We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Berry little gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Berry Bush Cottage

Berry Bush Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Berry Bush Cottage
Bright and comfortable lounge Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Berry Bush Cottage
Bright and comfortable lounge
Dining Room
Fully fitted kitchen
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Shower Room
Decked Rear Courtyard
View from outside cottage
View at Marina
The Golden Hind Brixham Harbour
The End Of A Perfect Day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
antfairba...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Berry little gem”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A delighful cottage in the heart of brixham a few steps and you are in the town centre the cottage as a drive mega plus in brixham and the rooms are clean and spacious with a very private back decking area to the rear of the cottage we really enjoyed our stay and will return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you for your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Andrew & Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsB55555...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second year running that we stayed in Berry Bush cottage as we enjoyed it so much the first year. Since last year a brand new oven has been fitted which is a welcome addition to an already nice kitchen. The cottage is ideally located for the harbour and shops - although after eating my fill of fantastic food I found getting back up the steps a bit of a trial! Saying that though, there are many different routes back to the cottage and eventually we found some different steps that were a bit more manageable! If you're visiting Brixham you have to be prepared to climb steps - it's part of the charm of the place.

Best bargain: Ferry to Torquay - £3 return!! We recommend using WeFerry as it is a locally family run and owned business and the owner gives a good commentary!

Best restaurant: We loved the Breakwater Bistro - fantastic views over the harbour, friendly staff and excellent food!!

The cottage itself has everything you need - the sitting room is lovely and cosy, the bedrooms both a very decent size and a large bathroom with a lovely powerful shower. Yes, there are "swankier" properties available for rent in Brixham but you will pay an awful lot more for these and you won't get parking! We love it here - you can't ask for a better location (lovely and quiet too) and we will no doubt be back again next year!

Thank you very much Andrew - we loved it as much, if not more, than last year and will no doubt be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year - Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnfrHerts
Herts
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location, speedy response from owner when booking and asking questions. The property has good facilities (freezer, microwave, enclosed rear patio, washer-drier). Rooms are a good size. Steep stairs and low opening windows upstairs - difficult for toddlers.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyCo...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Excellent location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved Berry Bush Cottage. The house is nicely decorated and very cosy. The location is perfect - you are literally 2 min walk (via quite a few steps) to the high street and harbour. The road is quiet (and very narrow!) so there is no traffic noise and the off-street parking is a must! We will definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage.”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Berry Bush is a lovely, cosy, little cottage in a very good area of Brixham. Cross the road outside the property and choose from steps or slope/steps down to Fore Street, a short walk to the end of which is the harbour. The added bonus of Berry Bush is the offroad parking - we didn't use our car for 3 days out of our 7 day stay. The cottage itself is very clean and tidy, and has everything you need. The main bedroom is surprisingly big with a lovely view over the other side of Brixham. We would definitely recommend Berry Bush, and will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: Can't think of anything at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel A
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, perfect location - home from home”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Wonderful place, large main bedroom with great views over the town, in little narrow street but with it’s own ample parking space, even for our wider than usual car and so conveniently placed at the top of the steps into town.

You couldn’t wish for a better location in Brixham (a home from home for us). If you haven’t been to Brixham expect steps – as you need to in so many British seaside towns. Brixham (yes - I love it there) also has more than its fair share if fine restaurants. A further plus is the friendly and exceedingly helpful owner!
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, well appointed accomodation.
Liked least: No negative to say.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Loved It”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great little cottage. Stayed for a week and everything that was needed was there. And as for Brixham itself the place is beautiful.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing