We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab birthday meal a++++++”

The Old Market House
Ranked #15 of 110 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Old Market House is a contemporary restaurant in Brixham, Devon, a picturesque seaside fishing port. Our building is listed, and years ago played host to ship builders, an indoor fish market and a tourist information centre, amongst other trades. Now we serve fantastic meals harbour-side, with professional, friendly and efficient service from 12pm till late. Fancy a bite to eat with a beautiful view? We can do that! Our ground floor plays host to our bar and over 150 outdoor seats. Take advantage of St Austell Brewery's awesome selection of Real Ale (Tribute, Proper Job and HSD to name a few) and Cornish Lager (Korev) and the sun. Upstairs is our restaurant and balcony with full table service. Enjoy food cooked from fresh with local ingredients, served with a smile!
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fab birthday meal a++++++”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went to the Old Market House for my Birthday , the staff were all very friendly , the service was excellent , we could not have been looked after any better. I had monkfish fritters to start as did my son , hubby had pork fritters and he said it was the best starter he had eaten in a long time. I then had crab and scallop thermidor , it was gorgeous and I would highly recommend it , my son and hubby had the west country burgers and they were fab too. Thankyou especially to Steph, the duty manager , she was brill x

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jobrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    398
    157
    67
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent gastro pub”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have a second home in Brixham so visit most weekends. The OMH was created from an ancient and crumbling building to create an outstanding waterside pub.
Furnishings are mixed and comfortable, the pub is part of a chain but feels unique.
Some reviews mention poor service. Nonsense. The service has always been outstanding and the food great value. Staff are well trained and friendly and the atmosphere warm and welcome.
On Saturday night they have 'welcomers' on hand OK bouncers, but again they are friendly and helpful. So one worth a visit and probably a need to book at weekends as I am not alone in liking the Old Market House

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve from Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good around”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place is a great addition to the town.food is well priced and staff are always happy to please.we visit very regulary and have never been disapointed
The review posted by beside the sea is shockingly disgusting re class to town and drunken fisherman.
These fishermen risk their lives on a daily basis to provide fish for which you proberly ate,dont like it stay away

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoals2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Our favourite place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are always made very welcome in the Old Market House. The staff are great - Rhys manages the team well and makes a real effort with the customers. He always has time to chat and is always keen to ensure customers have a pleasant experience. The team have done well with the menus also creating a more affordable menu for 'out of season' which is great value. We continue to use the Old Market House both for a drink and to eat out and always take friends and guests there. The staff never fail to create a create a good impression.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visited for lunch at the end of January, chose from the special lunchtime menu ( 2 meals for £9.95)
I chose the catch of the day which while not massive was quite large enough for me and was cooked really well with lovely crunchy chips and pollock with peas, my wife chose the mussels which she also enjoyed. There was also a choice of dessert or starters with each main course for only £2 each, we both chose the apple pie with cream which was lovely.
The staff, Brendon and a very nice young lady looked after us very well being very pleasant and attentive. All in all excellent value for money we will return soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devonboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Market House also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Old Market House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing