We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“120 year old former Coastguard Cottage with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sealark Cottage

The old Coastguard cottage has uninterrupted sea views, and plenty of parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The old Coastguard cottage has uninterrupted sea views, and plenty of parking.
The view from the master bedroom showing the Victorian shelter with Shoalstone pool beyond. The front of the house, showing the old coastguard insignia on the blue downpipe.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The old Coastguard cottage has uninterrupted sea views, and plenty of parking.
The view from the master bedroom showing the Victorian shelter with Shoalstone pool beyond.
The front of the house, showing the old coastguard insignia on the blue downpipe.
The Cottage (in the centre) is by Berry Head Country Park, area of outstanding natural beauty.
It is just above Shoalstone open-air seawater pool, and numerous rockpools - ideal for children.
The view of the back garden from the deck, looking across the sea to Paignton.
The recently redecorated living room has two large sofas, TV with Freeview, DVD, Wi-fi and bookcase.
There is a sideboard with selection of books, jigsaws, Lego and games, just in case it rains!
You may even enjoy doing the dishes with the fabulous views out to sea! Electric oven with gas hob.
The kitchen is fully equipped. Fridge with icebox, toaster, microwave, and a washing machine.
Master bedroom with bed facing the sea views. Photo taken from built-in wardrobe (also with views!)
Twin bedroom facing window and chest-of-drawers.
Twin bedroom facing double wardrobe and storage shelves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Haydn D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“120 year old former Coastguard Cottage with outstanding sea views”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Conveniently located close to Berry Head this cottage is also within 5/10 mins walking distance to Brixham harbour which has a good choice of pubs and restaurants (we particularly liked the Rockfish restaurant). Also a short drive to places like Totnes and Dartmouth and close to some very good National Trust properties including Agatha Christie's holiday home and the D'oyly Carte family home. It has stunning sea views across to Torquay. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Being a grade 2 listed cottage it has a lot of original features and the decoration reflects the cottage feel to the property. Central heating works well as the weather went very cold during our stay. Excellent value for money

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2018
Thanks Haydn for the perfect review, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. There is plenty to see and do from the cottage, whether people have a car or not, and yes the central heating makes all the difference when there is a strong easterly wind or even the snow which we had for the first time in my memory in this part of Brixham!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
So pleased that you had a wonderful stay, enjoying the house and its amazing views. There is so much to see and do nearby, and the parking is an added bonus in Brixham. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
So pleased that you had a lovely holiday. We do try to make sure that it's the best it can be!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janice W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A beautiful Coastguard's cottage on the edge of a Brixham harbour. What more could you want? This lovely two bedrooms house feels homely and welcoming with all modern conveniences a family or couple could want. Daily walks into Brixham are easily managed and daily dips in the neighboring Lido are a must. There is a wealth of eateries in the area so cooking at home is not essential. This was perfect for mum and myself as we could end the day sitting on the decking watching the boats come in and out of the harbour. Local places to visit include Berry Head, the steam railway, Greenway (home of Agatha Christie) and there's so much more. The owners were welcoming and the home clean and practical. We had our dog with us and there's plenty of walks/pubs/ inns/ cafes and shops that are dog friendly. This is a must visit place and the cottage provides views that you may only see once in a lifetime. I loved it there and will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Dear Janice, I am so pleased that you have a lovely holiday at Sealark Cottage. as you say, there are plenty of fantastic eateries nearby - the closest being 'Shoals on the Lido' - a very short walk away, with fantastic sea views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn p
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fabulous time at Sealand Cottage. Very spacious, lovely and warm and everything there that you needed.Parking fir two cars easily . Tony very helpful and always available if needed. Fantastic and outstanding views. Walking into Brixham was so easy with something to look at all the time. Even going in February we found a lot of different things to do and see. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Sealark Cottage and I am so pleased that you had a good time. The walk into town is very level for Brixham and goes past the beach, the Marina, award-winning plantings, a pub, a bistro / restaurant and the recently installed sculpture 'Man and Boy'. We hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idontlike...
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location with stunning view over Torbay.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely old-fashioned cottage - formerly coastguard's cottage. Short walk to harbour/marina area. This is flat with the exception of the drop down to sea level/harbour. Cottage garden backs on to car park for outdoor swimming pool which provides a nice venue for families during good weather. Views from the back of cottage are stunning! I haven't much experience of renting holiday cottages but would say that this cottage suited our requirements - It was clean, spacious and well-equipped with owner nearby. Very friendly owner, lovely cottage, lovely location. Would definitely rent this holiday cottage again. Nice garden with decking area overlooking the sea.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you for the great review. Yes, sea views with a flat walk into town is not very common in Brixham! So glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes the views are great! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann w
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sealark cottage, brixham”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Constructive criticism..
Firstly I would charge alittle more maybe £25 per week more and provide guests with towels and bedding as this is not in with the cottage. Secondly I would put a gate between front and back garden this would be safer for dog owners maybe between the hedge and brick wall in the back garden and tie it in with the decking area. Thirdly I would tidy the downstairs toilet with lino and also the back of the house should be linoed more for hygiene reasons. Kitchen could do with afew more condiments ie, scissors. Dinning room is good also the lounge but I would think about recarpeting or strip the floor boards to make the house more hygienic and more original,(the carpet is stained with god knows what).upstairs the twin room is a nicely done but again the carpet lets it down plus 2 plug sockets just isn't enough, the double room has a lovely view and decorated nicely again only 1 plug socket, attached is a extension lead which is placed behind the bed, this is a major fault for downstairs too! There is no WiFi which in oirdays you can't afford not to have and lastly the tv in the lounge is not great to watch the quality of picture is terrible. The location is great, you are allowed dogs (which is why I think, if the owner allows pets they should really accommodate their safety. I would put a keypad lock on the door for the keys as people don't want to be knocking on ones door to be let in after their drive. Hair dryers and ironing boards with irons I think is a basic necessity therefore should be provided as I state at the start I would be willing to pay as full amount for the basics instead of 'adding on' such things, £25 extra in the price for all the above is still a reasonable price to pay. The owners are friendly and leave you to it, which is nice as some owners do keep popping round to check up on you so its nice to have a proper break away. I would like to come back to see if any of the suggestions have been done as it would make a better place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2017
Dear Ann, thank you for your comments, and I am glad that you enjoyed it so much that you have re-booked a number of times. I will try to answer the issues which you have raised. Re linen - people who book through the website are quoted a price which includes bedlinen and towels, but many of our private guests prefer to bring their own. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, the iron and ironing board are kept in the living room cupboard, and the hairdryer is in the master bedroom - usually in the walk-in wardrobe. The houses are listed so I'm afraid we are not permitted to adapt the garden to separate the front and back gardens. Since your review, we have had the carpets cleaned, replaced the television, had wifi installed and had more sockets fixed in the living room. It is a traditional cottage, but we have a program of upgrades every year, so hope you will spot all the improvements!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing