We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch with a view...”

The Breakwater Bistro
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beachside coffee shop & bistro, located on breakwater beach, Brixham Serving breakfast, lunch and evening meals everyday.
Brixham
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great lunch with a view...”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Breakwater bistro is somewhere we always enjoy on a bright sunny day and so it was perfect for today Saturday 14th September.
We really like the local cider so decided on that and had a prawn cocktail and breaded mushrooms for starters. Both were excellent.
The main courses of battered haddock and a burger were both excellent too. The portion sizes are always very ample and although we did find room for another cider we could not manage a dessert this time. Pricewise very good value & quality.
The service was very good as always and we had a wonderful view across the breakwater beach to Torquay.
We look forward to eating here again soon...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    299
    86
    43
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best cream tea you will ever get”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My Wife and I found this place by accident,after visiting Torquay,paington,and Dartmouth,they do the best cream tea,after that,we decided to go for an evening meal.You feel very comfortable there,food here is very tasty and good value,the girls there work very hard to please,and always with a smile.We also spent our last night there too, if and when we go back to Brixham,this will be our watering hole.( if you like cider try the Devon red )
Booking a table for the evening would be best,as its always full,( which must say something )

many thanks to everyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on the 7th September, we had breakfast and dinner,the food was lovely the staff were very pleasant and the view was amazing. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and anyone visiting Brixham.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last day blues”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to the Breakwater serveral times this year including January !!! just come back from Brixham unfortunately and went to the Breakwater three times during the week and on our last day decided not to go home until the evening so had a full blow out at the Breakwater before we left Monkfish Curry superb Seafood Platter wonderful the view was lovely on the upstairs terrace, one of our favourite places to eat in Brixham we have done them all and this is just lovely....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a delight to eat at the Breakwater and know we can recommend them to our hotel guests with confidence. Alas Its a rare treat in Torbay to have such stunning beach front sea views in a bistro or any other restaurant or cafe come to that; but if you add the good but reasonably priced menu you get a place to return to as often as you can- and there's not many places I have ever said that about!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakwater Bistro also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Breakwater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing