We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back again!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The only complaint we had was the price hike for school holiday booking,it cost more for 4 nights than it did for a week in Octobwr during school term,WHY we have no kids with us,OAP's??? Once again we had a great time,Halloween night was great entertainment for all,food was ok,drink on a par with local pubs in Torbay! We went day tripping,Dartmoor,South Hams,mid Devon. Booked two separate weeks 2013,in school term to save on the pension monies!!! Once again,we couldn't knock it site wise,only the big price hike for nowt extra!!! Maurice and Jean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have just returned from a weekend at riveria bay and although we had to upgrade because our original chalet was to small we all loved it.chalet clean and tidy,all the staff friendly and helpful and the entertainment was great.the entertainment staff were brilliant and worked very hard (we especially loved the queen tribute)and we shall definately be going back

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie66191282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just spent a long weekend at the Riviera Bay Holiday Park, after reading the reviews on here, we had a back up plan to stay with friends if it was too bad!! We booked this weekend through the Sun newspaper and took our grand-daughter with us. We had spent an horrendous long weekend the previous year at Pontins, Camber Sands, resulting in us leaving early, so compared to that the Riviera Bay was great. Firstly we arrived after 8pm and was greeted by very pleasant staff who got a member of staff to reception to check us in immediately. They thanked us for letting them know we would be late and they couldn't do enough for us. Our chalet, although basic (Bronze 1 bedroom) was clean, and had everything we needed. There were 2 heaters in the living room, a heater in the bathroom and another heater in the bedroom, so we were lovely and warm. The TV is very old and very small, but we hardly watched it anyway so it didn't matter. Our sheets, duvet covers and pillow cases were immaculately clean. starched and pressed. Although the beds and sofa bed clearly get a lot of wear throughout the year, we all slept well, the flooring was laminated floor and it was in excellent condition.
We were pleasantly surprised by the menu and prices in the restaurant, that always appeared very clean, and we often saw the food areas being cleaned. We ate in the restaurant three times and could not complain at all. Obviously it is all pre-prepared food and probably put in the microwave but the chips were really nice! The carvery also was good value and tasty.
The bar areas always appeared very clean, the house spirits were well priced and the entertainment "did their best" - at least we were entertained. Every member of staff we met and spoke to were very courteous, helpful and polite. There are lots to do in the area and don't be put off by the previous reviews.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best view are overlooking the beach, but they appear to be the larger chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DotDarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went to Riviera Bay in Brixham on a cheep holiday through the Daily Mail. As we are a family of 4 (2 adults 2kids) We upgraded before we arrived from a bronze one bed chalet to a silver two bed. On arrival we found the whole place very run down & unkept. The chalet was very old with holes in the sides of the beds & walls, the kitchen & all the stuff in it was old & rusty. The floor was damaged & loose. The beds were just springs with a sheet on & the table was so old & dirty it was unfit to eat on. The shop wanted £1.55 for a tin of sauages & beens. We ate in the resturant which seemed good value but the food was very poor, uncooked & raw still frozen. We would hate to think what a bronze would be like. Most staff were friendly & helpful but for some it was just a job.
We would not recommend going & a lot of work needs to be done on this park, very low standards for a Park Holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was a total skeptic when it came to staying here. This was an essential trip due to a family bereavement and I wouldn't normally come to a holiday park (concentration camp). Despite it being October half term the park was not too busy (actually it was very quiet). The staff were ALL very friendly and helpful, we had a light not working and the handyman was with us less than 15 mins after reporting it.
Although the chalets may be a touch old and shabby (it happens to the best of us!), everything was in order -the heating (very efficient) and hot water (very hot....careful!!) and all items required were available. Bring some loo roll with you in case there is none in your chalet ;-)
The views vary across the site and C and D areas seem to have the best views. The little shop has essential provisions and the pool is child friendly (though a touch on the chilly side).
The main building has all the usual stuff going on and the arcade with its ticket prizes was good fun and the main eatery was very reasonable and the portions vast.
The entertainment was good and the staff gave their all to make sure people had an enjoyable time. Kids are very well catered for and are allowed to behave as kids do!!
There is a lovely walk down to the bay and its nice beach -no facilities and not a deck chair in sight so very peaceful but care should be taken to avoid any problems with climbing the rocks as unstable shale and tidal flow could be a problem if you are not careful.
All in all it was a very nice place to be and not far from Brixham and all the usual facilities. We will probably return there but I'm not sure if I could face it in the Summer Holidays!!

Room Tip: Not sure if you can select your chalet in advance. Some better views than others, depends what grade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

love it at riviera bay all the staff and entertainers are brilliant so helpfull and happy all the time has lots to do for all the family been going there for about 3 years and will continue to go. carvery is brilliant probely one of the best i have had and the food is usuely very good with lots of choice swimming pool is on the cold side and changing area and shower could do with being updated a bit but still very good shop on site is very reasonably priced and well stocked. i have stayed in bronze to gold accomodation and not really ever had a problem most of them have great veiws of the sea. we stayed in bronze this time and it was very clean and well looked after and a great size for a family of 4 . brixham is very pretty and has lovely shops and the locals are all lovely and happy and there is often alot going on in the town and very easy to get to from the holiday park as a bus stops right outside the park to the town

Room Tip: if u have walking problems request accomadation close to the main venue ( A block ) as the park is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmite80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

the accommodation that we were presented with was shocking! We had initially booked a bronze chalet, then upgraded to silver and just before we arrived managed to upgrade to silver+. However I am unsure what the + actually stands for. Our accommodation was very tatty, mouldy, the oven was filthy and the whole place smelt of fried food ( a smell we could not get rid of despite anti-bacterial wipes and air fresheners)
We asked if we could upgrade further but were told that other than the 3 gold chalets on site there was nothing to upgrade to!! There is absolutely no way that I would ever return to riviera bay, the whole site is dated and grubby and in serious need of some money being spent on it!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillster687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixham
0.5 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
582 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 17 in Paignton
45 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
5.5 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#39 of 86 in Torquay
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Riviera Bay Holiday Centre Mudstone Lane, Brixham TQ5 9EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Brixham
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic facilities including a great indoor pool, large entertainment venue, and popular restaurant help to make Riviera Bay the first choice for family fun holidays. And of course you’ll want to get out and explore the many attractions when you stay in this area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riviera Bay Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
Riviera Bay Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Brixham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing