We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of The Shoalstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shoalstone
Ranked #16 of 26 Brixham B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently stayed at The Shoalstone Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our break. Gabriel and Susie were very pleasant and friendly.The rooms were very cosy and exceptionally clean,with tea and coffee provided. Breakfasts were really good with plenty to choose from, missing them already! We would certainly stay there again. Clive and Sue

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisychain008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 94 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

this was our second visit to the shoalstone and although the
owners had changed the standards had been maintained at the same excellent level.breakfast is extremely substantial and sets you up for the day.the new owners are very friendly and are also very helpful

Room Tip: room 5 has superb views across to torquay. this is the turret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

As the title suggests we really enjoyed this midweek break. We were in room 5 which has a breath-taking view across the bay from the turret window. Nice sized en-suite and tea and coffee facilities are also included.
Breakfast was cooked to order with ample cereal and toast facilities available - the Home-made marmalade is deffinatly worth indulging in!
Suzie and Gabriel are attentive hosts and it is worth picking their brains for some local knowledge regarding the shuttle ferry and good places to eat.
Was good value for money and we would make this our first choice if visiting Torbay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having chosen this B&b of the internet, I was very impressed with the standard of the room and the whole guest house. Gabriel and Susie were very welcoming and we discovered that we had friends in common. Wonderful views from the lounge and the dining room over the bay.

If I come to Brixham again I will certainly stay at Shoalstone again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good B&B. The owners keep a very clean and proper B&B. The rooms are a little tight but ours had a stunning view from a turret (room 5) and the ensuite was a good size. 15 minute walk into town and access to a seaside pool and the municipal beach.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the first floor (European, US second storey) has a great sitting area with a turret, two c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

...... in a really lovely guest house with stunning views, close to Brixham Harbour. Welcoming hosts Susie and Gabriel work hard to ensure their guest enjoy a peaceful stay and surely provide the best breakfast I have ever enjoyed ! Clean, comfortable rooms. Breath taking views from the sitting and dining rooms. Highly recommended - we will certainky return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoRChurchLangley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found the Shoalstone by chance on the internet and what a find. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The guest house felt homely and we had a very warm welcome from Suzy and Gabriel. The views from room 5 were spectacular giving a clear view right across the bay. Breakfast was lovely with lots of nice little touches. We will definitely be returning to the Shoalstone and look forward with interest to seeing the changes that Suzy and Gabriel are planning to make.

Room Tip: Room 5 excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brixham hotels
0.6 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berry Head Hotel
The Berry Head Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brixham
778 reviews
1.9 mi away
Churston Court Hotel
Churston Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Churston Ferrers
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#14 of 26 in Brixham
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
The Smugglers Haunt Hotel
#18 of 26 in Brixham
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoalstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoalstone

Address: 105 Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range: $103 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shoalstone 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Shoalstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoalstone Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing