We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage sits above the harbour and town on a quiet street.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage sits above the harbour and town on a quiet street.
The terrace is walled, sheltered and private - perfect for a summer evening barbecue The original arched alcoves and windows give the sitting room a light and airy feel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Rose Cottage sits above the harbour and town on a quiet street.
The terrace is walled, sheltered and private - perfect for a summer evening barbecue
The original arched alcoves and windows give the sitting room a light and airy feel
Original art and original features in the sitting room
The kitchen has lots of equipment and a dishwasher, ceramic hob, etc
Great for cooking the fresh fish landed each day in Brixham
The dining table is hand made and quirky.......
a real conversation piece!
Upstairs are three bedrooms.........
original arched windows give the bedrooms plenty of light
The mattresses are all very comfortable and bed linen is provided along with towels
The loft bedroom has an en suite bathroom and is spacious and comfortable
The family bathroom has a bath with shower over
Rose Cottage furnishings are sumptuous and comfortable
The loft bathroom with bath and hair washing attachment
The patio, with steps leading to the terrace
Brixham Marina from Furzeham Green, close to Rose Cottage
Fishcombe Cove, a dog friendly beach at Brixham within walking distance of Rose Cottage
Berry Head at Brixham
Sid, the resident seal, in Brixham Harbour
A dolphin in the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stanton41...
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location.............suitable cottage for dog owners..........”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 4th year holidaying in Brixham and our first time at Rose Cottage. We know the area extremely well and we were very pleased with the location. Plenty of room to park and we managed to get a space opposite the cottage, we only used the car one day to visit Dartmouth and managed to get the same space when arriving back. Loads of off road parking though if no direct spaces to be found. A great walk one way to a beautiful park that over looks the harbour - fantastic for dog walking early morning or late at night. If you walk the other way and down 'higher steps' if takes 10 minutes to the main shopping area, harbour and pubs etc. However, the walk up and down to most properties not just this one is not suitable for everyone as it consists of steps and steep hills. The cottage itself was very doggy friendly, great gate on the stairs to keep him downstairs. He loved sitting in the sun in the large lounge bay window and watching everyone. The sofa in the lounge is very worn and the decor tired. The little patio area was disappointing as very very small and could have done with s sweep and a tidy up. The downstairs is a good space, the floors however, especially in the dinning area and hall were extremely dirty not sure when they last saw a mop!!! The kitchen was clean and tidy but again could have done with a thorough clean as a little sticky in places !! but very well equipped. The middle floor has two large double bedrooms and a family bathroom all very clean and both the children said the beds were comfy. The top floor has a large double room with ensuite, again all very clean and tidy. The only one fault in the bedrooms were the rugs - in all the bedrooms there was a very worn stained rug - which I hope had been washed but really could do with replacing.

This cottage is perfect for dog owners and for accessing all that beautiful Brixham has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The dirty floors
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Rose Cottage and we are delighted that you found it a good base for exploring the town and surrounding areas.
We welcome dogs at Rose Cottage and, as with most cottages in the old part of Brixham, even though the outside space is not very large, are confident that it is a very safe place for dogs - it is walled on all sides and very private. It is also a sun trap in the afternoon for guests to enjoy and has plenty of seating for all. We love having a barbecue when we have the chance to visit!
Thank you for pointing out that the rugs need replacing...This has been done and your other points have been noted and addressed.
Tabitha (uniqueholidays4u co-ordinator)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth d
2 reviews
“perfect”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

rose cottage wa perfect, myself wife and big dog headed to to brixham for a week long holiday.the cottage was spotless and they even left a great cake for us to get stuck into after our 9 hr drive. the rooms were stunning, clean,tidy and well equiped. the location itself couldnt have been more ideal, nestled just far back from the busy harbour front but close to easy dog walking spots , battery park being a short walk from the house. parking was a pain but the owners gave us plenty of options to park near the house for free. we couldnt have asked for a better base, and we will be using tabatha and her family again on their other rentals we seen, if they are to the same standard as rose cottage then we wont be dissapointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character of the house
Liked least: the seaguls
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage for us - we are always very grateful for your comments.
Our house keeper loves Rose Cottage and makes sure that it is a welcoming and relaxing home from home with a lovely welcome pack for our guests.
I'm glad you found everything to your satisfaction and we would welcome you back any time..
Thank you again
Tabitha
(uniqueholidays4u co-ordinator)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebekahsl...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just spent Whit Week at Rose Cottage with my family, from the moment we walked in, all the tiredness of our long journey just melted away. The Cottage was cosy and very clean and welcoming. The bedrooms were spacious with plenty of storage space and comfortable beds. There was plenty of information about the Cottage in the folder that was supplied and also lots of leaflets about where to visit and eat.
It was a lovely Cottage to spend our holiday and the benefits of not having to take bed linen, towels or even dog bowls was an added bonus. If you're looking for somewhere to totally relax and don't mind walking up a steep hill then Rose Cottage is definitely worth visiting.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage and I have passed your comments to our housekeeper, Lisa, - she does a marvellous job keeping the cottage to a high standard. We would be delighted to have you back to stay any time.
Tabitha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage and I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday so much. The cottage is, as you say, within walking distance of the harbour, restaurants, shops and pubs, but on a fairly quiet street so is away from the hustle and bustle when you want some peace and relaxation!
We would be delighted to welcome you back any time,
Tabitha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BristolJu...
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this delightful cottage over Easter weekend. We arrived to find a freshly cleaned cottage smelling fragrant and clean. There was milk in the fridge and a cake waiting. Everything was provided from loo roll to washing up liquid. The rooms are lovely and there is absolutely everything you could need - like home from home. The beds were divine, comfy and smelt gorgeous!! All bedrooms were well equipped. The lovely little courtyard garden was a real sun trap and great for breakfast. Opposite was a great real ale pub which sadly did not take dogs so we took shifts! We parked a little way up the hill but it was not problem. Once parked you do not have to move the car. We took the boat to Torquay for only £2 return and walked miles. Amazing fish and chips from Simply Fish!! They even did take away Moules!
A bit of a hill up from the town but that's Brixham.
A beautiful very well equipped cottage. The owners could not do enough to make sure we had a great stay. Even though we did not meet them they were wonderful hosts. Thank you for a really lovely weekend - it was just what we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The sofa.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Rose Cottage and we are delighted you had such a great time....Brixham is a fabulous holiday destination with all the restaurants, pubs, beaches and shops a short walk from Rose Cottage. We would be delighted to welcome you back at any time,
Tabitha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHobson
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful and character filled cottage. Just about everything you could possibly need, a real home from home.
Comfy beds, fresh sheets, clean towels and even a scrummy chocolate cake on our arrival.
Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Rose Cottage. Lisa, our wonderful housekeeper, does a fine job and cares for the cottage as if it is her own!
We hope you choose us for your holidays again, we would be delighted to have you and thank you for taking the time to review us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway84
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Half term holiday fun”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A great cottage over 3 levels that is comfortable, well equipped and in a great position (but you need to enjoy walking uphill!) The kitchen is filled to the brim with everything you need for mealtimes and the house is great for kids or dogs....no carpets downstairs so spills are easy to mop up! Great location with a super pub 10 seconds from the door, a play park and dog walking park within 5 mins.. One small criticism... the local area can be noisy at night (as we were perhaps very unlucky) something or someone woke us every night in the early hours. Great place to stay nonetheless with a huge variety of restaurants, cafes and pubs within 10-15 mins walk. A super holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and facilities
Liked least: Doggie smell
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing