We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon House B&B
Ranked #1 of 25 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Amanda and Nigel, It was well worth the trip from Dundee - shame about the weather. However it didn't stop us having a great time. Thoroughly enjoyed the great breakfasts with the fantastic views from the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Jude, thanks for posting the review, glad you and Alan enjoyed your time in Brixham, hope you had a good journey back to the frozen north!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
202
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic hosts Nigel & Amanda thank you for a lovely stay in a superb room attention to detail and service second to none.
If you are looking to stay in Brixham then we can recommend the Beacon House the views are fantastic.
Jennie & Jon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonm3mvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi to you both, thanks for the fantastic review, glad you enjoyed your short stay and your birthday celebration Jenny...................................perhaps make it an annual event? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend in Brixham staying at Beacon house, and all I can say is it was amazing! The house itself is set in a great location with the most beautiful views out to the harbour and marina both. There is plenty of parking, The house is absolutely spotless and the breakfasts second to none! But the best thing about this property has to be its hosts Nigel and Amanda, they were so welcoming and made you feel right at home. I can honestly say I would not stay anywhere else in Brixham. Thank you to u both once again for a lovely break, and we will definitely be coming back to stay at this gem of a b&b! ☺

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Not quite sure who wrote this review, but I'm guessing one of you is a plasterer and one a "dog lover". Really pleased you both enjoyed the break and your bit of "adult" time together ......................no kids! Take care, Amanda and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would like to thank Nigel and Amanda for a fantastic stay at Beacon House. Fantastic views and superb breakfasts are one thing but added to the warm welcome you receive truely makes it a great place to stay. I will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks Tony for the review and kind words, glad we made you feel at home. Enjoy the rest of the "season"...............................hope you come second :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have just returned from Beacon House and did not want to leave. Everything was really perfect. Hosts, Nigel and Amanda, rooms and food could not be better. And the view from our room was wonderful to wake up to every morning. Will definitely be back, hopefully with 2 wonderful friends we made on day 1, John & Ann. Beacon House should be No 1 in Brixham as can't imagine anywhere else topping it for anything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Fiona, not quite sure wether I've seen any one enjoy them selves as much as you did...............I think you laughed all the time!! Be great to see you back,particularly with John and Anne, oh and Bob of course. Enjoy.....................................keep on laughing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just had to write a review, to add to Nigel and Amandas perfect scoring. Beacon house is an outstanding b&b, with great hosts and delicious breakfast but for us we were spoilt by having the 'best room in the house', stunning! All we can do now is daydream about coming back by looking at our impressive painting by Lynne. Thank you.
Beth and Mark

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethjo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Great feedback thanks Beth and so glad you took your little bit of Brixham home with you..................keep on dreaming :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

First a big thanks to Nigel and Amanda for making our stay most enjoyable and we will be defiantly be coming back.
Great views, great food and great people, need we say any more.
Thanks, look forward to seeing soon,

Helen and Ian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_d_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Ian and Helen, best feedback you can get from people is when they book again.........................so roll on next August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Melville Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brixham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#9 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#4 of 25 in Brixham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House B&B

Property: Beacon House B&B
Address: Beacon House Prospect Steps South Furzeham Road, Brixham TQ5 8JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the harbour bowl of this historic fishing town (Brixham), Beacon House subtly merges the heritage of this beautiful iconic Victorian House with the amenities expected in a modern bed & breakfast. Coupled with this are stunning views from all guest bedrooms, lounge and breakfast room, free on site car parking, free wi fi and a short walk in to town to enjoy the plethora of cafe's, bars restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon House B&B Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing