We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant sea view's.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Every time we travel to Brixham we go for a walk along the sea front and harbour. We always go in the Berry Head for a refreshing pint or three. It is a beautiful Hotel with friendly staff and view's to die for, and the sea lions were a bonus....brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablo1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I shall pass them on to the team !
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 774 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have just returned from taking 3elderly relatives to this well located hotel. It is a challenge to find hotels suitable for those with mobility issues but some rooms in the hotel have reasonable access and the lovely views are a bonus for those who find getting around a challenge. Good points are the helpful staff which apart from one poor evening(more later) they were brilliant with my parents and mother in-law. Especially good were the morning breakfast staff and the assistant manager with the way he helped my relatives with coping with buffet plates and walking aids! Breakfasts were pretty good too. Less good were the weddings pulling staff away from the hotel main functions. We ate twice in the bistro (nice menu and lively atmosphere) and the themed evening was good value. Sadly the restaurant was cold, lacked any music or atmosphere and service was dreadful. After complaining the manager discounted the meal and apologised which was appreciated but it really blighted the last evening for us all. The other 2 tables didn't fare much better with one table having re heated food. The pool is small but nice and warm but beware thinking it is accessible for disability as the last step down is very steep. Some internal areas could do with a spruce up -the library is very dark, was quite cold and had a musty smell.
Overall a good location for views, fairly pricey for the standard and although we could have been unlucky think carefully before booking the restaurant. Sleep was disturbed by wedding noise. Marks on service are average because some was excellent and some awful.

Room Tip: Room 3 has level access shower but no grab rails. Can be reached by lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leicesterhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Only went here for an evening meal as we had spotted it during a walk up to Berry Head during the day, and didn't stay in the hotel so can't comment on the rooms. We had gone in and reserved a table on the way back down from our walk and asked for a window table which we were told was no problem. However when we arrived there seemed to be a problem about the table as we were left standing for some time before we were taken to a small table sandwiched between two other tables with very little room to get seated. I did have the impression that it may not have been the reserved table as the young lady who seated us seemed a bit flustered. Our order was taken fairly promptly and we were served drinks in a reasonable time - the problem was that we then waited over 45 minutes for our starters, which was a bit much considering the crab cakes my husband ordered were not really hot enough. We let it pass as we were really hungry by then, but we then had to ask if there was a problem with the main courses as other diners were seated and served long before any of our main course food arrived. The lady server was very nice and apologetic but I did say it was not an acceptable length of time to wait and she agreed and said it was just the way the kitchen had processed the orders or something similar. Wouldn't return and rather disappointed in what was meant to be a special Sunday night, maybe the kitchen was over extended as I noted there was a wedding reception under way but still no excuse for such poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I am a regular guest at Berry Head Hotel. Great atmosphere, friendly team of staff, always a pleasant stay.

One thing that I have mentioned previously on the questionnaire, is that the bedside lights are not bright enough to read by.

If that can be sorted, an otherwise excellent hotel and I will be coming back to enjoy!

Room Tip: Always get a sea view the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsSPLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here for a fisheries event that was held at the hotel. The location is very special and the staff are unusually helpful and friendly. I go to lots of conferences in cold, characterless hotels where you have little interaction with the staff. The Berry Head Hotel is run by people who take pleasure in making you feel welcome. I liked the feel of the place and will try to go back when I am not working!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzrovia_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments. It means so much to us to receive feedback such as this. we look forward to welcoming you back soon !
Kind regards
Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Four of us enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch here last week. Great views from the terrace, really nice food and excellent service. In the main dining room a very talented lady pianist entertained us with songs from the shows and classical favourites. The young waiting on staff were very good and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are lucky enough to visit this hotel quite frequently, having a home in the area. We either enjoy a leisurely drink on the terrace, with, as other reviewers have commented on, has just the best views! Or we eat in the bar, with the same views, and watch the sun go down
The food is certainly adequate, but no more than that. The price paid is much more for the view and surroundings, rather than haute cuisine.
All in all, a pleasant menu, but in a just perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
588 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,063 reviews
13.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: $129 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing