We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trefoil Guest House
Ranked #7 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Trying to find good accommodation for the Christmas period had seemed a nightmare, but the Trefoil provided the perfect place to stay over the festive period. Pam and Malcolm welcomed us with such warmth and sincerity that we felt immediately at home, going through the check-in procedure in the beautifully furnished lounge. The quality of the bedroom was far beyond any we had experienced before in a B&B: tastefully furnished, beautifullly presented and far better equipped than we could possibly have expected. A flatscreen TV, wireless internet and coffee-making facilities with a huge range of beverage options, not to mention bathrobes, soft towels and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. The thoughtful provision of a breakfast menu for pre-selection not only ensured minimal waste, but also gave a great variety of options from which to choose. And the quality of the breakfast was first class. I cannot recommend highly enough the poached eggs and muffins! More importantly, perhaps, not only was the breakfast of exceptional quality (certainly no cheap water-filled bacon and sausages here!), it was also provided in ample quantities. This really is a guest house where you get value for your money. Perhaps most importantly, Pam and Malcolm really are wonderful hosts - they were exceptionally gracious and accommodating when we misplaced our room key. I cannot recommend the Trefoil highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 5, "Kimberley" is exceptionally quiet at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 312 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

A warm welcome, great room, big hearty breakfasts, and will cook whatever you want, no bother. A lovely couple who couldn't do enough to make sure you have a great stay, would stay here again if ever visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent two nights at the Trefoil in early September and would simply say that this is the best Guest house we have stayed in, anywhere. Having arrived quite late into the evening we received a very warm welcome and were made to feel at home immediately. Pam and Malcolm clearly know what guests look for in such accommodation and have ensured that everything is first class , down to the last detail.

Really comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms and breakfasts are really great , setting you up for the day! Just a lovely experience and we would always choose to come back here if in the area in the future and advise our friends to do the same.

Close to town centre and lovely harbour (10mins walk) from which you can take a ferry ride to Torquay for just £2 !

Well done Pam and Malcolm -- you should , most definitely be rated No.1 in Brixham.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandLesley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is my third stay here in the last 12 months. I live in Australia and stay at Trefoil when I visit my Mum in Brixham. Pam and Malc always offer great accommodation, good food and, more importantly to me, a warm welcome. This is becoming a home from home for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Trefoil guest house was an excellent choice; very comfortable with friendly owners. The fruit at breakfast was really fresh and the full English not only provided a good start to the day, but was extremely generous and very tasty. Very happy to stay there again and happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home by the warm welcome we received from Pam and Malcolm. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were super. We thoroughly recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on toasted muffins. Yummy
Ideally situated about 10 mins walk from Brixham harbour where you can pick up a ferry to Torquay or pleasure boat cruises.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moosepat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Pam and Malcolm are excellent hosts, providing a warm welcome(with tea and bisciuts) and a excellent choice of breakfast(scrambled egg and smoked salmon was a good choice- delicious). The guest house is immaculate, clean and decorated to a high standard,the rooms are to a very high standard, only a 10 minute walk to the town/harbour area.
Would recommend to friends, family,etc and plan to return next year

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.7 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#3 of 26 in Brixham
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Weary Ploughman Inn
The Weary Ploughman Inn
#1 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
185 reviews
0 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#5 of 26 in Brixham
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefoil Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefoil Guest House

Address: 134 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: $91 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trefoil Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trefoil is a modern boutique style 6 bedroom Guest House situated a short walk from the picturesque harbour town of Brixham, located on the English Rivera. Trefoil is tastefully decorated throughout, whilst still retaining its original Edwardian features. All of our rooms are en-suite and we offer a selection of singles, doubles and superior, with a twin option available upon request. All room options include: Flat Screen TV, high speed Wi-Fi, USB charging sockets, complimentary dressing gowns, and luxury toiletries, a selection of tea and coffees and complimentary water. We offer a wide selection of breakfast options, freshly cooked using locally sourced produce where possible. Alternative options are available for those with specific dietary requirements. We have own private parking at Trefoil and ample off road parking is also available. Guest can take advantage of these parking facilities and take a short stroll to discover the bustling port and visit the many independent shops ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trefoil Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trefoil Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing