We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for your wonderful hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thanks for your wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nigel and Amanda have done an amazing job restoring this wonderful old house, taking tremendous care to get every detail right. They also put just as much effort into ensuring that ever guest is made welcome. The rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and an excellent shower The breakfasts are the best we have had in a B&B with a wide choice of fresh fruit, as well as the full English and a lighter choice. The views from the Bay View room are truly stunning; recommend you pay the extra just for the night time views of Brigham. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
And many thanks for a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
202
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Nigel and Amanda made you feel like family from the moment you arrived, the view was amazing and the home made jams to die for! They have restored a tired house back to it's former glory and better. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was 5*, the bathtub was incredible! The breakfast in the morning, once again, was 5*. Wish them all the best for the future. Will certainly be returning if they have vacancies. Chris & Sandra, Plymouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Manager at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi guys, thanks for the review and glad you had such a good time in sunny Brixham. Nice to see you enjoyed the roll top bath......................................which reminds me, I need to try it out myself! I'm sure we will have some vacancies for you if you decide to come again. Have a great Xmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

this was our first visit to brixham and we could'nt have picked a better place to stay amazing views over the harbour the room was clean,warm,comfortable,bathroom had a great shower and again very clean the room had the ususal tea and coffee but unlike other places beacon had proper mugs and fresh milk not the little pots you usually get so you could make a good cuppa next comes the breakfast lovley well cooked you also had a choice of a light breakfast but we had the full english mmmm nigel and amanda were a warm friendly couple would stay here again and will recommend to our family and friends and another bonus beacon house has a car park.

Room Tip: our room was harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Hi Sue, thanks very much for posting the review, so pleased you and Mick enjoyed yourselves and nice to see you appreciated some of the little touches. Hope you have a great Xmas and look forward to hopefully seeing you sometime in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, greeting the owners Nigel and Amanda ,we felt we had know them for years ,also the food was 1st class ,they work so hard to make this experience worth while ,the Harbour is close and to have the Brixham experience ,Beacon House is a Haven for travelers from all walks of life ,walking the coastal paths was just the medicine for myself and my wife .And if you wanted a packed lunch there was Nigel and Amanda .The experience is a must thank you very much

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mario4656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Mario, really pleased you guys had such a nice time and thanks very much for the kind words. Looking forward to you both coming back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Such a lovely place to stay, amazing views over the harbour, very very peaceful. The hosts, Nigel and Amanda are attentive, welcoming and helpful, the breakfasts are superb and the rooms are spotless and very comfortable as well as being very tastefully furnished. We will return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb, we stayed in cheapest which has the smallest but perfectly adequate ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Sheila, thanks very much for your feedback and review, its very much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

What can I say about the beacon house hotel other than "outstanding" hats off to Nigel, Amanda and Henry for being a part of their family for three days. The house and rooms a re truly five star. We stayed in the Marina View room which I think had the best bathroom. However every room looked lovely. I must also say that both Amanda and Nigel have worked very hard to turn this place in to what I think is one of the nicest B&B's I have stayed in. You must have the Beacon Breakfast if you are feeling up for the challenge, this will keep you going all day. Would I stay here again ? Yes Yes Yes. Can't wait to return next year. Thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning. We will try and stay in the top floor room which has its own balcony and sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westjr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello JR West :-) Thanks for your great feedback. Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us. All three of us look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We could not have been more comfortable in this beautiful B&B. Nigel and Amanda take such good care of their guests, and anticipate every need. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I wish we could have stayed for longer than our two days. Such a lovely place to stay, with an incredible view, wonderful breakfasts, and the warmest welcome you could hope to find.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely top floor room, called Bay View. It was incredibly comfortable, with an imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks very much for posting your review. Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us, come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House B&B

Property: Beacon House B&B
Address: Beacon House Prospect Steps South Furzeham Road, Brixham TQ5 8JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the harbour bowl of this historic fishing town (Brixham), Beacon House subtly merges the heritage of this beautiful iconic Victorian House with the amenities expected in a modern bed & breakfast. Coupled with this are stunning views from all guest bedrooms, lounge and breakfast room, free on site car parking, free wi fi and a short walk in to town to enjoy the plethora of cafe's, bars restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon House B&B Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing