We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal getaway place in Brixham”
Review of The Shoalstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shoalstone
Ranked #16 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent just one night at the Shoalstone as we were visiting the area on route to Cornwall. The booking procedure was very easy, I was advised that with 2 teenage sons that rooms 9 & 10 on the top floor would be ideal as a family area - we were prewarned that it was a steep climb up the stairs and that the rooms were in the attic but the view from the front window was worth it. The hosts were excellent as was the breakfast so all in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited the Shoalstone for the briefest break to celebrate my husband's birthday. Hotel is very nice, rooms comfortable. Room 6 has a small balcony and the view is superb. Gabriel and Suzie are very nice and although we left a night early it had nothing to do with the hotel, more the weather had turned from brilliant sunshine to lashings of rain. Unfortunately, like most seaside towns when the sun is out there is plenty to do, when it rains your scuppered !!! We took the ferry to Torquay, fantastic value at £2 return, loads more to do in Torquay. All in all, Brixham is very pretty and we enjoyed our break. The breakfasts are smashing by the way. One small criticism was that it states its licenced but we saw no bar or facilities for ordering a drink.

Room Tip: I can only add Room 6 was lovely as it had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We could not fault the Shoalston. Gabriel and Suzie were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Very clean, very comfortable bed and the breakfast was superb. Will definitely go again!
Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie528767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely weekend in Brixham, staying at The Shoalstone.
Owners Gabriel and Suzie were fantastic hosts,very welcoming could not do enough for us.
Room was spotless,chocolates,biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities,all enjoyed whilst sitting on our balcony overlooking the sea.
Sitting room for guests to relax in also.
Breakfast what can we say-simply the best.
Would recommend staying here to anyone, we are looking forward to our next visit.
Colum & Jan
Purley,Surrey

Room Tip: Room 5 with its balcony made it for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurleyJanet_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

... rather quirky in many respects. Avoid room 9 if you have mobility problems - and it would help if you are either very small or a contortionist - but there is a good view of the sea.
Comfortable, nonetheless, and a very good breakfast. We enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inspector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wonderful value for money. Very lovely room, immaculate. Chocs on the pillow, biscuits by the kettle, lovely guest sitting room with view of the sea. Great breakfast with fresh produce, and help yourself to really good array of cereals and fresh fruit. Exceptional service and almost absurdly good value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Sholestone for a week and I can honestly say that it's been the best holiday ever. The Sholestone is run by Gabriel and Suzie who are great. They made us feel so welcome and the location is perfect. The rooms are cleaned every day and are spotless, the breakfast in the morning is so good, full English every day. We stayed in room 6 which has a balcony with fantastic sea views. We will miss the Sholestone very much when we go home and will definitely be returning cant recommend enough, thanks Gabriel and Suzie see you soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andypickrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.6 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
766 reviews
1.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Redlands Guest House
Redlands Guest House
#7 of 26 in Brixham
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#18 of 26 in Brixham
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoalstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoalstone

Address: 105 Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: $93 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shoalstone 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shoalstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoalstone Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing