We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

Verna's Pepper Shack
Ranked #3 of 104 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Brixham's harbour-side restaurant offers Trinidadian Verna's native Caribbean cuisine alongside great local ribs & home-made steak burgers, local seafood and fun desserts. Carnival favourites Goat Curry, Saltfish & Ackee and Jerk Chicken take pride of place among a number of home-grown recipes - Trinidad Chicken & King Prawn Curry, Pineapple Pork, Legendary Lamb Shank and Shack Scallop & Monkfish Curry. Jerk Pork Skewers, Seafood Tart and San Fernando Spicy Prawns appear amongst the starters along with Patties, Monkfish Goujons, Home-made Samosas and Scallops & Hogs. We use local fish in a number of seafood dishes including Fish Bites and battered Catch-of-the-Day. Vegetarians are offered Pumpkin Patties and Goat Cheese Samosas among the starters, followed by Sweet Potato & Black Bean Curry, Chilli sin Carne and even Jamaican Jerk Tofu. Home-made Chocolate Gateau, Banana Cake, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Banoffee Pie, Morgan-spiced Rum Panacotta are complemented by Ice Cream, Sorbets and Fresh Pineapple. For children, there are home-made Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti Bolognese and more Ice Cream. Pepper Shack is fully licensed until midnight with Red Stripe, Peroni, local Dartmoor and Bays ales, Healey's Cornish Ciders, wines from around the world and a wide range of rums among the spirits. We also offer an extensive Cocktail Menu and even some Ice Cream Liquour Cocktails
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Popped in for lunch today with my Mum. Monkfish & scallop curry was just superb! 2nd visit here, both times so good have booked a table for when my Uncle comes over from the States next month!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dizzidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    76
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
brixham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Being local i thought i would support a local business.After waiting quite a while my "8oz" steak turned out to be about 3 or 4.The chips were hard and undercooked.They gave me half my money back for my meal but all i wanted was some decent food.Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Here we go then:

- You said ... You waited ages for your food
- We say ... Sorry, I'll admit that sometimes there can be a bottleneck when a number of tables arrive together. We do our best but we do ask for a little patience and understanding at times

- You said ... Your steak was somewhere around half the advertised weight
- We say ... All steaks are delivered to specification by our butcher. It might lose a little in cooking but to the extent you claim ... never and even then I can assure you we would notice ... even when we're busy
- And also ... Why on earth did you eat it all and not complain until the end when you have destroyed the evidence? It doesn't sound like you are too shy but the menu does ask that any issues be mentioned straight away ... so that we can fix them.

- You said ... Your chips were hard and undercooked
- We say ... Why on earth did you eat them all and not complain until the end when you have destroyed the evidence? (Sounds familiar)
- And also ... et cetera

I'm always suspicious of this kind of behaviour. You keep quiet , eat it all, make claims that can no longer be substantiated and then it all kicks off.

You say ... Never again
We say ... Promise?

(I just knew out 100th review would be one of those)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wow what a wonderful place. Lovely to find somewhere different in Brixham. We had Lamb Shank with Rice and Peas and Chicken and Prawn Curry both home cooked and divine. Verna even made me a rum punch which was sublime. We will definitely be returning many times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not as we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thought that as the restraunt sold carabian food it would have a carabian theme to the décor,not so it was like eating in a rugby club with all the rugby themed items .I could live with this if the food had been special but my wife and i found it be quite average, no wow factor sort of food you could cook at home The staff where pleasant enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robo0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit but we're certainly better than the vast majority of rugby clubs that I've eaten in. We've just got in some mini figures sitting under palm trees - just too late to enhance your trip. You would have enjoyed one on your table to take your mind off the rugby shirts.

I'm guessing from your spelling that you might not be a great expert in anything Caribbean. All the same, it is isn't a pre-requisite and most people enjoy Verna's home cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Goat curry a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Brilliant. Great host. Fantastic food.We stayed in Brixham for 2 nights. Our B&B recommended we try the food here which we did on the first night......then loved it so much we returned on our second night.
Thanks x

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahjay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks very much and especially for a second visit so quickly.

Curry goat, along with jerk chicken - the carnival favourites - continues to be a best seller. Thanks for the "Thumbs Up"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verna's Pepper Shack also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Verna's Pepper Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing