We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best there is”
Review of Bistro 46 - CLOSED

Bistro 46
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro 46 is an exciting restaurant in Brixham, South Devon. Bistro 46 is owned by award winning Chef Chris Adey and his wife Sophie, a local primary school teacher. The restaurant specialises in world cuisine infusing flavours from around the world with fresh, seasonal, locally produced ingredients creating truly memorable food.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best there is”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A visit to this well-recommended restaurant confirmed that this is possibly one of the best we've ever encountered in the UK.

The food was delicious and well presented. Each element could be tasted in its own right, nothing was overwhelmed by another ingredient.

Another nice touch was that all I wanted for a sweet was an ice-cream rather than one of the offerings on the menu. That was no problem and I was offered a Bailey's topping and Devon cream to make the dish more interesting. It also came with two Scottish shortbread biscuits. Needless to say, it too, was delicious. It seemed nothing was too much trouble.

This restaurant is now in its fifth year and is a credit to the chef-patron and to Brixham itself.

A template for others to follow but I suspect this restaurant may remain unique.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    44
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, tasty and good value. Lots of flavours going on and very nicely prepared and cooked. Tagine wa especially nice as was the ganache dessert. Well worth a try and we will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bofus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family Christmas Do”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We Visited this restaurant on Sat 22nd . We had a great night ,even Father Christmas turned up !!! Food was Fab great atmosphere,great value for money . We are booking for next year .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent new Christmas Menu”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Whilst staying in Brixham last week we visited Bistro 46 on the first night they were serving their Christmas menu. Between the four of us we tried quite a wide range from the menu and we were all very happy with our choices. The food was very tasty and beautifully presented with great attention to detail. The wine list was interesting and extremely reasonable. The service was attentive and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening in this small and cosy restaurant. The crackers were an added bonus!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AzeleaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed near Brixham for two weeks in September. After seeing it listed on Trip Advisor we visited Bistro 46 one evening. The food is quite excellent - a good menu choice, freshly prepared and perfectly cooked.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestburyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 46 also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Churston Ferrers, Brixham
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing