We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chip shop love it”
Review of Churchills Fish and Chips - CLOSED

Churchills Fish and Chips
Price range: $2 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish and chip shop love it”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have to say that this chip shop is a whole lot better than any other chip shop in brixham there gravy is perfect chips and there fish not greasy which is more than I can say for nicks his food is pants .. I am a local and I would rather cook myself if churchills is closed .. The staff are friendly my kids love them they are an absolute asset to brixham :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    7
    5
    3
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tasty fish n chips- family on holiday from Bristol!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After our day out in brixham we decided to visit churchills. We were impressed with the shop front and decor we decided to give it a go! As a family of four 2 adults 2 kids its always difficult too find something to suit all but we were pleasantly surprised. We ordered cod and chips, children's cod and chips and even ice cream for desert! All was served with a smile and tastier delicious! We will be visiting again in our next holiday ( June 2014!) the Francis family!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisfamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

NOM NOM NOM delicious fish and chips I would recommend it to anyone you won't be disappointed, ignore the bad reviews!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brixhamjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad attitude”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I are Brixham folk and so like to support local restaurants whenever possible hence our visit to Churchills which recently opened in Brixham.
We were extremely disappointed. This fish and chip take away/café can be summed up in four words: Frozen fish, frozen chips.
If there is anywhere in the UK where it is inexcusable to use anything other than fresh fish it has to be Brixham.
We were so disappointed with our takeaway fish and chips that we went back and complained about the quality. We were told ‘you ordered fish and chips and you’ve got fish and chips!’.
That kind of response is as unacceptable in our town as is the grey looking frozen fish we paid for. The locals in Brixham will obviously give this place a wide berth but ours is a tourist town and it is the tourists I feel for. It is exactly the kind of establishment which can give our town a bad name.
For any tourists coming to Brixham and looking for fish and chips they are some excellent ones in town, two of them very close to Churchills: The traditional Brixham Fish Takeaway & Restaurant and the more upmarket Simply Fish. Both are excellent, take my advice and give Chuchills a very wide berth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrixhamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

You expect to get good Fish & Chips in a fishing port town like beautiful Brixham - but not at this place! Tasteless and oily, chips not much better and service definately WITHOUT smile. Don't bother!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchills Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Churston Ferrers, Brixham
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing