We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but tired now...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly but tired now...”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights at the end of September - sea facing rooms were clean, had great views over the bay and it was lovely to hear the sea at night - however the food and the bathrooms ( struggled to get hot water in any useful quantity) were all from a different age and felt tired and old fashioned. It is such a lovely location and seems to have a very loyal elderly following, but a little updating could make it even more attractive to a wider range of guest. Friendly service though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
The staff will be very pleased to hear them. I apologise for the lack of hot water. This is ordinaraly not a problem although i understand from our engineer that one of the boilers had partially & intermittently failed meaning that the water during peak times was not as hot as usual. It is of course now repaired and I apologise for any inconvenience. With an old (listed) building such as ours it is difficult to restore and refurbish sympatheticaly we dont want to be high fashion, it wouldnt suit us so we have a full time team of 2 who constantly refurbish bedrooms bathrooms and public areas in a traditional fashion. The food in our Restaurant is of a traditional silver served style which some people like. The food in our Bistro is served with more of a modern twist. If you would like to expand on your comments I would certainly find it helpful.
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    181
    117
    69
    41
See reviews for
213
316
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
farmers in oxford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Recently stayed at Berry Head hotel for 5 nights. Overall our stay was good having booked sea view rooms with balcony, the views are stunning out to sea and all along the coastline.We ate in the Brasserie on our first night, which was very disappointing, with inedible fish, tough steak wrongly cooked and cold chips, however food did improve later in week, but we did eat out on two nights. Breakfast was very good most mornings and staff were very pleasant. The overall decoration is rather tired and needs a facelift in some areas, but the housekeeping was excellent in our room, clean fluffy towels every day!!. We felt some staff members have the wrong attitude with their guests, a smile costs nothing.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we certainly appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve! I am so sorry you did not enjoy the food in the bistro on the first night. If you could expand on why and perhaps the date you ate I could comment more, but I assure you and as you found out on subsequent evenings it is certainly not the "norm" but sometimes things can go wrong and for that I apologise. we do have a rolling program of refurbishment, however we always do things in a traditional way at the Berry Head due to the nature of the location and building. I apologise if any of our team were not friendly and aproachable as you said yourselves a smile does cost nothing ! However if you would like to please feel free to send more detailed feedback It would be very helpful
Kind Regards Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colyford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We met friends for our annual break . Found the bedroom, small, tired and dark. Bathroom small, shower tepid. Food average. The last night we complained that the food was overcooked.
Swimming pool dark and small. For what it was the hotel was expensive. Definitely should not have had 3 stars. Best thing was the view. Filled in the questionnaire at the end of the break and have not had any feedback. Will not be visiting there again.

SS - East Devon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRS475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,
Im pleased that you enjoyed the view,
unfortunately being a listed building we are unable to expand the size of our rooms so some are by modern standards a little small and all are decorated in a traditional style, but we are not a modern hotel. All rooms exceed the three star standard for size and provision. I apologise that we had a problem with hot water our engineers report that there was an intermittant problem with one of the boilers, this is now rectified and has not been previously a problem.
Kind regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited the berry head hotel for lunch the service was first class and never waited long like some reviews stating. the views are fantastic and the grounds are lovely a very relaxing place to go or stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russelltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch, I shall pass your comments on to the staff

Please do make yourselves known when you return we would love love to welcome you back !
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had lunch at The Berry Head Hotel partly to enjoy the wonderful view over the
estuary. As are many eating establishments, it was understaffed, service was very slow
and the food when it arrived was underwhelming. All we ordered was soup and a sandwich
so what could go wrong? The mushroom soup in the bowl was very thick and like glop,
the sandwich was OK but the salad garnish had seen better days. It was very limp
and the cucumber looked like it had stuff growing on it. The best part was the bread
which came with the soup. Everything felt a bit grubby and nobody seemed bothered
by serviettes on the floor of the terrace and food under the tables in the restaurant.
This place could be so great. The location is
perfect - it is such a shame the whole eating experience was so poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doneteaching2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review

I apologise if the service was slow or you thought we were understaffed, it is difficult in this industry to judge staffing levels especially in the uk's uncertain climate for example if it were to rain you might only see 20 people for lunch inside if it is sunny there could easily be 200 people on the terrace at any one time, we try to keep our staff in employment through the whole year so we don't over staff for the summer and lay them off in the winter like many large chains do, for ethical reasons. I apologise if you did not enjoy your soup and sanwich. It is not the norm, but on occasion things can go wrong. Had we known on the day we would have promptly replaced it to your liking. Being a family business we care deeply about the Hotel Customers and Staff. Cleanliness and food quality being the highest on the agenda to protect all three. I am so sorry we hid not come up to expectations on this occasion
Kind regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After a couple over visits for cream tea,, we decided to stay for one week at the end of August 2013 as part of our Silver Wedding Aniversary holiday. It was well worth it. Great staff, helpful polite and attentive, especially Hayley on reception. Rooms were a little on the small side, but not enough to spoil the stay. Good facilities bar, restaurant, food and sun terrace, also fantastic second to non views across the English Riviera.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review it means so much to all the staff.
I shall pass your comments on !
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brixham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The recent RNLI Supper here was excellent. Food and staff first class as usual. The Brixham Ukulele band ( Who gave their services free of charge) were better than many professional bands. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_sBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the food and staff it is lovely to hear and i shall pass them on!
Kind Regards
Edward Bence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
567 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,005 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
332 reviews
2.2 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Property: The Berry Head Hotel
Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing