We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst food I have eaten”
Review of Saxtys - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saxtys
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst food I have eaten”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

All frozen lobster came out cut in small pieces place was tasteless and the vegetables frozen and over cooked. Walked out and left it all avoid!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexusman400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    12
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very old fashioned - there are better places”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went in here at about 8 one Saturday night when we were getting a bit worried about whether we'd find anywhere. The outside looks fine, big chalked menus which give the impression of a lively changing menu, but that's obviously not the case. It's VERY old-fashioned - looks like a tea room from the 1950's, and the menu is too long and too set for everything to be fresh. The first thing you see when you open the menu is a big notice saying that the restaurant won't allow any substitutions - you have to have the food as it's presented (possibly because it's not prepared on the premises, but that's just guesswork on my part). That was a bit of a problem for us as my friend is gluten intolerant, and there would have been a number of things she could have eaten if she could have asked to have them cooked a bit differently, but that obviously wasn't on the cards. The food we did have was ok, scampi and chips and steak and chips, but very far from special, and everything was just a bit reminiscent of the 1970's. If we'd popped in for a quick lunch we'd probably have thought it was acceptable, but it wasn't a great venue for a Saturday night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabzJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited Saxtys on the first night of our holiday and on the face of it the restaurant and menu seem reasonable. Unfortunately we were greeted by plates of re-heated Iceland frozen goods and limp salad. Do yourself a favour and give it a miss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unpleasant visit”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited Brixham for the day. We've eaten in Saxtys in the past. We walked in at 1.45pm. Young Cockney waitress hurried towards and greeted us thus: "Awright?" ... We asked for a table for two, told we couldn't have one - though a number of free tables for two further in the restaurant. Told we could have table for 6 by the open front door. Having eaten well there in past we decided to stay. Another waitress hurried across and took our order. By her rushed abrupt manner and the way she shot off to the kitchen we realised after 2pm she must be going off. The griddled cod was OK but small portion. While we were eating the Cockney waitress sneezed
into her hands but didn't wipe or wash them. Obviously hadn't heard the health warning, "Coughs and sneezes spread diseases." When she took our payment she asked "Everything OK?" We said the fish and chips were just about OK but the plates weren't hot. She insisted they were, then said, "your food's gone cold quick 'cos you're sitting by the door." We said we had asked for a table for two further in but were refused (the empty tables were being laid for the evening). We didn't leave a tip and wouldn't eat there again. This visit we should have read the reviews before deciding to eat there. We would have gone elsewhere. As it is, we won't be going there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erskine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
“NO KIDS ARE THEY CRAZY!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

bad experience going to this rip off den people were very rood they should be shut down and not allowed to operate in brixham. what do they think that all children are monkeys. and the manager is the rudest and patronising person i ever met in my life. i recommend u stay away from this place or be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terence p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saxtys also viewed

Churston Ferrers, Brixham
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing