We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveler rating
1,240
256
95
39
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,240
256
95
39
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco sea tractor pilchard inn agatha christie wedding anniversary whole experience special occasion beach house car park afternoon tea great fun black tie dinner murder mystery before dinner worth every penny saturday night wine list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great weekend staying in this iconic building. Went to celebrate a friends 65th birthday and had a ball! Everything about our stay was magical. Staff could not have done more for us and the location so impressive. We did not have a car so it meant staying close to the location but for two days that was just fine

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keithdecoene01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Keith D,

Thank you for choosing Burgh Island to celebrate your 65th Birthday.

With a delight we learnt your stay was magical and the whole team whom you found so hospitable would be thrilled to welcome you back on another special occasion.

With best regards,

Vladimir Krupa
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We've wanted to go to Burgh Island for years and years. Finally we made it! The Hotel is iconic, the decor is stunning - we loved the architectural features and the furniture and delighted to see some furniture and fittings the same as we have included in our own modest home. As the Hotel can simply cash in on its features and location novelty, I wouldn't have been surprised if the food had not been great but we were very impressed with the food. Our first night was at the hotel itself and we dressed up appropriately for the ballroom for full effect and had a delicious scallops starter followed by one of the nicest venison meals that we've ever had. There were options for non meat eaters too. The wine list catered for all pockets from £30 to £450! The only downside was that Hurricane Brendan didn't allow the band to attend the ballroom evening, damn him! Our second evening we ate at the Pilchard Inn and this also had excellent food - a delicious starter of mussels with chorizo followed by a pork chop for me and a good rump steak for my husband. The barman was friendly and helpful and the pub itself was a cosy environment to be in during such a stormy evening. We also enjoyed strolling around the grounds, we are keen amateur photographers and found plenty to photograph especially the dramatic surrounding sea. This hotel didn't disappoint -apart from not having a shower in the en suite - not used to a bath any more but I guess a bath is more in keeping with the Art Deco period!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Soontobe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Soontobe50,

Thank you for your most kind and caring review. It was nice to hear from your visit to Burgh Island which you planned for so many years and had a chance to sample the many aspects the island has to offer.

We are blessed with the natural beauty of the island and we are glad you made the most of the stormy weather. We are naturally sorry you could not enjoy the live entertainment due to bad weather conditions. If you plan to revisit, I will be more than happy to make your future stay special. When you start planning your upcoming trip, please contact me directly on vlad@burghisland.com and I will make sure you have the most magical experience.

With best regards,

Vladimir Krupa
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Overall a great experience - pay careful attention to your arrival and departure times or you may find yourself stranded! The hotel itself is lovely and the ballroom service and food is excellent - as is the breakfast. The views are incredible.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nsimps549195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear nsimps549195,

Thank you for pointing out the importance of checking arrival and departure times as the island is governed by tides.

Burgh Island is accessible by foot or our vehicles when tide is out and we operate our own Sea tractor which ferries people across when tide is in. Should weather conditions not allow us to run the tractor service when tide is in, our reception will inform our guests and suggest the best time of arrival and departure. You are never really stranded on the island as tides, are in or out, at approximately six hours intervals.

We are glad to hear from your enjoyable time you spent on the island and hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Vladimir Krupa
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

My husband and I travelled for a 2 day break in January. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this first class hotel. Staff are very friendly and food very good. We are recommending it to 4 of our friends in the hope that we will return with them.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alisin C,

Thank you for joining us for a two day break recently.

Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the atmosphere on the island and found our staff and cuisine first class.
We hope your friends will accept your recommendations and we will welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Vladimir Krupa
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Positive and five star for the concept and excellent staff. The setting and and Art Deco ambiance could not be faulted. The weather beyond the hotels control but proved an interesting experience. But;

The room (Malcolm Campbell) in need of urgent refurbishment, photos attached of the curtains, paintwork and plaster.

Food was very enjoyable at the Pilchard on the first night. Breakfast both mornings disappointed with very slow service and overcooked warm rather than hot English breakfast. Acceptable meal in the ballroom on the second night and wine list interesting.

The item that most soured our stay was that we were on a secret escapes offer for the two nights. We would have expected the standards to be the same as a normal guest, but it seems that the proprietors were attempting to claw back some of our savings by making reductions elsewhere. In an extremely tired suite we had no bath robes, one small tablet of soap in the two days to cover the use of two separate basins and the bath. On the evening of the included Black Tie dinner dance despite the receptionist requesting us to be in the bar in order to have cocktails and canapés early, we found that since we were on a secret escapes offer that neither the canapés nor the coffee and petit fours were available to us without us “upgrading” our stay.

Room tip: Avoid Malcom Campbell Suite until it is refurbished
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gizmo1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgh_Island_1929, Guest Relations Manager at Burgh Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gizmo1306,

Thank you for your review and valuable feedback from two nights stay on the island.

Whilst we were thrilled to read your lines with kind remarks you paid to our staff and your appreciation of keeping the Art Deco ambiance alive, we were concerned to hear from your recent stay in the Malcolm Campbell suite and please accept our apologies about the state of repair during your visit. I would like to further extend our apologies for standards of cuisine you experienced. Please be assured all your comments will be appropriately addressed with relevant departments to work on necessary improvements.

Burgh Island is a magical place and we would love to see you in the future. We have launched our refurbishment program to update all the rooms and I will be delighted if you could contact me on vlad@burghisland.com and I will have the opportunity to make your next stay memorable to compensate your last experience.

I hope to have the pleasure assisting you organising your visit in the future.

Best regards,

Vladimir Krupa
Director of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews