We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay at devoncourt 20 July till 29th 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devoncourt Holiday Apartments
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recent stay at devoncourt 20 July till 29th 2013”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fantastic amazing views both Malcolm and Ian who run things excellently I may add we had flat no 8 on the ground floor on the front nothing too much trouble very clean and lovely furniture etc we will return hopefully in September good place to eat the prince William near the marina good car very too. First time at devoncourt Malcolm and Ian do a good job running things we came as guests and left as friends views are stunning especially the sunsets at night the best views in Torbay can't wait to go again everything there for you kitchen wise tv and free wifi beds are very comfortable we hired the bedding wich was reasonable need I say more

Room Tip: Any where on the front you are guaranteed a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I really don't want to give an honest review about Devoncourt flats,as I fear that if word gets out about this place, there will never be vacancies again. In truth, these flats quite simply offer the best views that I have ever experienced on holiday in the UK. My husband and I try to Visit here at least once every year; over the years we have stayed in many of the flats, and found that they all share the same view out to sea and I don't think we will ever tire of sitting on the balcony and watching the sun go down and the lights come up over Torbay, it is stunning. Even when pelting with rain, the panoramic window view from every flat is still wonderful.
I would agree that in the past the flats were beginning to look a little tired, however over the past couple of years Robin and his team have been working hard to modernise, improve decor and access to the flats. To be fair, I would not expect a holiday let to satisfy all of my personal tastes - after all, that is what home is for; it is the view and location which brings us back every year. The flats themselves are fine for two people and indeed when our children were young we did on one occaision have five people in the flat, which was 'cosy' but still much larger than a caravan. The flats are double glazed with ample provission of electic heaters, so even in the winter they are warm and comfortable. Electricity is paid by coin meter, which works perfectly well as you only pay for what you use.

The slighly elevated position of the building not only contributes to the stunning views, but also ensures that the frontages are not overlooked by other buildings and are undisturbed by passers by; the flats are private without being isolated.

The car park at the rear of the building is a real bonus; the town of Brixham has grown around a small fishing village, which is quaint and beautiful .... but I haven't seen many other holiday accomodation in the town which is both central with it's own off-road parking. Access to the car park from the road is rather steep, which does not present a problem in a car, but could present a challenge on foot if you are infirm. On the opposite side of the road there is a slip road which slopes down to the beach, marina and breakwater; alternatively there is a small flight of rather steep steps which can also prove challenging. However, this is not an insurmountable difficulty, particularly out of season when one could simply drive down to the harbour car park if the walk is too steep.
In terms of location, the flats are well situated; close enough to the town centre and local attractions so that a fairly unfit middle-aged person like myself can walk virtually everywhere - indeed we have spent a week here before now without having to use the car once. Once down on the harbour carpark there is a lovely walk past the Marina and harbour and into the town; in the other direction one can walk along the Berry Head Road and take in the views - this will eventually take you up to the beautiful country park of Berry Head, which is breath-taking all year round.
If you are looking for a self-catering holiday with a view, then I think that you will struggle to beat these flats.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Justjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We booked our holiday for me, my husband and our two kids and the minute we turned up I was in love with the place. You can sit for hours on the spacious balcony and just watch the sea and the boats go by! The staff were absolutely lovely and they would help us with every question or request. Next year we will definitely book again as the flats were delightful as they have been refurbished and the views are priceless. If you are thinking of booking don't hesitate as we had the best holiday we have had for a long long time!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank XxXloveXxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fantastic place, the best view we have ever had on a holiday in England. Its really difficult to drag yourself away from the full panoramic view of the beach, breakwater, marina and bay. The living room window is about 12 foot wide and the private balcony is the full width of the whole flat. It is comfortable without being too generous in size and all furniture was comfortable (a big flat means a lot more hoovering when you pack up to leave!!). Great value. We chose it because of its location as not only does it have a great view and parking but is a level walk in to town once you have gone down to the Lifeboat station (all rare in Brixham). We had a ground floor flat with our dog. You are still raised up and set back from teh road though and the garden in front is nicely presented. Having the Union Jack flying for the Olympics was a nice touch too. Will definitely stay there again. (I'm almost reluctant to leave such positive feedback as I want to keep this gem for ourselves!!!)

Room Tip: It seems that ground floor flats are for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claymudpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Brixham has always felt like a second home to me. My family would drive us down from the Midlands every year in the quieter off-season months of Sept/Oct. I remember at least one occasion when we stayed at Devoncourt (I was under 10 years old and the family dog was allowed to stay in the flat). I'm 33 now and I think it's been at least 20 years since I have visited Brixham, although I'd been secretly dying to share it with somebody special since the family holidays had sadly ended. I'm pleased to say that only about 30-40% of Brixham has changed overall. :)
The flat I stayed in on the occasion that I am reviewing (June 2012) was just how I remembered them to be, with a beautiful view out over the famous breakwater. Car parking is sufficient for the flats, as long as people park in the assigned spaces considerately. There's a bit of a slope to walk up when you approach the flat on foot, so be prepared to work those calf muscles!
Getting down to the harbour and the breakwater is so easy. Directly opposite the flats, on the other side of the road, are some stone steps that lead you down. For those with mobility issues, if you walk out of the flats and turn left, there's a slope that takes you down there, but just watch out for any cars, as this slope is the main access to this part of the harbour.
The Brixham beach is a pebbly one (no sand). If you are feeling brave enough, you can take the steps at the far end of the beach and make the long walk to the Berryhead Hotel, where I am told they serve lovely food and you can sit outside. (There's another 'stoney' beach along that way that's a perfect spot for rock pooling!)
The Golden Hind ship is still docked in the harbour and that's always worth a look.
The main strip now has modernised shops like Co-Op and Boots. I don't recall anything like this being there over 20 years ago.
All in all, I would say Devoncourt is a perfect base of operations if you intended to explore Torbay. It only took 10 minutes to drive to Goodrington Sands, which is perfect for rock pools, a sandy beach, and it even has a steam engine that passes above you. :)
The only thing I was disappointed about was the lack of Wi-Fi when this was advertised. The groundsman did say that they have problems with it, though. At no time did I pick up a Wi-Fi connection and I tried every room, every day I was there. But who wants to mess around on computers when you have a lovely harbour to walk around? :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinhooker, Owner at Devoncourt Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We appologise that our free wifi was faulty. We were let down by talktalk. We are in the process of installing bt wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

we have been going to devon court for over 10yrs.Good value holiday flats all with balcony and the best views over the bay and breakwater. The team are helpful and friendly and have been working hard on the refurbishments. 'Our' flat had been refurbished and was excellent, the larger bedrooms were alot better. already booked for next year and hopefully for years to come.Other than that julieandalan's review says it all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldngold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Devon Court is like home from home, have stayed many many times over the years, the flats are simple, not large or luxurious, but warm and comfortable, and in about the best position in Brixham overlooking the bay, which is their major plus point! There is a lot of work going on at present to refurbish them, which will be a great benefit. The team who work at Devon Court are like friends to regular visitors, always cheerful and willing to help. The views really are to die for, you can sit for hours on your private balcony, or inside on a colder day, gazing at the view, summer/winter its always a great place to be. Private parking is a great bonus as there is very little in Brixham and lot of holiday properties don't have parking attached - just park your car and leave it there, its an easy walk into the centre of Brixham where there are plenty of pubs/restaurants available, walk out to the lighthouse, we do this almost daily when we are down there, or go right to Berry Head and walk up over the cliffs. We have many happy memories of visits to Devon Court and Brixham, and many more still to be made!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.5 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View
Harbour View
#13 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoalstone Hotel
Shoalstone Hotel
#18 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncourt Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncourt Holiday Apartments

Property: Devoncourt Holiday Apartments
Address: Devoncourt Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A amazing sea views, and beach views opposite, only 50M away. You can hear the sea on your balcony. Purpose built block of 20 private self catering apartments, in a quiet seaside location.Swimming on the beach opposite or in the nearby sea pool.Town centre shops and restaurants only ten minutes walk. Private balcony and lounge, overlooking Torbay, Brixham Marina, Torbay Lifeboat, and out into the English Channel. Fully equipped self catering apartment with full cooker, flat screen TV. Free wifi. Free private car park. Open all year, children welcome. No dogs Credit cards accepted.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Devoncourt Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devoncourt Holiday Flats Hotel Brixham
Devoncourt Holiday Flats Brixham
Devoncourt Holiday Apartments Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing