We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
The Stone Barn with large private lawned garden and sheltered courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stone Barn with large private lawned garden and sheltered courtyard
South facing views from hayloft window enjoy dining all together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Stone Barn with large private lawned garden and sheltered courtyard
South facing views from hayloft window
enjoy dining all together
master bedroom - awake with rising sun from hayloft window
perfect for relaxing after lovely walk round nature trails
or just chilling out with friends
ideal for family celebrations and special occasions
suntrap courtyard ideal for summer bbq
spacious en suite shower room to master bedroom
For when you just have to have a bath
Comfort and character througout - twin room with arrowslit window
Start of a winter walk along the nature trails
summer full of butterflies and wild flowers
Autumn colours glowing in October sunlight
September sunset on the nature walks
our favourite North Cornwall beach only a short drive away
Sandymouth National Trust beach and coastal path in June - EMPTY but fab any time of year
wildlife adventures from the garden gate - explore Beer Mill Nature Trails
County wildlife site, DWT gold award winning since 2004 working for the benefit of Devon's wildlife
short breaks all year (excluding summer hols and Christmas/New Year)
meet the conservation team!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Clawton, Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jubeeone
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a fantastic holiday me and my family have just had. I cannot recommend The Stone Barn more highly, there was everything there to ensure that we had a great time. Plenty of room, comfy beds, excellent facilities and lots of advice on local walks and wildlife. A brilliant place to spend quality time with the family. Thank you Elaine and Dick, we will definitely return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Hello, we are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay at the Stone Barn at Beer Mill Farm. Thank you for looking after Stone Barn and exploring the nature trails - we love it when guests get out and about and hopefully see or spot signs of our wonderful wildlife. Thank you again for your support and we would love to see you again in the future. Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here as a group of 10 adults, 1 child and 1 baby for a week. For such a big group there was plenty of space, enough seats for everyone around the dinner table and in the lounge and the whole property is very well equipped. Everything you need from a home from home! Lots of helpful information and recommendations of local places to visit, eat etc from the owners too. The barn has been beautifully converted and is very tastefully decorated throughout. There are lots of lovely touches too, like the lovely hand painted signs on the bin stores and 2 lovely milk churns both hand painted outside the barn and wildlife centre. Kindly provided highchair, stairgates and travel cot as requested too.

The barn is carbon neutral and uses no fossil fuels, with its own rain water for the toilets and solar panels, which is very impressive particularly for such a large property! There is also a wildlife centre which gives information about their conservation work, which animals you can expect to see, and photos of the barn before, during and after the work they did to convert it to the beautiful holiday home it is now. There is also a selection of games in the wildlife centre and a variety of wildlife walks on the property so plenty to do.

As for the area, Clawton is lovely and amenities are all close by. Lots of things to do locally and not too far from the A30 so easy to go a bit further afield also.

All in all the property is lovely and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking to explore the area, particularly if you are eco-conscious. Great place, would love to stay again! Well done to the owners who are obviously very passionate about conservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is truly rewarding when guests understand and appreciate what we are trying to achieve here at Beer Mill. You were lovely, considerate, mindful guests and you are welcome back any time. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephleec...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful location, together making an outstanding family get away enjoyed by all.”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I cant recommend this Rental high enough - 5 stars doesn't give it justice!

The barn its self is maintained to such a high level i don't believe the pictures on the website do it justice - We didn't want to leave! The Barn its self is stocked with an essentials starter pack upon arrival, this include things such as washing up liquid, toilet rolls and tea bags etc. This was such a bonus for me, many times with rentals these items are not supplied and after a long drive the last thing you want to do is head to the shops as soon as you get in!

Elaine was available for help and information though out the whole holiday, via text or phone call, she even helped us source the best local sausages for our BBQ! (Definitely worth asking about)

The Barn has its own shelter for dogs outside, and also its own BBQ as well as a free supply of two tucks full of logs for the double-breasted log burner. My niece was overwhelmed by the children and family board games inside the kitchen and many an evening was spent playing with them!

I would highly recommend this Holiday Rental to everyone, but please note before booking - The barn is not in walking distance to a local town, restaurant or shop. If you don't intend to do much driving, but want to visit Cornwall and places in Devon this may not be the rental for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Thank you Steph for taking the time and trouble to write your very kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Stone Barn. Yes I agree guests do need a car because the Stone Barn is situated at the heart of Beer Mill Conservation Project but supermarkets etc are happy to deliver and we can offer a great private chef service for those guests interested. Thanks again for being such lovely guests and we hope you will visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmurfWest...
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, stunning landscape, every need catered for - ideal for large family of any age mix”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is our second stay, the first was three years ago and the memory of the previous visit didn't disappoint. The area is lovely and the property is beautifully set out, tastefully decorated and well equipped for a family of mixed ages.
The standard of cleanliness is very high and the little touches like a bottle of fizz cooling in the fridge along with fresh milk and cup cakes ready for us after a long day travelling were very much appreciated.
Elaine and Dick, the proud owners, take the time to ensure you're needs are met both prior to booking and during your stay.
The toys provided and use of the wildlife room was utilised fully by the younger members of our party.
The only downside - a week isn't long enough to enjoy everything the property can offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind words - we are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and you're welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cornchape...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly fabulous holiday property and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We holiday in this beautiful part of the North Devon/ Cornish coastline annually and have used the Stone Barn many times for both small breaks to large family get togethers.
It is a fabulous property which caters for all of our needs and is consistently presented to a very high standard on all aspects and a Credit to the owners and hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. You will always be welcome at Stone Barn. We get great pleasure from making sure all our guests are happy and always try our best - thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashrafcai...
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage for a special celebration”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Booked Stone Barn for a 60th birthday celebration. Incredibly spacious, very well furnished and equipped. Great layout. Lovely welcome as well with biscuits and milk. Really peaceful area and a great enclosed garden for young children. Would highly recommend and if ever we are doing another family celebration in this area would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing