We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rosemary Cottage

Rosemary Cottage, a tranquil retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rosemary Cottage, a tranquil retreat
Front lounge with fireplace and through to  kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Rosemary Cottage, a tranquil retreat
Front lounge with fireplace and through to  kitchen
From the lounge to the kitchen, showing dinning table.
Bright, modern and well equipped kitchen. Washing machine so you don't have to!
Kitchen: full size oven with halogen top. Great for those special meals of just heating a pizza
View through kitchen to lounge - ahh! Cup-of-tea!
Through the stable door from the kitchen to the patio
Characterful spiral staircase from lounge
Spiral stairway from first floor landing
Comfortable double bedroom on first floor
Bright and spacious shower room on first floor
The larger than average shower on first floor
Well designed space for two singles on second floor - spot the old shop's mast
Super sea and outer harbour view from second floor bedroom not to be missed!
...and here it is. View of Harbour and Tor Bay from the top!
Pretty shared courtyard
Summertime at Rosemary Cottage
Banksy in Brixham? Just round the corner from the Cottage!
Nearby Harbour Delights - a few steps away!
Brixham inner harbour - a 5-minute walk
Brixham harbour at half tide
Full tide and halcyon days!
Evening Glory across Brixham Marina
The tranquil harbour in late evening
Brixham harbour front in the evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Caroline...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely cottage. Very clean and really well equipped. We would definitely stay there again. It is also really close to the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments, highlighting both its convenience to the Harbour and how we have furnished it so it is comfortable for guests. Happy to have you come and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
We are pleased you found Rosemary Cottage to your liking, and that it continues to have that nice family feel to it. Please do come again and stay a bit longer to explore!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily K
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in the perfect location”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This beautiful quaint cottage was exactly the thing me and my husband were looking for after the Christmas Day madness with family. The cottage had everything we needed and the view from the top floor was gorgeous. The cottage is in a perfect location, just a few minutes stroll down to the town and the harbour and great for exploring around Torquay and Paignton and other places, should you have the time.
Yes the cottage doesn't have parking but we didn't find that an issue as The Quayside Hotel were more than happy to let us park in their car park (which is literally just behind the cottage) for a small fee, which we didn't mind paying just to know our car was a bit safer than leaving it on the roadside. We were lucky enough to have beautiful sunny (but cold) days whilst staying Brixham but on New Years Day it was raining so we decided to lock the door and stay in front of the cosy fire and watch TV, it was just bliss, totally relaxed.
We didn't use the outside shared garden but I can imagine this would be lovely in the summer to sit outside with a glass of wine.
If you are thinking of booking, don't hesitate, just do it! We will definitely be back when we have the chance!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
We are delighted you had an enjoyable time at Rosemary Cottage over the New Year, and found everything to your liking. We certainly share your thoughts about the Cottage being cosy, and have worked hard to give it a nice feel for all types of guests. And once the car is parked up, you really do see how well situated you are to all the amenities you are. Thank you again and please do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelin...
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay at Rosemary cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just spent three nights at Rosemary cottage. The cottage was perfect for the three of us, very clean and all the facilities we needed. Brixham is a lovely fishing town, and there are lots of interesting places in the surrounding area (Greenway; Agatha Christies holiday hone, Berry Head - great views of the bay, Babbacombe, Dartmouth). We would definitely return to Rosemary cottage if visiting the area in the future.



N

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments, glad you enjoyed what we have to offer and the surrounding attractions, even if it was "out-of-season". Brixham is good all year round, really! Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip J
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in beautiful Brixham”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a stunning property! Excellently maintained, cosy cottage in perfect position for Brixham town. All facilities were of high standard with much attention to detail by the owners. The cottage provides an ideal base for exploring the Torbay area and there are truly superb opportunities for walking the coast paths and visiting local National Trust sites such as Greenway and Coleton Fishacre. Transport links are also excellent with good local bus services, ferries and the Paignton to Kingswear heritage steam train. A perfect week for our holiday with superb seafood restaurants in the harbour area, a few minutes walk from Rosemary Cottage. We will return as soon as time allows!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal cottage accommodation in lovely working fishing town
Liked least: Parking can be a minor challenge
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Thank you for your lovely, positive review of Rosemary Cottage and the surrounding area. We hope you are able to return to Brixham and our cottage in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finnbark
Lahti, Finland
2 reviews
“Perfect HQ for our time in Brixham.”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage was quaint and beautiful. It was spotlessly clean and was fully equipped (even salt and pepper in the cupboards). We had our two young children with us and they LOVED the stairs and the fact that they had their own room right at the top on the third floor.

It took less than 3 minutes to walk down to the harbour and start touring the town. All in all, a great stay. I recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage charm, location and cleanliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Rosemary Cottage and thank you for the lovely comments. We'll pass the ones on cleanliness to our changeover partners who work hard to keep the Cottage spick and span for our guests. And Brixham is a delight as you discovered! Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HertsSas
herts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a wonderful late summer break”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

spent a wonderful long weekend in this lovely little cottage
it is small but beautifully formed, really comfortable bed, quality furnishing and linens, and the added bonus of a sheltered courtyard
whilst the cottage is set up the hill a bit it is a very easy walk down to the harbour, and really not too painful to get up again
loved it, and will return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thanks you for your lovely comments and that Rosemary Cottage met your needs and expectations. Location makes it convenient to all the life of Brixham and makes it an oasis of quiet in the evening. Please do think of coming again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing