We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff but the rooms...!”
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff but the rooms...!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We did this as part of a deal. Staff are very friendly if not a little over the top in some instances and the location is good although for those with mobility problems it should be pointed out that it is on a steep hill and the car park is quite a way away. We all agreed that the food was of a very good standard and we enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. But the rooms...oh the rooms ! The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but the bathroom, or should I say shower cubicle, was ridiculously small and dated. Our biggest gripe was the noise and the draught coming from the really old windows which could not and would not be closed properly. Having paid a premium for a better room with a sea view we were a little cheesed off to say the least. Unfortunately we stayed on the night of the really bad weather in the south and we had great difficulty sleeping through a constant buffeting of heavy wind with the all inclusive blasts of icy gusts blowing through the room. Sadly, the person taking our money was more interested in putting in a performance of over bearing efficiency that she ignored the basics and at no stage did she express any interest in us, just our money when we were checking out. In our opinion this hotel has so nearly got it right and with a little more investment (like replacing 50+ year old windows) would be a good place to stay.

Room Tip: One with double glazing !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    219
    69
    27
    12
See reviews for
47
357
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and two daughters to celebrate 18th birthday. We had four poster bed with small balcony overlooking the harbour (no 15) and wow what a fantastic view. Room was spacious if a bit dated, but all part of the character of the hotel and was very clean (Although I did notice that some of the corridors around the hotel were not so clean), Did lack in storage space though (no bedside drawers, just tables). Also as someone previously mentioned, coffee & tea tray was a bit sparce. I know it is a matter of taste,but I wouldn't bother with a four poster again, it made room feel a bit claustrophobic, but without a doubt would stay in a sea view room. People above us were very noisy, seemed to spend a lot of time pacing around the room, not the hotels fault, but I would stay on the top floor next time.

Our daughters had a twin room (no 1) which was a bit unusual and had patio doors opening onto a strange courtyard surrounded in frosted windows. Said they were very hot at night as didn't want to open the doors (no other windows). Quirky, but not the best. They are never normally bothered about sea views, but on this occasion would really have appreciated one.

The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced (especially if you are a fish lover like us) and we would have been happy to eat there again on our second night, but there are so many other places to try. The set menu was included but we paid another £ 10 per head to upgrade to anything one the menu. One thing to note is that I don't think the set menu changes, it stayed the same whist we were there and does not give much choice so you would probably have to upgrade if you have dinner there more than once. I might be wrong about this, but that is the menu that was displayed in reception from the Friday to the Sunday.

Breakfast was generous and very tasty. Especially liked the apricots in cinnamon. Service was good at all times both in restaurant and very friendly at reception.

We really enjoyed our break and when we come back to Brixham (and we will) will definitely stay at the Quayside Hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaChella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Satyed here on a TravelZoo two night break, with dinner on first night and what an experience, we have to say. Some reviews talk about "dated" rooms/decor, put this in context, its an old hotel, fashioned from a number of individual and small cottages, conjoined to make a hotel/pub complex, so expect sloping floors and odd landings all part of the charm and quirkiness, in our opinion, at least. On the rooms, yes, small, but remember the heritage, it's not a modern purpose build hotel, it quaint and overlooking the harbour (15m away!!) , it's that vision you need to embrace. The decor is "dated" but its well decorated and very clean, no scuff marks or peeling wallpaper, just may not be to your particular taste. but the view out of the (sea view) windows is a sight to behold, along with the sound of the waves and sea birds, not easy to bottle that in a modern concrete block 10 miles inland.

Food and ambience, couldn't fault it, what a choice of fresh fish dishes straight off the quayside, along with a decent range of meat dishes if thats what you wanted, not vegetarians so not sure what the other options are. Lovely little side rooms and bars, very friendly staff and a range of board games in the lounge overlooking the harbour, great to wind down after a full meal, nice flame effect fire, shame its gas not a log burner, the lights and reflections of the town in the water and the rain lashing at the windows, a most enjoyable experience and one we would/will repeat again.

Room Tip: get a sea view room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Location perfect, room comfortable and view from window amazing across the harbour and out to sea. The staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast perfectly cooked and plentiful. Evening meal was high quality and with plenty of choice. We stayed two nights on a Travelzoo deal and the evening meal was included the first night. We struggled to decide whether to eat there the following night as it was so good but did decide to eat out eventually. If we had stayed for a further night we would definitely have eaten at hotel again.
One minor point, the stairs to rooms are quite steep so probably should have taken less luggage!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliveturnip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed overnight as part of a deal and we were delighted with the value for money.

Having read other reviews, we would agree that the rooms are rather dated but they were spotlessly clean and more than adequate for our purposes.

The staff were all extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The dining experience was exceptional and deserves special mention. We were a party of four and each meal was beautifully presented - and delicious (we tried each other's dishes!). In fact, it was one of the best dinners we have ever had and worth special mention.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we shall certainly be planning another visit there as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the harbour - well worth the surcharge. The traffic noise was not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougieFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed overnight Feb 9th and was very disappointed with the quality of cooking. Ordered from the fish options and when I asked for the fillet to be grilled was told 'the chef decides how the fish is cooked'. It arrived swimming in greasy oil. The vegetable portions were meagre and also swimming in oil. Another of our party ordered the Mushroom Risotto and although quite tasty was again swimming in oil. Breakfast was no better,there was no specific vegetarian breakfast and I was just asked to tell the waitress what I didn't want on the plate from the 'full english breakfast'. I expected my 'veggie' option would be topped up by extra mushrooms, tomatoes and/or beans to compensate but nope I was just given half a portion of the 'full english' without the meat. On a good note our room although a bit tired had a view over the harbour, the ned was really comfy and the pillows superb ! The staff were friendly and the resturant lovely (shame about the cook).

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Quay Side
We usually go to Brixham at least once a year for a holiday and always stay in the same guest house. This February we had to go to Brixham on business but unfortunately our usual place was closed for the season, so we booked into a nearby hote, The Quaysidel. Reception was genuinely friendly and immediately there was a feeling of comfort. We were shown up to our room, which, ironically, had a large picture of Venice on the wall. Although it was February and we could not use it there was a patio for our use. Out room, which did not have a harbour view was comfortable and suited us perfectly.
I would guess that the hotel has taken over about three buildings over the years and the result is a little rambling, which adds to the comfortable feeling. Sometimes this rambling nature can be a little confusing, as the first time that I left the room I opened a door and found myself in a cupboard full of CO2 cylinders.
Breakfast is taken in the hotel restaurant which is a lovely large and elegant room. Once again the staff were friendly and witty; the breakfast menu itself extensive. We had poached haddock with poached eggs. Even though I am not usually a breakfast person, I could have eaten it all again. Breakfast was made special by looking out over the lovely Brixham harbour. The hotel has a large bar that, given the number of people in there, must have been very popular; however we didn’t use it so I am unable to say whether or not it served real ale.
Perhaps some night say that the rooms were a little tired though others might relish the heavy curtains and pelmets and what seemed to us an air of comfort. As for us, we had no complaints.
The Quayside Hotel is a place with personality and easy charm. We would not hesitate to recommend it and it would be our first choice again were our usual place to be full or closed. However if we had stayed here first we would have found it quite delightful and become our preferred option. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absalomLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
701 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Property: Quayside Hotel
Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing