We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Golden Hind Museum Ship
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Golden Hind in Brixham Harbour, is one of only two full sized replicas in the world of 16th century explorer and privateer Sir Francis Drake's famous ship. The Ship has been a feature of picturesque Brixham harbour for over fifty years, entertaining and educating thousands of visitors during this time - as well as being featured on many tv programmes and films. The Ship is open come rain or shine and is an all weather attraction with many indoor displays as well as wide open decks and on-board activities.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 7, 2017

What a fascinating experience!

They have done an excellent job of presenting the history around the vessel in a way that is enjoyable for young and old alike.

I loved it!

Thank LuxuriousNomad_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenHindCrew, Manager at Golden Hind Museum Ship, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you so much. The Crew are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. Don't miss the Brixham Pirate Festival which takes place every year on the early May Bank Holiday. It's FANTASTIC and features hundreds if not thousands of scurvy sea-dogs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sir francis drake"
in 24 reviews
"below deck"
in 18 reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 14 reviews
"great insight"
in 7 reviews
"brixham harbour"
in 24 reviews
"full size"
in 9 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 10 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 8 reviews
"steep steps"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 29 reviews
"little boy"
in 10 reviews
"visiting brixham"
in 6 reviews
"family ticket"
in 9 reviews
"gift shop"
in 18 reviews
"kids will love"
in 6 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 6 reviews
"pirate festival"
in 5 reviews
Filter

66 - 70 of 527 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2017

Only did this because my 10 year old wanted to. I thought £12 was a bit step for what looked like would be a 5 minute scoot around a ship. How wrong was I? The ladies acting as guides on-board were fantastic as was the exhibition as well. Its great fun for kids as well as of great interest to adults. Apparently all the local schools do visits and I can see why! It was so interesting and we even discovered that one of our ancestors may have been a crew member!

1  Thank MickW372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Our twin boys longed to go aboard the 'Pirate Ship', so we were rewarded with a family ticket (£18) and a very engaging experience. The staff were excellent and guided us through the various parts of the ship. The information on display was informative and the boys (5 years old) were kept interested with an engaging treasure hunt and stamp map. As a family activity, this was excellent value for money as the boys took away colouring in maps and a certificate whilst we were given a guide/information booklet. Brilliant fun and educational - learnt loads!

Thank Youngs2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenHindCrew, Manager at Golden Hind Museum Ship, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Thank you for your visit and review. The crew will be thrilled with your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed the visit and the various activities onboard. We are now closed for Winter maintenance but will welcome all visitors back when we reopen for February half term next year. Our Guide Book (40pp) has been popular this year and has been free with all Family Tickets. The history of the circumnavigation is as you imply, fascinating. Drake was the first Captain to survive the three year journey and brought back over £480m in today's money. As a result, Queen Elizabeth Ist made the Golden Hind the first 'museum ship' in the world and it was placed in a dry dock in Deptford until around 1650. We hope that you visit again in 2018. Golden Hind Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Very good 1-2 hours - plenty to do on a small ship, with things to do or read for young to older children and adults. If you buy a family ticket you get a free gift book worth £5.

Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenHindCrew, Manager at Golden Hind Museum Ship, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you for your visit! We're proud of our Guide Book which we are giving away with a Family ticket at the moment. It's 40 pages long with 40 colour photos and answers all the questions you ever wanted to know about the replica and original Ships.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

My five year old son and I visited The Golden Hind museum ship during October half term. There was a Halloween quiz which was fun. There is also lots of interesting history to see. We were particularly surprised about where sailors went to the toilet . . . and it wasn't the poop deck :)
We spent about an hour aboard the ship.

Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Hind Museum Ship also viewed

 
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Golden Hind Museum Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing