We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a view!”
Review of Beacon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than a view!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and we were glad we chose Beacon House. From our warm welcome with tea and cake in the lounge we instantly felt at home. The house is very stylishly decorated and yet with a relaxed homely feel, and our room was clean and very comfortable. We were very touched with the anniversary card and chocs awaiting us. We didn't get to meet Amanda and Henry the dog but Nigel was a perfect host with his excellent local knowledge and recommendations, and his breakfast was pretty good for someone not so comfortable in the kitchen. We would love to go back and maybe try the top room so that we can totally appreciate the stunning view. Book now and you won't be disappointed! :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jodyw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi guys, glad your special stay came up to expectations...........................including the breakfast! Nice to know you would like to come back........................you could then meet Henry and Amanda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
223
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was taken here by my partner for a birthday treat. He talked often of how good the place is and how nice and generous the owners Amanda and Nigel were. He is not prone to exaggeration!
I was greeted like an old friend and from the start was made to feel as if I belonged there. Very comfortable rooms and masses of little extras. Breakfast was a tour de force with a good selection to satisfy even the pickiest of visitors.
Unfortunately the visit had to be cut short due to me developing a nasty virus and the concern show is a great credit to a perfect couple. I cant wait to return in September

These guys will go the extra mile and exceed all your expectation! Thanks you two

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southpethyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi to you both and thanks very much for your kind words in your review. If you felt like long lost friends then we did our job! So pleased you've decided to come back and sample those bits of Brixham your curtailed stay did not allow you to do last time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. Welcomed on arrival with a pot of tea and flapjacks and then shown to our gorgeous room with a view over Brixham marina. Room was very comfortable and clean and quiet, which was fabulous as I'm a light sleeper. Brreakfasts were wonderful, we opted for Amanda's Full Beacon every morning to set us up for the day. Nigel couldn't have been more helpful. Next time we are back in Brixham, we will be booking here for sure, and I recommend you do the same!

Room Tip: Marina View was a lovely room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattermole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi Kat, thank you for the great review and of course the "recommendation" , hopefully see you again on your next visit to the "warm south"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Another excellent stay at Beacon House. We stayed in Bay View this time the views are amazing. . Amanda and Nigel are great host, you could not ask for more. Look forward to our next stay in September

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks Sue and we look forward to welcoming you both back on your special occasion in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

stayed at beacon house for 4 nights at the end of feb ,i cannot praise it enough from the fantastic view from our balcony to the lovely breakfast, our room was decorated to a very high standard as is the rest of the house would recommend this B@B to anyone and pay the little extra for the top room its fantastic. the owners could not do enough for us . we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi guys, now you've made that public statement about returning, I will await the phone to ring. Thanks for your feedback, very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Beacon House, positioned commandingly on the hillside leading down to the pretty harbour town of Brixham was such a perfect ‘find’ for me and the Extremely Fussy and Highly Stressed Male I am attached to.
Beacon House is worthy of ‘Grand Designs’ attention. It has been carefully restored to a handsome period property full of history and secrets. The present owners, Nigel and Amanda have created not just a beautiful abode but have harmoniously produced a peaceful warm atmosphere for guests to relax and ease the tensions they arrive with.
Our ‘room at the top’ was a delight beyond expectation and worth every penny. Even EFSM was impressed by its size and a bed which was, in true Goldilocks tradition, neither too hard nor too soft and covered in fluffy white bedclothes and pillows. The bathroom was sparkling, with a fabulous shower and lots of ‘goodies’ from a Cole and Fowler-always appreciated by a woman, and an abundance of soft, fleecy towels. The room was also well insulated from noise within the house-glory alleluia! (Something rarely found in accommodation these days).
However, despite all these wonderful positives the feature which really made our stay at Beacon House so, so special was the wonderful balcony with a stunning view down into the working harbour. EFSM began counting the fishing boats coming in and out-suddenly all stresses seemed forgotten. Across the harbour, the pretty little houses in differing hues seemingly strung out on the slopes, made the view magical and ‘chocolate box’ in appearance- and as the sun set, the twinkling lights appeared which continued creating this wonderful magic- all happening in February!
The little town offers a plethora of restaurants, bars and cafes –we enjoyed two fabulous meals – the fish menus are truly ‘fishlicious’! The people in the town were so friendly and helpful too.
So… an excellent break, ideal for those desperate to get away from shabby service so often encountered- this truly was a superb place to stay- a beautiful room with a view, a fastidious couple in Amanda and Nigel, who know what it takes, a pretty harbour town and a choice of wonderful restaurants… Romantic Heaven-and one even FHS M, so difficult to please normally and with an anathema for the mundane, will be returning to at a later date!
Thanks to our hosts for such a perfect break.

Room Tip: The 'Room at the Top' is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie-Ding-Dong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Annette, when I commented on the previous review I did not know that I would again be taken aback. I sense you enjoyed your stay, but not just with us, but in Brixham as a whole.....................even in February. Always good to read a review that puts a smile on your face!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beacon House is a home from home but even better!
When we arrived we were immediately in awe of the breath taking views even before entering the Guest House. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Amanda who proceeded to invite us into the beautiful house and guest lounge where she then proceeded to offer us fresh coffee and homemade flapjack. A fabulous start!
The house and town are steeped in history and Amanda and Nigel have ensured that this is incorporated into the stay, from photographs of the phenomenally sympathetic house renovations to the piracy of the fishing harbour. The house is immaculate and it is furnished to provide a rustic and homely environment. Our penthouse suite was an absolute delight and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, from slippers and dressing gowns to homemade cakes and fresh milk in our fridge to dishes of Devon fudge. There is nothing Amanda and Nigel haven't though of.
Breakfast at Beacon House is the ideal way to start your day, with spectacular views across the harbour whilst indulging in an array of delightful fresh fruit dishes, homemade marmalades, freshly squeezed fruit juices, fresh coffee, tea, toast and the infamous Full Beacon, not forgetting the additional option of Amanda's "Light Beacon", a daily dilemma!
Nigel's service and attentiveness is first class and our stay was made even better by his advice and recommendations about what to do and where to eat. His and Amanda's knowledge of the local area meant that we made the most of every minute there and we came away with full satisfaction.
We simply did not want to leave and certainly not without a couple of jars of Amanda's homemade marmalade (eaten already!!) to take away with us. We are already planning our next visit to Beacon House and we have begun recommending it to our friends and family. This was our perfect weekend away and it helped us to achieve our objective of rest, relaxation and rejuvenation. Staying at Beacon House is a must and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Every room has it's own theme but the penthouse has it's own balcony and panoramic views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kojak6728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
You are always appreciative when guests go to the trouble to write a review, but sometimes you are just lost for words. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.1 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
716 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Driftwood B&B
Driftwood B&B
#9 of 26 in Brixham
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House B&B

Property: Beacon House B&B
Address: Beacon House Prospect Steps South Furzeham Road, Brixham TQ5 8JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the harbour bowl of this historic fishing town (Brixham), Beacon House subtly merges the heritage of this beautiful iconic Victorian House with the amenities expected in a modern bed & breakfast. Coupled with this are stunning views from all guest bedrooms, lounge and breakfast room, free on site car parking, free wi fi and a short walk in to town to enjoy the plethora of cafe's, bars restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Beacon House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House B&B Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing