We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beacon House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Churston Court Hotel(Churston Ferrers)
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sampford Guest House(Brixham)
$94
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood B&B(Brixham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Midhurst(Brixham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
319
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
319
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnigel amandabay view roomexcellent reviewsfresh milkhomemade jamshigh standardwarm welcomegreat hostsgreat showerbreakfast roombrixham harbourstunning viewsstayed for two nightsevery morningoff road parkinglittle touchesnothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 321 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for four nights in this beautiful house and had the best nights sleep in a hotel or B&B.The house has been renovated to such a high standard and every where you look it is superb.Nick and Amanda are the perfect hosts and do everything they possibly can to enhance your stay,a lovely touch is cake in the room for afternoon tea,and all the toiletries in the beautifully equipted bathroom.Thanks to NIck for recomending all the best eating places in the harbour and for letting us share your lovely home,the breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and a very good selection of cereal and fruit is available every day.We recommend this to everyone who wants just that bit more from a B&B.Thanks Guys good luck for your future success .J &T

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandt642928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for your fantastic review J and T, its very much appreciated and all the more so after you managed to beat the steps up to us....................................it gets easier on your second visit!
Glad you enjoyed the comfy beds and Amanda's breakfasts. Take care and hopefully see you both again sometime?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Brixham and felt compelled to recommend Beacon House.
Nigel and Amanda have created a fabulous B&B in the ideal location for Brixham Harbour, fantastic views, super comfy beds and delicious breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble, in fact you are made to feel welcome and at home as if you were a member of the family.
If you plan to visit Brixham make sure you stay at Beacon House - you leave feeling relaxed and refreshed. Can't recommend this B&B enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Berwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hi, thanks for the review and thanks very much for the recommendation, really pleased that you and Paul enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Brixham...................................wether or not you would really want to be part of our family, I'm not sure :-)
Thanks again

Nigel and Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just stayed here for 2 nights in the magnificent Bay View room - and what a view it is from the balcony! Thank you Nigel and Amanda for sharing your lovely house with us, we enjoyed our stay immensely. Both very welcoming, and Nigel's knowledge of local restaurants and bars proved very useful. The "Full Beacon" breakfast definitely does the job, along with the fruits and other goodies on offer. Decoration and finish of the room and house in general is very high, this really is a magnificent B&B, probably the best we've stayed in, and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Private balcony on Bay View is amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Shaun, thanks for your kind words, much appreciated. Particularly pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts that Amanda served up. Thanks for feedback on local knowledge but i do need to keep- on practicing! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights: enough time to spot any weaknesses if there had been any. The entire house has been sympathetically restored, with a very high standard of décor, comfort and finish. Our room was well-appointed, with a chiller cabinet and excellent shower room. Nigel and Amanda are excellent hosts and the service they provide is second to none. Breakfasts were varied and of a uniformly high standard, with juices and fresh fruit in different guises. On our last morning scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and muffins were the order of the day! If you have to have it, there's good WiFi.
Parking is a great bonus. The harbour is 5 mins downhill on foot, and the return journey takes a little longer, but it's not too steep and there are handrails to help the unsteady.
I should be surprised if there's anywhere better locally!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bay View, which has a terrace overlooking the harbour. Terrific!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nailsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi guys, thanks for the fantastic review.............................................I'm thinking of using some of on our web site!! Always nice when people give you such positive feedback, hopefully we can entice you back again in the not too distant future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

beacon house is a little beauty the owners nigel and amanda should be very proud of what they have done the bedroom my wife and i stayed was perfect down to clean towels and all shampoo and soap views out of bedroom windows perfect breakfast was very nice all the usual things like fresh fruit and cereals plus a full english will be back in the near future

Room Tip: all good rooms looking out to sea
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Beacon House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Ralph, thanks for the great review, always nice when people give such positive feedback and appreciate the effort that went into restoring Beacon House in the first place. You said you'd be back.....................................sincerley hope you will be. Enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews