when I stay away.
At breakfast I was treated to a sumptuous full English breakfast served on splendid china plates. Being greedy I took full advantage of the warm croissants and toast by smothering them with butter and jam washed down with pots of tea, um delicious! Another guest had special need as well as being vegetarian and that seemed no problem for Lucinda (the owner)

The best part for me was to see at up close how the many horses on the farm were treated.
It was plain to see that they understood not only the character of each horse but their individual qualities. They demonstrated to me how horses can respond and perform individually or as a group by treating them with loving respect and admiration. I had been very impressed by how these horses were encouraged rather than being pushed to do what was asked.

The standard of perfection in how the horses performed and their natural healthy condition made my stay at Bowhays Farm even more pleasurable and worthwhile.

Room Tip: Both rooms I viewed were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesGreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

rested, refreshed and revitalised sum up this visit, ranging from the lovely bedroom and deep capaciacious baths to the slap up breakfasts , topped off by the 'horse love' from Lucindas very special chilled out horses. My partner said i came back from my 3 day break looking the best i have in years.... result!
"i'll be back" as Arnie says!

Room Tip: they are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucindaMcAlpine, Owner at Bowhayes Farm, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time here, Louise. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your speedy return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A lovely place in stunning countryside with a wonderful hostess. The breakfast was delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Highly recommended! The rooms are individual and comfortable - in fact, the bed I had was more comfortable than mine at home. Lucinda ensures your stay is special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A really great place to stay. Really friendly that makes you relax the minute you arrive. Amazing veiws over the valley. Great local pub in the village that has to be seen,the food was great! And the breakfast could not be better!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucindaMcAlpine, Owner at Bowhayes Farm, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your time here with us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I spent one night at bowhayes whilst in devon for a wedding. The rural location is idyllic, rooms were clean and well presented and Lucinda was a great host. I will certainly look for excuses to return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucindaMcAlpine, Owner at Bowhayes Farm, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Looking forward to your return! Such a shame you could not stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowford
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I took my pony for some much needed help from Lucinda, and thoroughly enjoyed myself. So did the pony.
It's a lovely old house with plenty of character and charm, and if you like horses you will be in heaven here. The setting is beautiful, and very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucindaMcAlpine, Owner at Bowhayes Farm, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed having you and Jack to stay. We look forward to your return for the next enthralling episode!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed recently using the farm as a base for visiting friends in the area. Wonderful period accommodation given the modern touch with excellent bathrooms and nicely furnished bedrooms with memory foam mattresses which was a first for me in any kind of hotel or holiday accommodation!! Comfortable lounge to relax in downstairs with satellite television and wifi too. Excellent breakfast and more than enough to set you up for the day. I was looked after very well and looking forward to returning on my next visit to the region.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culmstock
6.8 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
207 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
376 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Tiverton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 2 in Sampford Peverell
234 reviews
6.4 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#9 of 21 in Cullompton
35 reviews
5.0 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowhayes Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowhayes Farm

Property: Bowhayes Farm
Address: Bowhayes Farm Park Lane, Culmstock, Cullompton Ex15 3JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton > Culmstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Culmstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bowhayes Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowhayes Farm is a thatched Devon longhouse built, we think, in the 1600's. We have tried to retain its period features wherever possible and the accommodation has been finished to a very high standard using natural materials such as reclaimed oak and slate.We offer 2 double bedrooms (one can be made up as a twin), each with private bathrooms and guests have use of a sitting room with wood burning stove, satellite TV, DVD and Wi-Fi. A additional double room is also available for larger parties (short stays only). Breakfast can be a choice of English or continental and is sourced from local produce whenever possible. We provide a well appointed kitchenette with mini oven,microwave,toaster and fridge for guests own use as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Catering for lunch, tea and supper can be arranged at extra cost (bookable in advance only).The farm sits on the hill above Culmstock and enjoys breathtaking views along the Culm valley and on a clear day across to Exmoor. £55 Per person per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bowhayes Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing