We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Find !”
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quayside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very welcoming hotel with friendly staff and proves that if the staff are happy in their work they give excellent service. Location was wonderful and upgrading to a view over the quay certainly added to our stay. the food was very good and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Oldy worldy, clean, very quiet and peaceful. Brixham itself is a delight. Well done Travel zoo

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 600 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a wonderful night at this lovely hotel. It was an exceptional deal thru Travelzoo. Clean and comfortable room with a great view. The evening meal was excellent with a great choice of local fish and seafood. The drink in the little bar where we were taken to order was really neat.
The staff were excellent and very accommodating. The only drawback that we would mention is the fact that their car park is approximately 300 yards from the hotel but we were able to drop the luggage off at the hotel entrance. Car parking nearer the hotel is not an option because of the beautiful location of the hotel. We are mentioning this only because in wet and windy weather which we experienced you will need a raincoat.

Room Tip: Harbour view room is lovely and is well worth paying the surcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

my wife and I wanted a weekend break before xmas, and saw this on travelzoo, how lucky were we,this was one of those things that come along very rarely, lovely weather, lovely setting and most of all a lovely hotel, everything was right, from all of the staff, to the delicious food and wine, nothing was a problem, we were made to feel special, the hotel, although dated, was scrupulously clean, and very comfortable. the restaurant was well set out and had great views of brixham harbour, to sum up, the whole experience was unforgettable and we will visit again sooner, rather than later,

Room Tip: I can only describe the room which we occupied, it was a non seaview room, good size, comfortable be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrick&pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed one night as a birthday suprise to me from my wife, could not fault it, we were in room five overlooking the harbour, not a big room but very clean and tidy with a good sized en-suite
.
The food was very good, the evening meal included in our package had a great choice, especially of fresh fish that varies daily dependent on what has been landed on the quay, all cooked to perfection.
The breakfast had a huge choice and had quality ingredients...no catering bacon or sausage!!
Ota the manager was very helpful and made us feel very welcome.

We booked via travelzoo and for £99 all in (including hotel parking) for the two of us was incredible value.

Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Brixham to come here

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Lovely room overlooking the harbour, very comfy bed. Food excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Car park arrangement was such a relief as it can take the edge off a holiday if no parking is provided.
Will return again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay at the quayside and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff, Food, accommodation, location and value for money were excellent. We strongly recommend it and will return with friends another time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pete_cantwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Took advantage of a travel Zoo half price offer and stayed for two nights; one of which included dinner.
Our room was warm and clean and overlooked the harbour. The furnishings were dated, but were in character with the building.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful; we both had the smoker haddock with poached eggs on one day and the full 'English' on the other.
Dinner was very nice, more so as it was included in the price. The only thing that blighted it was an 'altercation' (that started in the bar, went on all night and even at breakfast the following day) between the head waiter and a couple; she wanted her fish grilled and he refused, saying that customers could not choose, chef knew best!
I did write this up on the feedback form and suggested that the waiter should be encouraged to activley listen and not enforce his "I know best" condesending manner to guests.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jef888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quaysidehotel, Manager at Quayside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are sorry that your evening was “blighted”. The discussion you overheard resulted from a misunderstanding and was resolved amicably between the Head waiter and the guests.

Guests can choose how they wish their fish to be cooked and the Head Waiter and Chef actively promote this choice.

Nevertheless, we do sincerely apologise for the “altercation” and assure you that our staff do try to make every guest feel welcome and special.


Manager Quayside Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
799 reviews
4.3 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
323 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Rosslyn Hotel
Rosslyn Hotel
#12 of 17 in Paignton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Address: 49 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing