We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B, perfect location, lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampford Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great B&B, perfect location, lovely stay!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stay in this wonderful bed & breakfast for two nights and it was magic. The view over the harbour from our comfy room was to die for and we got some spectacular photo just from out of the window! The B&B couldn’t be any more central and you can be in an award winning fish & chip shop or swimming in the sea within 2mins walk (my fiancé went swimming in January, not my cup of tea I should add). The coastal walk from Dartmouth to Brixham has some of the most beautiful views I have ever seen and you can call in to the Berry Head hotel just before Brixham town and relax by the fire with a pint. A amazing holiday which I look forward to repeating soon. Also, the owners Matthew and Rosie made us feel so welcome we really didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
403
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is mine and my wifes 4th year in a row at the wonderfully relaxing Sampford house. Math & Rosie’s hospitality is fast becoming one of the primary reasons for returning year on year. We love Brixham harbor with the ideal mix of walks, pubs and a live fishing markets always offering something interesting and fun to do each day.
Sampford House offers a fantastic location with a very clean and cosy B&B with tonnes of character and of course Math & Rosies legendary breakfast and easy going personalities.
The perfect way to start 2014!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Sampford House is a truely wonderful B&B! My wife and I have visited several times in the last few years and, having just enjoyed yet another fantastic weekend at what is becoming our home away from home, we are booked in to stay again for Easter! Situated right on the edge of Brixham's famous harbour, its the perfect location for you to explore all that there is to see and do (if you need convincing, look at the pictures I have taken of the veiw from the doorstep of the Cottage!).

Oh, and I almost forgot... The breakfasts! Wow! Rosie cooks the best English breakfasts you will ever taste, and Matthew's home made Jams are simply divine! Even the yogurt was homeade - I cant think of anywhere else I have ever stayed where you could be better looked after.

So, if you want a clean, freindly and very reasonably priced room in a great location (with what must be the best breakfasts available to man!) then I suggest you look no further and book now!

Room Tip: The Cottage is a great option if you want a little extra space and offers unbeatable veiws of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Nebworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Returned to this lovely guest house whilst visiting our son who is living & working in Devon. We took our other son & his partner along & we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts are amazing & the rooms cosy & comfortable. We were given sound advice on where to eat out in Brixham & had some good meals during our stay.

Room Tip: Great views from room number one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, coldfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have just returned from another fantastic stay at Sampford Guest House. With having a toddler and a dog, both of whom were accommodated superbly, we stayed in the cottage. Having a separate lounge and kitchen area, as well as our own front door was great and meant early hour dog walks or toddler settling could be done without disturbing other guests! The views are incredible, and the breakfasts were so tasty-homemade yoghurt was delicious and our toddler loved the marmite cheese spread from South Africa! Looking forward to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-joSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After a last minute phone call on New Year's Eve hoping to find a pleasant dog-friendly B&B we arrived on 2nd Jan to a warm welcome from Rosie and Matthew. Very friendly people - to our dog and to us! Delicious varied breakfast menu - cooked to perfection! Really comfortable bedroom with brilliant en-suite. Great value for money. Rosie & Matthew went out of their way to advise us on local facilities - and information such as dog walking areas, dog friendly pubs and restaurants etc. was very welcome. Hope to visit again later in the year.
Thanks again from Linda, Doug and Tia Maria!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Yet again another fantastic stay with Matthew and Rosie.
We have just got back from a 2 night stay in the cottage. The cottage is cosy, with it's own lounge and kitchenette. Has a bath and shower. The most comfortable bed and stunning views over the harbour.
Matthew and Rosie are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is always amazing.
We will definitely be back
Thank you for another amazing stay.
Jason and Sarah x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.0 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
529 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View
Harbour View
#12 of 25 in Brixham
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampford Guest House

Property: Sampford Guest House
Address: 57-59 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampford House has wonderful views across the harbour of the historic town of Brixham. The guest has been registered 'Excellent' by Tripadvisor from 2011 to 2016. The guest house has 5 lovely rooms including a separate cottage attached with a separate lounge and king size bed. We also have a lovely suite with Harbour views. There are plenty of beautiful walks and the fishing is good!!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sampford Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing