We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole lemon sole at its best...”

The Breakwater Bistro
Ranked #16 of 111 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beachside coffee shop & bistro, located on breakwater beach, Brixham Serving breakfast, lunch and evening meals everyday.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a lovely sunny day in Brixham. The Breakwater Bistro was humming with happy people. Our lunch today comprised the whole lemon sole special with salad and chips plus an order of their garlic mushrooms...delicious.
We also enjoyed the Devon Red cider and a bottle of sparkling water whilst taking in the perfect views across the bay.
For dessert we tried the lemon sponge with clotted cream and the Belgian waffle both of a substantial size but we were not in a rush so continued to take in the view whilst finishing them off.
As local residents it is great to see the bistro busy and today with the good weather and beach outside it was the perfect place for a lunch. We can recommend this bistro for the quality of food, service and reasonable pricing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,234 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sitting on the deck overlooking the water in the evening sun with a cool beer and a good steak - what could be better. We shared an ice cream desert and that was almost too much for the two of us!

Not a flash menu but honest food well prepared and delivered with fast and pleasant service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian_and_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are on holiday in Brixham for a week, looked on internet & read reviews picked here to eat today (sunday 7th). wow we had 2 seafood platter for 2 between 4 off us & i must say its the best seafood platter we have ever had. during our week stay we will be back at least once or twice to eat again. what a great place & very friendly staff. well done

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billymarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBreakwater, Manager at The Breakwater Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Glad you had a nice time... I do believe you had our Shellfish feast, which contains clams, mussels, crab claws & langoustine's... never the less glad you enjoyed it :) hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

You'll be hard pushed to find a more stunning location for a coffee or a meal in Brixham. The owners do not pretend to be the 'world's best restaurant, just yours', which is a great opener. Wouldn't hesitate to stop there again, to enjoy Shoalstone beach, the view, people watching, a coffee, etc etc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EnglishNomad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBreakwater, Manager at The Breakwater Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Glad you enjoy coming to us! & glad you like our slogan :) see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visited this restaurant several times and it's always a treat.
The atmosphere is relaxed, the views outstanding, the food is of the highest quality and the service sensational.
If you visit Brixham, no! You must visit Brixham for this delightful dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philipco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBreakwater, Manager at The Breakwater Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for your great review and 5 Star! Many thanks, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakwater Bistro also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Breakwater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing