We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookside Guest House
Ranked #8 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in August with Tess and John who were very welcoming friendly hosts.
Our stay began with a welcome cup of tea and cake in the garden, a lovely touch. Our room was beautiful, so much attention and care had gone into the decor it was spotlessly clean and the rest of the house was to the same standard. It is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.
Brookside is in a good position on the edge of town with only a 10 minute walk to the harbour and the bus stop is very close. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't move it again until we left. Breakfast was great with so much choice, think you could stay for 2 weeks and not have the same thing twice and Tess and John use local produce whenever possible.
If we visit Brixham again we would not look for anywhere else, so lucky to have found Brookside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerbreak167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
227
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We recently spent one night in Brixham whilst on holiday in south Devon and we certainly struck gold when we booked in for the night at the Brookside Guest House with Tess and John who are genuine, friendly and always on hand to help.

We stayed in the Premier suite and it was definitely worth it. The room was spacious and the separate living area was nice to relax in and watch tv or read a book. The bed was extremely comfortable and also has a separate DVD player/tv next to the bed for late night films etc.

They say you can tell how good your stay is by the standard of the breakfast and believe me you will not be disappointed! The range of options for what you can order for breakfast is amazing and as you ordered this the night before it was almost ready for you when you go down for breakfast. I am not sure how to exactly describe the breakfast but perfect would be one of the words I could use.

Overall John and Tess are the perfect hosts and take lots of pride in the service they provide to their guests and when we next stay in Brixham again we wont need to look anywhere else but the Brookside!!!

Room Tip: I would definitley recommend booking the Premier suite as it is definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for a week in August in the Premier suite, it was lovely.
The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable with crisp white sheets.
There were lovely fluffy white towels and bath robes in the room.
Breakfast was amazing, I have never had so much choice, lots of fresh fruit to choose from or cereal and yogurt, then a vast array of cooked food, I don't think I had the same thing twice!
The hosts were really friendly and made us, and the other guests feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great welcome from a very friendly genuine couple. The room ( junior suite ) was clean, very modern and well equiped with everything that we needed plus much more.
Breakfast was outstanding, catered for every taste and the service was great.
Would recommend to anyone who is travelling to Brixham it is truly a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at the 'Brookside' where we received a very warm welcome which included a lovely cup of an cake. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and the attention to detail was wonderful. There was a large selection for breakfast which a five star hotel would find difficult to beat. I would recommend this B & B for it's outstanding quality and warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just enjoyed a two night stay at this fantastic B&B. Hosts were friendly and accommodating, great location to walk in to Brixham. Bathroom was a bit small but doesn't detract from everything else. Oh, and as everyone else has mentioned, the breakfasts are superb.... not to be missed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

An absolutely fantastic B&B - John and Tess are incredible hosts! They are genuine and caring hosts (they checked up on us during our drive from London to Devon to make sure we were ok along our 7 hour drive, and gave us traffic updates). When we arrived at the B&B we were greeted with tea and cake to help us unwind from our long trip. Our junior suite room design and decor was very luxurious, the colours and textures chosen worked very well, and the bed super comfortable. The room cost was worth the quality we received! The breakfast options are top notch, with many options, it was devine to have so many choices esp as we were staying for 4 nights, great to be able to have diff choice everyday! What we enjoyed the most was John and Tess' breakfast chats with us, we felt so welcomed and their stories are super entertaining! Great start to our mornings. John also provides great tips on places to visit in South Devon, wealth of knowledge. I would definitely stay at their B&B on my next visit to South Devon and highly recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fair Winds Guest House
Fair Winds Guest House
#6 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Guest House

Property: Brookside Guest House
Address: 160 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside Guest House Bed & Breakfast in Brixham is a contemporary, stylish boutique guest house with elegantly appointed luxury rooms and Premier Suite. We have been awarded the enjoyEngland Quality Standard 5 Stars & Gold Award, making us the highest rated Bed & Breakfast in Brixham. Additionally we have been awarded the new enjoyEngland breakfast award which recognises the outstanding high quality breakfast we offer. New for 2015 massage & Reike treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brookside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Guest House Hotel Brixham
Brookside Guest House Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing