We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply the most amazing site iv ever stayed on”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillhead Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely smashing site beautiful views i was gob smacked when i first drove down to my pitch and saw the view! lovely staff quality toilet/shower block nice pool park dog area shop and restaurant. really nice location plenty to do in the local area... Will defo be booking again next year :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bigboiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for a week in the May half term, this was our first visit as we enjoyed it so much we will book again for next year.
The views from our pitch where amazing , it was pretty full but still lots of choice pitches, so we went for a sea view. The toilet facilities are kept clean and the showers are always hot and powerful.
The entertainment was good and spaces in the bar/clubhouse are plentiful.

A short drive away there is Paighton and you can catch the steam train to Kinswear ( which is 2 minutes away from Hillhead but we wanted to experience the whole line, the ferry to Dartmouth is just literally down the road.

Over all we would highly recommend a stay at the site but book early as it is very popular during the summer months.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend Rally at HIllhead in their newly revamped Rally Field. There is a water tap, one toilet each for ladies & Gents and dustbins. Elsan emptying etc. is just outside of the field. The roadways are gravel in that area with powered grass pitches for about 28 vans. The pool was closed. The shop is well stocked with food, drink, papers etc. as normally expected as well as a large range of caravan bits and pieces such as fuses, pegs, equipment etc. A bus stops at the site entrance for trips to Paignton, Brixham and connections to the ferry to Dartmouth. We visited the bar area and Nico's but didn't eat there. A pint of beer, cider etc. all seemed to be £3.30, house wine was £12 a bottle. The halogen wall heaters in Nico's are VERY effective so be careful where you sit if you don't like heat on top of your head. The entertainment for the 2 nights we were there was a male singer each night (but there had been quizzes and bingo prior to 9 p.m.) Although the site was not full there did not seem to be a great deal of spare seating space in the bar where the entertainment is held so if you are keen to get a seat and see a particular act during your stay and it is a busy period we suggest you arrive in good time prior to showtime. The facilities were top rate and very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful.We can see why it is a very popular CC site.

Room Tip: take leveling blocks as not all the site is level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved Hillhead Caravan Park. We arrived in Brixham over Easter. The site was pretty empty. We chose a hardstanding spot with a view over the sea. Gorgeous. The staff were really friendly and always on hand to answer questions. The shop was well stocked. The bar/restaurant provided reasonably priced food and drinks. The entertainment wasn't always our 'cup of tea' but a lot of people enjoyed their time there. The pitches don't provide much space for children to play near their caravans/tents but the park area and field beyond give lots of space. We'll be back to this site again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Whilst a nice location, on the Devon Coast, with good facilities and friendly staff, the problem with this site is the proximity of pitches to the roads around the site. When you pitch on these locations, be warned if you have children, there is nowhere for them to play unless making their way to the park up the hill. This is obviously not always possible, especially for smaller children who will want to be able to play around the pitch. To me, even with speed limits of traffic, (which were continually ignored by the majority of drivers) we saw many times near misses where children run out from the pitch chasing a ball or generally playing onto the road. To give you perspective on this problem you literally pitch 1-2 feet from the road, with pitches on both sides.

As a parent, this was a complete no-no and I was fearful for the campers on the roadside, but fortunately we booked a grass pitch.

The site itself is well maintained, clean and staff very friendly (apart from in the bar). The bar is a welcome place to chill, but I have to say the bar staff were completely miserable when we went there on 2 or 3 occasions.

So we have:

Play park: good and well equipped
Park: large, open dog free space
Shop: well stocked, tends to run out of popular things quickly
Bar: good selection, slow service, miserable staff
Pool: good, clean and quite large (a slide would be a welcome addition!)
Pitches: tight in places, grass pitches a bit more spacious, roadside - an accident waiting to happen
Toilet blocks: very clean, well kept
Showers: very, very good
Reception: excellent team, especially wardens and reception staff
Staff: excellent, apart from the bar

All in all, a great place, great views and access, good facilities let down by cramped roadside pitches and miserable bar staff (at time of visit)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for a week to celebrate the New Year, this was our second visit as we enjoyed it so much last year we booked again.
The views from our pitch where amazing (see pics) as it was the end of the season we had a good choice of hard standing pitches, so we went for a sea view. The bathroom facilities are kept sparkling clean and the showers are always hot and powerful.
The entertainment was great the staff are fantastic and very helpful.
If you like walking then this is definitely the site to stay at there are so many walks to do near the camp or a short drive away there is Paighton beach and the car ferry to Dartmouth is just literally down the road.
The information hut on site if overflowing with leaflets and information of the many different parks and attractions available in the area, or if you speak to the very helpful warden they are very knowledgeable of the area as they live not faraway in Plymouth.
Over all we would highly recommend a stay at the site but book early as it is very popular during the summer months.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Madhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend . Very quiet as it is November (just what we were after) The welcome was warm and the facilities first rate. Warm and clean washrooms. Within easy reach of the coast path by foot from the site via a track tacking about 30 minutes to get to the coast path. Regular bus from Brixham back to the campsite meant we didn't have to walk back. Wonderful views from the van over the valley one way and a glimpse of the sea the other way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becca006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
3.7 mi away
Hoburne Devon Bay
Hoburne Devon Bay
#1 of 25 in Paignton
638 reviews
2.6 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
105 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Weary Ploughman Inn
The Weary Ploughman Inn
#1 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillhead Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhead Caravan Park

Address: Hillhead, Brixham TQ5 0HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Brixham
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 22 acres of Devon countryside, Hillhead Caravan Club Site offers some of the finest facilities in the network. As well as this, the caravan site is set in a fantastic location with a large number of pitches offering stunning views of the sea and surrounding coastlines. There is plenty of entertainment for both the young and old with an outdoor heated swimming pool and children's pool (Jun - Sept), play area, and an indoor complex housing a games room, shop, bar, restaurant and takeaway service for all the conveniences you could want. The site received a fantastic new playground as well as improvements to the pavements around the covered courtyard area near the entertainment complex as part of a refurbishment for 2011/2012 Hillhead welcomes tent campers and has tent pitches available to both members and non-members. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillhead Caravan Park Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing