We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very leisurely lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Berry Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Tried the Hotel's 'dip and dine' bargain yesterday. A swim and lunch for £10. Seemed like a good deal. Arrived at the hotel at ten to twelve. Swim ok, then bar for lunch at one o'clock. The waiter came to our table immediately and took our drinks and meal order - we ordered the goats cheese tartlet with salad and chips. At that time there were only about a dozen customers in the bar. About twenty minutes later a large party of men arrived and a group of four on a table close to us. We waited and waited and queried the meal with a waitress and were then astounded that the meals began to arrive for the large group of men and then the four people who had all arrived after us. The waitress seemed to think we were being unreasonable and told us that we had only been waiting for forty-five minutes. Apparently they had to cook these tarts from total scratch. If she'd said they'd lost the order and apologized you could have understood it, but no, the fault was ours! When the meal was finally served can you believe that when we said thank you, the waiter actually said, "no problem." I was too gobsmacked to speak. So, if you go for lunch at the Berry Head, make sure you have no afternoon appointments - and take a good book with you, or two.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review,
Everything is cooked fresh to order so sometimes orders placed after others can be received first as some things take longer to cook than others ... a small price to pay we say to have freshly cooked food. a forty five minute wait however is certainly unusual for us especially if it isn't busy.
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience

Regards E J Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 764 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel 18th, 19th Jan 2013. The weather forecast for the weekend was snow snow and possibly more snow. On arrival reception staff quickly checked us in and provided an excellent room with a beautiful view and one of the most comfortable Hotel beds we have slept in. Could not fault anyone we met at the Hotel, always cheerful and helpful. Used the pool facility as the weather outside although no snow wasn't great. Our package included an evening meal which was exceptional, (Now need to diet for a week). Previous comments about dated furnishing I must disagree with, as we felt they were complimentary with the character with the property. I must thank all the staff for a peaceful and relaxing weekend.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Room with a view, better still a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RWJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our stay at the Berry Head started sat 29th, can only say its pure therapy after a hectic Christmas.
As always the welcome you receive is superb, rooms are amazing, staff are so helpful and caring and the cuisine is second to none.
Guess thats why so many of us regulars can't wait to go back.
So many thanks to everyone at the Berry Head Hotel for a fantastic new year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited The Berry Head for Boxing day lunch it was a Lovely atmosphere, Beautiful food, Helpful staff and Outstanding views! We had a 3 course carvery which was wonderfully priced at £22.50 including coffee, The lounge area is very homely and tranquil , a pefrect place to unwind with a book and a glass of wine. I would highly recommend The Berry Head and will most definetly be visiting when we are in Brixham. WELL WORTH A VISIT!!

Room Tip: Enjoy a drink on the terrace to see the Fab views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We weren't staying here but we met for a meal (ten of us).
We were served promptly and the food was excellent.
The fish (haddock) and chips were excellent as was the whitebait. The ham, egg and chips was delicious and the portion was enormous.The steak was cooked as requested. The only gripe was that one of our number found the braised steak to be a little overcooked.
Would I return - you bet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H0dgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I found Berry Head about 3 years ago and have now visited about 7 times each time we have stayed for a minimum of 5 nights and last March we took the whole family (7 adults and one Grandson). The staff are really friendly and helpful and the owners really run the hotel well nothing is to much trouble we have stayed in a wide range of rooms all have been very pleasant and comfortable. The food is excellent and the bar is much better than most hotels as its got atmosphere and a lot of outside visitors. What more can I say other than we will be going back in Spring.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your review we have passed your comments on to the staff !
Regards Edward Bence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Loved this hotel - was like going back in time. The views are amazing, a fabulous spot. The room was spotless and the staff were so friendly and cheerful. Dinner was excellent value and had some interesting specials on the board. The swimming pool was sweet but quite small but the jacuzzi is relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with lovely fresh fruit salad. All in all a delightful stay and good value for money!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhead, Manager at The Berry Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments ! they are passed on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,009 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 17 in Paignton
346 reviews
16.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 17 in Paignton
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range: $129 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing