We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Brixham Fish!”
Review of The Vigilance

The Vigilance
Ranked #27 of 105 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Brixham Fish!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We all know pretty much what to expect when we visit a Wetherspoons but it would now seem there has been a loosening of the reigns somewhat by giving individual pub managers some autonomy in allowing them to source produce local to their area.
This has been put to very good use by the efforts of manager Billy in the Brixham Vigilance, which has resulted in the appearance on their menu each Friday of locally landed fresh fish delivered on the day from the world famous Brixham fish market.
My partner and I are regulars in the Vigilance and have had the ‘Catch of the Day’ on three occasions now. As the name suggests, the type of fish varies and thus far we have had plaice, hake and haddock and, well, you just cannot beat freshly cooked fish that has been caught that day and each time we had had this meal the fish has been absolutely delicious. Just cannot fault it.
The Vigilance is a well run pub and I can’t leave a comment about it without mentioning the staff. As at all Wetherspoons pubs they have to work hard, non stop sometimes, and, of course, they have to put up with all sorts of problems from all sorts of customers including those annoyingly impatient ones who always want to be served at once (like me) yet I have never known any of the staff at The Vig. (as it is known locally) to be anything but polite and professional. I take my hat off to them, for I’m sure if I ever found myself working behind that bar I would soon be pulling out what bit of hair I have left. They all deserve a very big pay rise!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phildawn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    102
    33
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sustainable and delicious!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I think I may have reviewed The Vigilance in Brixham before, but no matter: this review deals with a specific aspect of their food menu.
Brixham is still a working port with a thriving fish market and one or two very up-market fish restaurants (with prices to match).However, if you want to enjoy locally caught fish, reasonably priced and well-presented, I highly recommend “Friday’s Catch of the Day” at this Weatherspoons pub.
The fish is so fresh that it isn’t even advertised until the day of serving. It changes by the week: last Friday it was haddock, next week it will be something different. We even learn the name and number of the trawler which caught it, in Friday’s case BM 55 Angel Emile: the BM prefix tells you that the boat is registered in Brixham.
So, for £4.99 you get fish, chips, mushy peas and a soft drink. £5.99 upgrades you to a pint. However, the portions are huge: my wife and I ordered one between us, and the very friendly and helpful waitress was happy to bring us an additional plate and cutlery.
When it arrived, the plate was well-presented, but more important it was delicious: crisp, non-greasy batter, delicate, beautifully-cooked fish and fat tasty chips. We enjoyed it so much that we’re going again next week!
So there you are: local, sustainable, reasonably-priced, delicious. What’s not to like. An up-market restaurant next to the fish market has an almost identical meal for twice the price. I know which one I’d choose.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank absalomLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice pub and great food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Plenty of beers/ciders on offer at very reasonable prices. Also great food and very quick service. The only downside is hat he regulars could make you feel slightly uncomfortable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big_Stu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Vigilance”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Made a few visits to The Vigilance whilst staying in Brixham. Can be very busy but food always good and drinks cheaper than anywhere else. Will be going back for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the very best Wetherspoons we have been to”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in Brixham for a week and visited several times. Whether it was a breakfast, lunch or evening the service was great and the food arrived promptly and was properly cooked. Unlike many other Wetherspoons all across the country, this one had excellent staff who always seemed to be on the ball and quickly cleared tables and served you without long waits even at very busy times. Staff all seemed friendly and there was an excellent choice of real ales. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vigilance also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Vigilance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing