We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but also disappointing”
Review of Pepper Shack

Pepper Shack
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Brixham's harbour-side restaurant offers Trinidadian Verna's native Caribbean cuisine alongside great local ribs & home-made steak burgers, local seafood and fun desserts. Carnival favourites Goat Curry, Saltfish & Ackee and Jerk Chicken take pride of place among a number of home-grown recipes - Trinidad Chicken & King Prawn Curry, Pineapple Pork, Legendary Lamb Shank and local Scallop & Ling Curry. Jerk Pork Skewers, Seafood Tart and San Fernando Spicy Prawns appear amongst the starters along with Patties, Gurnard Goujons, Home-made Samosas and Scallops & Hogs. We use local fish in a number of seafood dishes including Fish Bites and a number of curries. Vegetarians are offered Pumpkin Patties and Goat Cheese Samosas among the starters, followed by Sweet Potato & Black Bean Curry, Chilli sin Carne and even Jamaican Jerk Tofu among the Vegan options. A good part of the menu is Gluten-free as indicated in the online menu. Home-made Banana Cake, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Banoffee Pie, Morgan-spiced Rum Panacotta are complemented by Ice Cream, Sorbets, Pineapple Sundae and our own Rum Baba. For children, there are home-made Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti Bolognese and more Ice Cream. Pepper Shack is fully licensed until midnight with Red Stripe, Sol, Peroni, local Dartmoor ales, Healey's Cornish Ciders, wines from around the world and a wide range of rums among the spirits. We also offer an extensive Cocktail Menu and even Ice Cream Liqueur Cocktails
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We'd read good reviews here but were disappointed with the food. On the plus side, the lady serving was very helpful throughout and the local bottled beers were pleasant. But after ordering prawn starters, we were told they'd run out of the coriander and gooseberry chutney, then the "Buss up shut" bread that was supposed to come with it was missing - unfortunately we didn't realise till after the main course, when they brought us a portion so we could see what we'd missed. The goat curry (rather salty) turned out to be on the bone, which was fine except for the small and very sharp bone fragments mixed among the meat which were hard to avoid. Jerk chicken and rice were good. Great views of the harbour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Not all bad then!

The goat actually has quite low salt content but sometimes the spice mix that we used can be mistaken for saltiness. Rest assured that your blood pressure should be OK. The goat is noted on the menu as 'on the bone' as some people don't like it but it helps keep the meat together and certainly adds to the flavour. Apologies for the fragments - I'd imagine they came free during cooking.

I think you will find that most restaurants run short of the odd item here and there. It does happen but this time we hadn't run out of Chutney at all - simply misplaced. We do have several alternatives, of course.

It sounds like we would have done better to shut up about the Buss-Up-Shut, hoho ... but we like to keep honest if we realise we've made a mistake ... and rest assured there will always be the occasional mistake. Most people don't stress too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
There are newer reviews for Pepper Shack
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 422 of 512 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are spoilt for choice in Brixham when it comes to eating out. Verna's Pepper Shack opened a while ago but this was our first visit, lovely setting, really good views, friendly staff and a fantastic choice of food to suit all tastes. We were with friends and all of us can’t wait to return. The food was outstanding and very good value for money. I have been to most of the restaurants in Brixham and this one rates as good as the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CSHELLBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We decided to come here as a change from a seafood restaurant as we had been in Brixham all week. I had the jerk chicken which was excellent and my parents had the lamb shank which they thoroughly enjoyed.
We had a window seat with views of the harbour and washed our food down with some Caribbean lager.
Would recommend this place to everyone!
Pete, Brighton.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

we wanted a nice fish restaurant and as it was a Sunday most were closed. I checked trip advisor and found Verna's so we thought give it ago. When we first went in I wasn't thinking we would have a good time or meal as it was more like a cafe than the restaurant we usually go in.
How wrong was I, the waitress Michelle was one of the nicest,genuine people I have met.
As it wasn't a fish restaurant I went for the Goat Curry, what a fantastic dish that was.
I cannot praise this place highly enough for the service and food, it is not all fancy shop-fit and marbled toilets etc, but it would be my first choice anyday, cant wait for next visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 186377Garyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your enthusiastic review.

Our aim has always been to put the emphasis where it counts ... good food and a warm welcome ... keeping it real, haha.

As you say, we're not a fish restaurant but we do offer excellent local fish as a Brixham alternative - straight from the Quay. We also feature local scallop and monkfish on the main spicy menu.

All the same, it's always nice when someone tries out the goat or mutton and gives us a glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

four of us went for dinner we were served very quickly food was amazing only problem i had was the table beside us who were very loud infact so loud we couldnt carry a conversation until they left three of us managed to eat three courses steaks cooked to perfection the jerk chicken was to die for and puddings very good and presented lovely staff very attentive will be going again very soon thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janisd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Pepper Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

As ever, thanks for your support.

We're quite proud of our steaks which we offer as an alternative (along with local fish) to the main Spicy menu. There is often someone in a group who can't or won't eat spices. Then again, we get quite a few coming specifically for the steak.

Sorry about the noise from the next table - happily it isn't too often. As they say, it's nice when it stops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Shack also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Pepper Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing