We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and not so good!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tides Restaurant

Tides Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 102 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reading
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good and not so good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a lunch of fish and chips here and it was beautifully cooked. Went back the next day for breakfast - oh dear. We ordered the large breakfast each. The waitress gave us cutlery - one of the knives I returned as it had food residue on it. When the breakfasts came they were on cold plates which meant the food was barely warm. The menu said 'two eggs' but we only had one each. This was remedied by a reduction in price. Unfortunately the toast was burnt so altogether not a great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Turnip59UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    9
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Tides has an extensive menu and very helpful staff. They were able to cope with two excited children and very hungry adults. Not too expensive and decent platefuls. Kids meals are available in buckets and spades which adds a lovely seaside twist.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annakin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not just for a great breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have reviewed this venue before (Tides Torpedoes) for it's excellent breakfasts, but after recently being turned away (again) at the Crab Quay House, which by us locals incidentally, is now called "The Crap House", we ventured into Tides. Fantastic!

What is generally accepted as a greasy spoon albeit offering the best breakfast in Brixham, transforms itself for the evening trade and with the same team front and back off house is a venue to be recommended for its steak and fish selection. Quite rightly the fish is sourced locally (Tides is less than 100m from Brixham fish market) and if you book your table and select your fish supper on the day, you are guaranteed ultra fresh fish in abundance. Otherwise select dish of the day and that too will be fresh. All meals come with a good selection of potatoes, vegetables and though the wine and drinks selection is somewhat limited, the choice is adequate and inexpensive. Stuart, the hard working chef has a real talent and from the open kitchen turns out superb food constantly and that's why we will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BM_Pete56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“light snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We only wanted something light as we were getting cooked breakfast and evening meal in hotel.
I fancied devon cream tea.
We got the nicest scones I have tasted for a long time with tea or coffee.
Very pleasant fair hair girl served us quickly.
She told me a lot people comment on them.
Definately would go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldal551897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
261 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“New regime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

It seems that the "old folks" have now retired and the place is in the hands of Claire and that good Chef Stewart

Our meal was as great as usual (why can't everyone do the fish a good ??) certainly the place to be as it is also frequented by a lot of the more decerning people from the Marina and the town.

In leaving for the night we wished them good luck and gave our assurance we would be back on our next regular visits to Brixham.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorcestershireJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Restaurant also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Tides Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing