We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smartest spot in town?”

Quayside Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 110 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The AA Rosette Quayside Restaurant in Brixham is able to take full advantage of freshly landed fish from the Harbour. This provides our elegant and intimate restaurant with an excellent a la carte menu and a range of fresh daily specials. Open to non-residents, our Brixham restaurant also stocks a good selection of fine wines to compliment your meal.If you’re looking to celebrate an event or occasion, come to Brixham. We can cater for parties and groups either in the Quayside Restaurant or our private dining room called 'The Prince William' room. Please call us to discuss and we’ll be happy to ensure that all of your needs are fully met.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Smartest spot in town?”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent and fairly sensibly priced cooking with friendly staff (though note that the adjoining bar does really good 'bar snacks' from the same chef and kitchen... and in slightly less formal surroundings.)

I always think it a pity that the hotel - split over three buildings - is all painted the same shade, giving a rather monolithic feel in a town where the joy of the landscape is all the different sizes and colours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatherjackmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    41
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fantastic birthday treat”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My family came here for my mum's birthday and it was a memorable and tasty night out.

We had the Grand Plat de Fruits de Mer, which is now in my top 5 meals of all time.

Basically we spent more than an hour eating our own body weight in fresh fish on ice, including succulent lobster, juicy prawns. oysters and fresh crab.

The staff were very friendly and didn't mind that it looked like someone had carried out an autopsy on top of the tablecloths by the time we had finished eating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H0lidayblues82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“1st visit of 2013 a big hit...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was lovely to start off the new year with dinner at The Quayside Restaurant and as usual all was to a high standard. It is good to have a relaxing drink in the lounge and have your order for dinner taken and then when your table is ready be taken through to the restaurant. The fish is always very fresh and a highlight of the menu and so we had Gravlax for starters followed by a main course of Dover Sole and the other fish being Pollock. Excellent. For dessert we had a selection of homemade ice cream and sorbet. The wine list is extensive and we had an Australian Merlot that was full of flavour and we finished off with a cafetiere of coffee. The staff are always very pleasant and knowlegeable and it is good to dine within a hotel as you can use the bar/lounge. As regular diners at the hotel we have their loyalty card. Look forward to eating here again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A class act”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited as a party in the New Year and loved every bit of the reception, food, wine and service. Our only confusion was why this place was so quiet, although time of year is probably to blame!

The local seafood choices are great and the ability to tailor your fish dish exactly how you'd like is fantastic. Little touches such as a choice of tasty breads and nibbles on the table are great and the atmosphere is charming.

A lovely experience in a great restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Comfortable surroundings, fine food & excellent service...”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our latest visit to The Quayside Restaurant was another big success and we tried the gravlax for starter and it was a great choice, good portion size and full of flavour. Having never had Gurnard before we tried that and found it a lovely sweet fish with plenty of body. For dessert we had a selection of homemade ice cream and sorbet and they were delicious. It was a spectacular sight seeing all the lights at the harbour from the restaurant window and it is a good thing to request a window table when booking. We shall be back again soon as this restaurant offers a good menu with plenty of choice and an excellent wine list. Thanks to all the staff for making each visit a memorable time...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quayside Restaurant also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Quayside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing